Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Can't update order status

    When we try to update the order status in admin panel, we make the changes and then click the "UPDATE" button, but no changes are saved.

    Our host recently made updates, but they say....I compared the htaccess from our backups and confirmed that the htaccess file is in correct order. It seems to be an issue related to the Zencart. No information is being logged into the server logs as well as the debug logs of zencart. Could you please contact your code developer or the zencart support if possible?

    Thank you!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    65,247
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    224

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    The most common cause of "suddenly stopped working" issues, particularly when "the host recently made updates" is mod_security rules being triggered falsely. Ask them about new mod_security rules that are being triggered.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Thanks for the input. I did reach out to our host with your suggestion. Here is their response....

    There are no Modsecurty rules triggering for the domain.

    Any other ideas?

    We really need to be able to get orders updated for our customers.

    Thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14,077
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Php version is another potential trigger of not being able to update admin fields. ZC 1.5.1 was designed with php 5.3 being the highest available version at its time. There have been posts about how to allow it to *TEMPORARILY* continue operating under php 5.4, but these versions of php are now obsolete (unsupported).
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    65,247
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    224

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Ya, there's a lot of contextual information missing here:
    - PHP version
    - plugins/mods installed
    - which updates this happens on (is it limited to only a certain step, or all steps)
    - is the problem isolated to just this one page?
    - which page is that? I'm "guessing" that by "updating order status" you're referring to "updating the status of an order, from inside the orders page", and not "updating the order-status name from inside the order-status names screen", but you didn't say for sure.
    - what "updates" did your host "recently" do? And what does "recently" mean? How does that coincide with when your "problem" started happening?
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Ya, there's a lot of contextual information missing here:
    - PHP version
    - plugins/mods installed
    - which updates this happens on (is it limited to only a certain step, or all steps)
    - is the problem isolated to just this one page?
    - which page is that? I'm "guessing" that by "updating order status" you're referring to "updating the status of an order, from inside the orders page", and not "updating the order-status name from inside the order-status names screen", but you didn't say for sure.
    - what "updates" did your host "recently" do? And what does "recently" mean? How does that coincide with when your "problem" started happening?
    I'm a total novice here, so I really appreciate any help.

    I'll try to provide as much info as possible...

    I know that we're using an older version of ZC. The designer who developed our site mentioned that he made many customizations and that we should avoid upgrading (as we would lose all of that). He's no longer in the picture, so I'm a little helpless here.

    We began having numerous problems on Tuesday. After contacting our host, they said they had "made software updates on the back-end of our site". We assumed that their changes resulted in all of our issues. But after talking with them this morning, they indicated that the changes occurred 2 weeks ago. We were fine up until a few days ago. The changes that they made were to upgrade their Apache security, etc.
    We encountered several problems on Tuesday: Site showed "Not Secure", but SSL was valid, couldn't access any admin pages - got 404 error, pages on site were loading very slowly, etc. All of these issues have now been fixed by host, but we have 2 problems remaining. Host says these are ZC issues and they cannot help (other than to restore our site to a previous backup).....

    1) When logging in to our admin panel, and clicking on PENDING under ORDERS, we can see the orders. However, when we select one and try to change the status, we select the new status and enter comments, then click UPDATE, but nothing happens. The order remains on the PENDING list and the changes that we made are not saved
    2) A programmer wrote code to export orders from ZC to a format that can be imported into our order system. The link he provided can be accessed, but the file that is exported is blank.

    Here's some info:
    Apache Version 2.4.37
    PHP Version 5.4.45
    MySQL Version 5.5.61-cll

    Thank you so much for any advice.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Posts
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Our host restored our site with a backup from 12/17 and the issue appears to be resolved. Thanks for the input.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    65,247
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    224

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Given that restoring your site from a backup magically resolved the problems, that suggests that somehow someone (authorized or unauthorized) altered the code on your site, thus causing the problems.
    It would be prudent to investigate who did what when and how, just in case someone has found some sort of vulnerability in your hosting account and has created a back door which is allowing them unauthorized access to data or unauthorized ability to add junk into your account/site which they might use to serve inappropriate content for spammers, or from which they might attempt to attack other sites on the same server. You can find guidance for inspecting your site, including identifying any unauthorized tampering with your Zen Cart, in this article: http://www.zen-cart.com/wiki/index.p...ing_From_Hacks
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Posts
    117
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    I was not sure if I should start a new post, or just comment in this one.

    We are having the same issue. We recently updated my Webshop from v1.3.9 to v1.5.6.

    If I click on *orders* the list showing the order status shows the correct status (pending, processing, shipped etc). But if I click on order detail, regardless of what I change the status too, it keeps showing "Pending" - it doens't change to the actual status.

    Customers are also recieving their order status email, so the issues seems to be only on the Admin - order details page.

    Does anyone know why this is happening. Please let me know if I Need to provide more Information.

    Thank you

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14,077
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Can't update order status

    Quote Originally Posted by Dustie View Post
    I was not sure if I should start a new post, or just comment in this one.

    We are having the same issue. We recently updated my Webshop from v1.3.9 to v1.5.6.

    If I click on *orders* the list showing the order status shows the correct status (pending, processing, shipped etc). But if I click on order detail, regardless of what I change the status too, it keeps showing "Pending" - it doens't change to the actual status.

    Customers are also recieving their order status email, so the issues seems to be only on the Admin - order details page.

    Does anyone know why this is happening. Please let me know if I Need to provide more Information.

    Thank you
    Seems fine to have posted in this thread, the important thing though is that when identifying a problem to include how to reproduce it. The start of doing that is addressing the posting tips.

    The issue appears to be software related as the database seems to contain the necessary bits to at least select the desired change. That doesn't fully rule out a database issue, but the likely cause is in the upgrade process.

    If you could, please identify how the upgrade was performed, what plugins/software was added to the install, and possibly how admin/orders.php is different than a vanilla version of the Zen Cart 1.5.6 provided file, that would be a start. :)
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Can you auto update the order status?
    By ricky_moore in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11 Jan 2011, 05:35 PM
  2. Change Email Subject of Status Update Messages e.g. Order Update XXXX
    By apemusic in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13 Oct 2010, 08:42 AM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27 Mar 2009, 02:05 PM
  4. Can I update order status when clicking the packing-slip button?
    By shrimp-gumbo-mmmhhh in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1 Jan 2009, 05:12 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR