Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Modifying Top Menu - Westminster New

    Hi!

    I am really not very familiar with php but have been able to figure out *most* things so far.

    On my site (http://thevegansexshop.co/shop/ --homepage is SFW, though there is a banner that reads "The Vegan S3x Shop"), I have the Westminster New template installed, and on the top menu bar I want to remove the "Categories" and "Contact" links and replace with an autopopulating list of my categories. I know how to remove "Categories" and "Contacts," BUT I don't understand php enough to figure out how to put my categories list there (especially automaticall). I would prefer to be able to have them auto fill (like how the drop down menu for Products autofills), BUT if that's not possible, I don't mind manually adding them and changing as necessary.

    Here is an image of what I have now:
    Screen shot 2015-03-27 at 2.35.24 AM.png
    (I removed my banner from the image so as not to offend anyone. This is completely SFW)

    Here is an example of what I want:
    Screen shot 2015-03-27 at 2.35.24EDITED AM.jpg
    (also SFW)

    I'm pretttttty sure the file I need to modify is includes/templates/override/templates/tpl_modules_mobile_categories_tabs.php (at least, that is what I used to remove a link that was in the menu by default and it worked...) Here is the code for that file:

    Code:
    <?php
    /**
     * Module Template - categories_tabs
     *
     * Template stub used to display categories-tabs output
     *
     * @package templateSystem
     * @copyright Copyright 2003-2005 Zen Cart Development Team
     * @copyright Portions Copyright 2003 osCommerce
     * @license http://www.zen-cart.com/license/2_0.txt GNU Public License V2.0
     * @version $Id: tpl_modules_categories_tabs.php 3395 2006-04-08 21:13:00Z ajeh $
     */
    
    
    ?>
    
    
    
    <div id="menu">
    <ul class="slimmenu">
    
        <li class="test"><a href="<?php HTTP_SERVER . DIR_WS_CATALOG;?>" class="mshop"><?php echo HEADER_TITLE_CATEGORIES; ?></a>
    <?php
        // load the UL-generator class and produce the menu list dynamically from there
        require_once (DIR_WS_CLASSES . 'categories_ul_generator.php');
    $zen_CategoriesUL = new zen_categories_ul_generator;
    $menulist = $zen_CategoriesUL->buildTree(true);
    $menulist = str_replace('"level4"','"level5"',$menulist);
    $menulist = str_replace('"level3"','"level4"',$menulist);
    $menulist = str_replace('"level2"','"level3"',$menulist);
    $menulist = str_replace('"level1"','"level2"',$menulist);
    $menulist = str_replace('<li>','<li>',$menulist);
    $menulist = str_replace("</li>\n</ul>\n</li>\n</ul>\n","</li>\n</ul>\n",$menulist);
    echo $menulist;
    ?>                        
    </li>
    
    
        <li><a href="<?php echo zen_href_link(FILENAME_CONTACT_US, '', 'NONSSL'); ?>" class="mcontact"><?php echo BOX_INFORMATION_CONTACT; ?></a></li>
    
    </ul>
    
    </div>
    
    <script src="<?php echo $template->get_template_dir('jquery.slimmenu.min.js',DIR_WS_TEMPLATE, $current_page_base,'jscript') . '/jquery.slimmenu.min.js' ?>" type="text/javascript"></script>
    <script src="http://cdnjs.cloudflare.com/ajax/libs/jquery-easing/1.3/jquery.easing.min.js" type="text/javascript"></script> 
    
    	<?php if ($detect->isMobile() && !$detect->isTablet() or $detect->isMobile() && !$detect->isTablet() && $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isMobile' or $detect->isTablet() && $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isMobile' or $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isMobile') { ?>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
        $('ul.slimmenu').slimmenu(
    			      {
    			      resizeWidth: '800',
    				  collapserTitle: '',
    				  animSpeed: 'medium',
    				  easingEffect: null,
    				  indentChildren: false,
    				  childrenIndenter: '&nbsp;'
    				  });
    </script>
    
    <?php } else if ($detect->isTablet() or $detect->isMobile() && $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isTablet' or $detect->isTablet() && $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isTablet' or $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isTablet'){ ?>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
        $('ul.slimmenu').slimmenu(
    			      {
    			      resizeWidth: '800',
    				  collapserTitle: '',
    				  animSpeed: 'medium',
    				  easingEffect: null,
    				  indentChildren: false,
    				  childrenIndenter: '&nbsp;'
    				  });
    </script>
    
    <?php } else if ($detect->isMobile() && !$detect->isTablet() && $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isDesktop' or $detect->isTablet() && $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isDesktop' or $_SESSION['display_mode']=='isNonResponsive'){ ?>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
        $('ul.slimmenu').slimmenu(
    			      {
    			      resizeWidth: '0',
    				  collapserTitle: '',
    				  animSpeed: 'medium',
    				  easingEffect: null,
    				  indentChildren: false,
    				  childrenIndenter: '&nbsp;'
    				  });
    </script>
    
    <?php } else { ?>
    
    <script type="text/javascript">
        $('ul.slimmenu').slimmenu(
    			      {
    			      resizeWidth: '800',
    				  collapserTitle: '',
    				  animSpeed: 'medium',
    				  easingEffect: null,
    				  indentChildren: false,
    				  childrenIndenter: '&nbsp;'
    				  });
    </script>
    
      <?php } ?>
    Can someone help me? Even if you can offer an example code and let me know how to modify it or point me to a tutorial on something like this.

    Thanks in advance! :) I apologoize if the nature of the site offends anyone, but you know, there is a market segment out there...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    27,762
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Modifying Top Menu - Westminster New

    You might be best asking in the addon template section for this template

    http://www.zen-cart.com/showthread.p...ter-Responsive
    Zen-Venom Get Bitten

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Modifying Top Menu - Westminster New

    Thanks, I just posted there as well (that entire thread has been my bible the past week) but wanted to see if anyone here could help me too. Thank you! :)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    picaflor-azul.com
    Posts
    6,930
    Plugin Contributions
    45

    Default Re: Modifying Top Menu - Westminster New

    Quote Originally Posted by chelseaneedshelp View Post
    Thanks, I just posted there as well (that entire thread has been my bible the past week) but wanted to see if anyone here could help me too. Thank you! :)
    there is no need to post the same question 3 times

    Thanks,

    Anne

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Westminster New
    By picaflor-azul in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 1843
    Last Post: 12 Jan 2022, 06:19 AM
  2. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 11 Oct 2017, 08:09 PM
  3. Westminster New doesn't work on mobile phone
    By Pompidompie in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26 Mar 2015, 10:34 PM
  4. v151 westminster new Share and Connect
    By Larry0652 in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24 Oct 2014, 03:30 PM
  5. Easy way to edit header/top menu, footer menu, and sidebar menu?
    By templar2 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30 Jun 2009, 11:14 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR