Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hoedspruit
    Posts
    528
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default How do I make the CSS category menu display only top-level categories?

    http://joburgonline.com

    Hi Anne

    Can't find an answer on the forum to my issue below, and have scoured/toggled the admin options.

    I have many sub-categories. These drop off the bottom of one's desktop when navigating deeper and deeper into the options. I manage to scroll down, but site visitors don't, or can't. have also reduced sub categories significantly.

    Is it possible to switch the sub-categories menu off, so that only the top categories are in the main page menu? Clicking on a top category will then take you to a page displaying the sub-category options (this already works, but not all think that way, get frustrated and go back to google).

    Looking forward to your reply

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    picaflor-azul.com
    Posts
    6,930
    Plugin Contributions
    45

    Default Re: Winchester Responsive - categories menu

    Quote Originally Posted by Parafanaylya View Post
    http://joburgonline.com

    Hi Anne

    Can't find an answer on the forum to my issue below, and have scoured/toggled the admin options.

    I have many sub-categories. These drop off the bottom of one's desktop when navigating deeper and deeper into the options. I manage to scroll down, but site visitors don't, or can't. have also reduced sub categories significantly.

    Is it possible to switch the sub-categories menu off, so that only the top categories are in the main page menu? Clicking on a top category will then take you to a page displaying the sub-category options (this already works, but not all think that way, get frustrated and go back to google).

    Looking forward to your reply
    Yes, you will need to modify the code in the includes/classes/categories_ul_generator.php file.

    Thanks,

    Anne

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hoedspruit
    Posts
    528
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: Winchester Responsive - categories menu

    Quote Originally Posted by picaflor-azul View Post
    Yes, you will need to modify the code in the includes/classes/categories_ul_generator.php file.

    Thanks,

    Anne
    How should it be changed? i.e. what do I remove/modify?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: How do I make the CSS category menu display only top-level categories?

    1. I might suggest that if your customers are having difficulty navigating your category structure that you come up with another way to display your categories so your customers can find them more intuitively. ie: if the current menu system isn't suitable for your customers, use another one that is.

    2. To force the categories_ul_generator to process only 1 level instead of 6, change the $max_level from 6 to 1 in categories_ul_generator.php:
    Code:
    class zen_categories_ul_generator {
      var $root_category_id = 0,
          $max_level = 6,
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Hoedspruit
    Posts
    528
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: How do I make the CSS category menu display only top-level categories?

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    1. I might suggest that if your customers are having difficulty navigating your category structure that you come up with another way to display your categories so your customers can find them more intuitively. ie: if the current menu system isn't suitable for your customers, use another one that is.

    2. To force the categories_ul_generator to process only 1 level instead of 6, change the $max_level from 6 to 1 in categories_ul_generator.php:
    Code:
    class zen_categories_ul_generator {
      var $root_category_id = 0,
          $max_level = 6,
    Thanks DrByte

    I changed mine from
    Code:
    class zen_categories_ul_generator {
        var $root_category_id = 0,
        $max_level = 0,
    to
    Code:
    class zen_categories_ul_generator {
        var $root_category_id = 0,
        $max_level = 1,
    And it's working!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. WOZ Sidebars edition - display top-level categories only
    By secondnature in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8 Aug 2012, 04:20 AM
  2. Display sub categories in top level category
    By Nick1973 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 19 Dec 2011, 10:06 PM
  3. I want to make a dynamic drop-down menu for TOP LEVEL categories
    By knockoutcomputers in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 20 Aug 2010, 12:33 AM
  4. How do I make a flyout menu for just top-level categories?
    By websightdesign in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14 May 2008, 08:45 PM
  5. Top level category - display products + sub categories
    By anduril3019 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 28 Mar 2007, 12:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR