Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Thank You!

    Ok...changing all HTTP references to HTTPS in the 2 configure.php files fixed it!. I guess I did not understand the responses to direct me to make this simple change.

    So with all the documentation I have seen on Google and this forum there is no mention of making sure that all HTTP references are changed to HTTPS. The guidance is to point HTTP > HTTP and HTTPS > HTTPS...so is required to point all HTTP/HTTPS references to HTTPS because I was Forcing SSL in my .htaccess file?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Quote Originally Posted by tbohannon View Post
    Thank You!

    Ok...changing all HTTP references to HTTPS in the 2 configure.php files fixed it!. I guess I did not understand the responses to direct me to make this simple change.

    So with all the documentation I have seen on Google and this forum there is no mention of making sure that all HTTP references are changed to HTTPS. The guidance is to point HTTP > HTTP and HTTPS > HTTPS...so is required to point all HTTP/HTTPS references to HTTPS because I was Forcing SSL in my .htaccess file?
    So, the general consensus around here is that just because one search engine has adopted a particular view (the effect of which supposedly remain to be proven) does not mean that it need be adopted. But as to specifically what was going on, I can't say I know exactly how to explain the background details (assuming I knew them all to begin with) but can say that it seemed wrong that if I wanted https to appear everywhere that http was presented to "not" change the setting(s) in the file that has http: :)

    Also, and I've seen a few threads in the last couple of days about this choice, but if not mistaken it is possible to tell google via webmaster tools that https: and http: pages are the same thing/site as part of this whole thing so that there is no SE "confusion". Anyways, glad it worked for you. Yes, some people need the "code" in front of them while others need it explained in words instead. :)
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Posts
    3,379
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Quote Originally Posted by tbohannon View Post
    https://www.bodhisattva-store.com/listings/
    ZC 1.5.0
    Hosting on GoDaddy VPS
    Dedicated SHA-2 SSL certificate to: www.bodhisattva-store.com managed through GoDaddy

    Added Forced SSL rules in .htaccess file...these are the only rules in the .htaccess file:
    #Force SSL on entire site
    RewriteEngine On
    RewriteBase /
    #RewriteCond %{ENV:HTTPS} !on [NC]
    RewriteCond %{SERVER_PORT} 80
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ https://bodhisattva-store.com/$1 [R,L]
    ......
    There is no need to force SSL in your .htaccess file, ZC takes care of this in the 2 configure.php files.

    BTW, you should seriously consider upgrading your installation to the latest version.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    I also forgot to mention, it would seem that it is also time for you to change your admin directory name as it appears to have been published when posting the admin configure.php file (path to tell us it was the admin version.)
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Quote Originally Posted by frank18 View Post
    There is no need to force SSL in your .htaccess file, ZC takes care of this in the 2 configure.php files.

    BTW, you should seriously consider upgrading your installation to the latest version.
    Frank18,

    Thanks for following up.

    Yes agreed and we will be upgrading soon.

    With regards to removing the Force SSL....if I remove that from .htaccess the site no longer shows https at the store level...only when I go to checkout.

    So eager to hear how I can Force SSL on entire store if there is no need to put rules in .htaccess.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    mc12345678,

    Thanks again for making this more clear.

    So going to ask, is renaming the admin area as simple as renaming the folder on the server, or do I have to make code changes to the
    store or theme?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Quote Originally Posted by mc12345678 View Post
    So, the general consensus around here is that just because one search engine has adopted a particular view (the effect of which supposedly remain to be proven) does not mean that it need be adopted. But as to specifically what was going on, I can't say I know exactly how to explain the background details (assuming I knew them all to begin with) but can say that it seemed wrong that if I wanted https to appear everywhere that http was presented to "not" change the setting(s) in the file that has http: :)
    The driver for this was not so much from Google's http/https identity crisis, as much as it was buyer concern over not seeing a padlock as soon as they
    land on the site.

    Several customers had called because they did not see a green padlock in Chrome, etc.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Posts
    3,379
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Quote Originally Posted by tbohannon View Post
    Frank18,

    Thanks for following up.

    Yes agreed and we will be upgrading soon.

    With regards to removing the Force SSL....if I remove that from .htaccess the site no longer shows https at the store level...only when I go to checkout.

    So eager to hear how I can Force SSL on entire store if there is no need to put rules in .htaccess.

    Store side configure.php

    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'https://www.bodhisattva-store.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://www.bodhisattva-store.com');

    Admin configure.php

    /**
    * WE RECOMMEND THAT YOU USE SSL PROTECTION FOR YOUR ENTIRE ADMIN:
    * To do that, make sure you use a "https:" URL for BOTH the HTTP_SERVER and HTTPS_SERVER entries:
    */
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'https://www.bodhisattva-store.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://www.bodhisattva-store.com');
    define('HTTP_CATALOG_SERVER', 'https://www.bodhisattva-store.com');
    define('HTTPS_CATALOG_SERVER', 'https://www.bodhisattva-store.com');

    Set all URL's to https: and that should do the trick.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    frank18,

    Thanks for re-confirming the changes I made to clear the 2 issues I originally posted about.
    I set all http references to https as you suggested.

    So my remaining issue now is you say I can remove the Force SSL .htaccess rules, but when I do remove the rules
    store level is no longer protected, only when checking out.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Posts
    3,379
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Make entire site SSL Only

    Quote Originally Posted by tbohannon View Post
    frank18,

    Thanks for re-confirming the changes I made to clear the 2 issues I originally posted about.
    I set all http references to https as you suggested.

    So my remaining issue now is you say I can remove the Force SSL .htaccess rules, but when I do remove the rules
    store level is no longer protected, only when checking out.

    Did you clear the cache of your browser or used another browser? If not, that could be the issue.

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. SSL with Paypal only site?
    By Monty_Python in forum General Questions
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 31 May 2011, 09:51 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30 Oct 2008, 10:13 AM
  3. Is there a way to make my site only sell to US residents?
    By ryanb4614 in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5 Mar 2008, 01:58 AM
  4. Can I make an entire website with zen cart?
    By loughnet in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 15 Nov 2007, 04:03 PM
  5. ssl to make active only for one page...please help
    By rakhi in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 6 Jul 2007, 05:24 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR