Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    I have just installed new clean zen cart in the admin area under countries it is all blank, also when I went to create a test account there were no countries and this error message. although it says version 1.5.5b I installed the newest 1.5.5c. my php version is 5.6.28. this is brand new site with no plugins , products ect

    website is http://dllaserdesigns.com.au

    can someone please advise. Thank you
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	admin backend.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	19.7 KB 
ID:	16849   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	login page.jpg 
Views:	36 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	16850  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    64,748
    Blog Entries
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    214

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    I just did a fresh install on a new server, and all the countries seem to show up fine here.

    To do the install of countries it requires a few dependencies:
    - database character set is utf8
    - server properly supports utf8
    - you chose utf8 during zc_install execution
    - when you uploaded the zc_install/sql/ directory to your server, it needs all the files; if some failed to upload, you'd end up with incomplete data.

    Further, you'll find more specific info about the problem in your /logs folder, as explained in this FAQ, which matches the message in your screenshot: WARNING: An Error occurred, please refresh the page and try again.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    Hi DrByte,
    I have checked my database character set and it is set to utf8_general_ci and my database is running •Database client version: libmysql - 5.1.73.

    Have tried a fresh install and still getting the same thing. I am not totally computer savvy with databases ect so not sure how to fix my problem, so might have to go back to zencart 5.4 as I know everything works for me on that version.

    Have attached a screen shot of my php myadmin, not sure if tells you anything that may help.

    Thanks for your help.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11,630
    Plugin Contributions
    13

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    ZC 1.5.5 fileset was obtained from?

    You're in the process of an upgrade it would seem, is the intention to start with a clean slate version of ZC and then manually enter product/store information or are you going to follow one of the upgrade processes?

    The times seen when the country data is not present has been when someone tries to use one of the host's auto-installer/auto-upgrade programs.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    64,748
    Blog Entries
    6
    Plugin Contributions
    214

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    1. In phpMyAdmin, click on the zc_countries table. What's in it?

    2. What's in the /logs/MyDebug-xxxxxxxxxx.log files on your server?


    It really feels like your PHP file set isn't "only" original ZC code. But, without seeing what's in the table, and what PHP/MySQL errors are occurring in the background, we can't help you much.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    Hi mc123456787 DrByte
    yes it is a clean fresh zen cart not upgrade. and yes I did use my hosts auto installer of 1.5.5, so should I delete that and install via ftp with download from Zen Cart. have attached country database & an error log the latest one from the 28-12 they seem to be all the same.

    Thank you for your help on this.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	countries.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	70.5 KB 
ID:	16852   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	mydebug.PNG 
Views:	33 
Size:	24.0 KB 
ID:	16853  

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11,630
    Plugin Contributions
    13

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    Yes, ideally should use the ZC provided version instead of a host's provided/modified version. It is unfortunate that various hosts continue to provide an altered, non-functional version of the store software which puts the general software in poor light.

    That said, it is possible to use/re-use the database information that was initiated by the auto-installer which can be found in the includes/configure.php file. The reason I say that is because at least a database (storage location) has been established. Suggest dropping all of the tables in it before using it, but if the host did anything useful it was to setup that database.

    Of course to maximize learning and understanding would suggest creating your own.

    Is there a reason your not doing an upgrade? Or is this being installed/started up for someone else? Ask because upgrading an existing store following the process outlined here: http://www.zen-cart.com/entry.php?3-...d-of-upgrading

    This way urls are maintained from old version to new version which supports continuity of your site.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    doing a new install as this is a new website.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    11,630
    Plugin Contributions
    13

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    Quote Originally Posted by wooden words View Post
    doing a new install as this is a new website.
    Okay, good. :)

    BTW, didn't say it in my last message, but you might do others at your host a favor if you also report the issue to your host. Unfortunately, they are likely to blaim ZC in some way or deny any type of responsibility, but perhaps it could get solved for others so that they don't experience the same issue.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Brisbane Australia
    Posts
    5
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Country list not showing up in admin or at account creation

    Yes I will do.
    Thank you for your help on this, will go try what you have suggested, Yes I agree I'm sure they will blame zc but have been using zc for a while now and wouldn't change, it works perfectly for my business.

    Once again thanks you for your assistance. will let you know how it goes.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v139h Create account page: disable showing default Country on top of list
    By ilmarchez in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8 Dec 2016, 06:57 PM
  2. v151 Order not showing up in customers account or in admin
    By CarlC in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9 Apr 2014, 04:09 AM
  3. Country and Zone not showing in drop down list
    By DML73 in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 19 Jul 2012, 07:51 AM
  4. Images not showing in IE 8 under admin account
    By mduros in forum General Questions
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 21 Jun 2010, 09:42 PM
  5. SSL works for Admin, Account Creation, NOT Login
    By ts232 in forum Managing Customers and Orders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19 May 2006, 01:19 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR