Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    I am getting a "this page includes other resources that are not secure" in Google Chrome, when attempting to load SSL pages. I switched to the classic template and the problem went away. Only in the past week have customers been contacting me saying the site is not secure. Not sure what has happened? I believe the template is "Bask Black". Here is the link the login page that has the error. (Remove spaces)
    https://www.e w k a r m s.com/zen8/index.php?main_page=login
    Viewing the source, and checking it on the website "why no padlock" it says there is a insecure form call on lines 531 and 571.
    I can't figure out from looking at the "view source", which PHP file(s) need edited. (I think that's what needs done????)
    Thank you so much in advance for any help, after much searching here on the forum and trying different things, I am at the hair pulling point!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    674
    Plugin Contributions
    21

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    Quote Originally Posted by machinerye View Post
    I am getting a "this page includes other resources that are not secure" in Google Chrome, when attempting to load SSL pages. I switched to the classic template and the problem went away. Only in the past week have customers been contacting me saying the site is not secure. Not sure what has happened? I believe the template is "Bask Black". Here is the link the login page that has the error. (Remove spaces)
    https://www.e w k a r m s.com/zen8/index.php?main_page=login
    Viewing the source, and checking it on the website "why no padlock" it says there is a insecure form call on lines 531 and 571.
    I can't figure out from looking at the "view source", which PHP file(s) need edited. (I think that's what needs done????)
    Thank you so much in advance for any help, after much searching here on the forum and trying different things, I am at the hair pulling point!
    your advanced search bar isn't submitting to https
    Try going to developers tool kit, use the last field on the bottom and search for "quick_find_header"
    my guess is it will be in somethign like includes/templates/bask_black/common/tpl_header.php (or somethign similar)
    and look for the zen_draw_form( and then change where the parameter reads 'NONSSL' change it to 'SSL'
    That should resolve it.

    OR in your configure.php from http:// to https:// in all the addresses.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    Thank you so much, its working now!!! The only thing I see now is that if you are on a SSL page, and you hit either the "New Products" or "Featured Products" link in the header, it takes you to a https page with the same error I had as before. (Some items are not secure) Any of the other links to a non SSL page are good of course, and if you hit the "my account" link or any other https link, its good, except the New Products or Featured Products (again, only in the header, the two of the same links in the side bar don't go to SSL)

    As you might have seen, I don't have the catalog setup with SSL...I am far from an expert at this, but from what I have read, SSL is bad for search engine indexing.

    So I think while not a perfect fix, this will be good as the pages where the customer enters personal data have no errors...

    Thanks again!
    Last edited by machinerye; 30 Nov 2014 at 11:36 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    674
    Plugin Contributions
    21

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    You also have an issue on your product listings across the board. You'll need to backtrack those as well.

    Ideally you should find out if the request is over HTTP or HTTPS and then use NONSSL or SSL accordingly.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,733
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    Quote Originally Posted by machinerye View Post
    Thank you so much, its working now!!! The only thing I see now is that if you are on a SSL page, and you hit either the "New Products" or "Featured Products" link in the header, it takes you to a https page with the same error I had as before. (Some items are not secure) Any of the other links to a non SSL page are good of course, and if you hit the "my account" link or any other https link, its good, except the New Products or Featured Products (again, only in the header, the two of the same links in the side bar don't go to SSL)

    As you might have seen, I don't have the catalog setup with SSL...I am far from an expert at this, but from what I have read, SSL is bad for search engine indexing.

    So I think while not a perfect fix, this will be good as the pages where the customer enters personal data have no errors...

    Thanks again!
    So what was your method of getting this to mostly work? Modify a few files to properly generate ssl links as applicable or to wholesale try to make everything https?
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,487
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    Quote Originally Posted by bislewl View Post
    You also have an issue on your product listings across the board. You'll need to backtrack those as well.

    Ideally you should find out if the request is over HTTP or HTTPS and then use NONSSL or SSL accordingly.
    Or simply use the $request_type variable that's preset to either NONSSL or SSL based on the current page access ...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    So what was your method of getting this to mostly work? Modify a few files to properly generate ssl links as applicable or to wholesale try to make everything https?
    I used bislewl's instructions, and they worked perfectly, except as I mentioned, when SSL mode, and clicking on the two links in the header, you get the "some items unsecure" notice. However when in regular mode, no problems.

    I didn't (or don't) want to make the whole catalog https for the potential to fall in search engine rankings. That is big for the customers to be able to find me.

    Or simply use the $request_type variable that's preset to either NONSSL or SSL based on the current page access ...
    Thank you so much for the tip, I am reading up on it now, and found this older thread on it for the "how to" (which I need!)-

    http://www.zen-cart.com/showthread.p...warning/page10

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,733
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    Quote Originally Posted by machinerye View Post
    I used bislewl's instructions, and they worked perfectly, except as I mentioned, when SSL mode, and clicking on the two links in the header, you get the "some items unsecure" notice. However when in regular mode, no problems.
    Thank you for the reply, but bislewl provided instructions to accomplish both aspects. That said:

    Code:
    I didn't (or don't) want to make the whole catalog https for the potential to fall in search engine rankings. That is big for the customers to be able to find me.
    indicates that the includes/configure.php file was not modified to have both HTTP_SERVER and HTTPS_SERVER set to https...

    As for loss in rankings, I am not associated with any group that has knowledge of how the rankings are currently determined; however, there is one search engine that is pushing for all websites to use https for all web-pages... As part of that, it would seem that the search engine actually favors https web pages over those that are not...

    The general/predominant philosophy of those in this forum has been that there should be a need to encrypt the contents of the pages, the most basic need is programmed into ZC at pages such as contact_us, the various checkout pages, login, etc... where effort should be made to encrypt/obscure personal information. Part of the reason not to encrypt every page is that the process uses more computer time and resources, and in the case of presenting say "HI, Welcome to our store." where there is nothing of significance to compromise, then why slow down/burden everything to display that information?

    Anyways, this post is likely to bring up more discussion regarding this aspect of the thread, but I thought that I would at least point out that there is/soon to be a change/shift in philosophy about using https to serve pages. There are definite business/legal needs for various pages to be secured, but beyond that is well... subjective.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Wisconsin, USA
    Posts
    674
    Plugin Contributions
    21

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    A quick search turned up this:
    http://googlewebmastercentral.######...ng-signal.html

    For these reasons, over the past few months we’ve been running tests taking into account whether sites use secure, encrypted connections as a signal in our search ranking algorithms. We've seen positive results, so we're starting to use HTTPS as a ranking signal. For now it's only a very lightweight signal — affecting fewer than 1% of global queries, and carrying less weight than other signals such as high-quality content — while we give webmasters time to switch to HTTPS. But over time, we may decide to strengthen it, because we’d like to encourage all website owners to switch from HTTP to HTTPS to keep everyone safe on the web.
    Sound to me it improves your search ranking

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,733
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Addon Template Causing SSL Problems-How to track it down?

    Quote Originally Posted by bislewl View Post
    A quick search turned up this:
    http://googlewebmastercentral.######...ng-signal.html



    Sound to me it improves your search ranking
    And that was the search engine to which I was referring and why I brought it up... It is relatively new that they have gone that route and it appears to still be under review, but the more such a "truth" is told, the more it becomes true...
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6 Jul 2011, 01:22 PM
  2. URL Hard Coded causing SSL problems
    By ion5319 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18 Mar 2008, 06:21 AM
  3. SSL change to configure files causing problems
    By Bryony in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12 Jul 2006, 11:49 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR