Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default Basic shopping cart

I apologize in advance. I'm sure this has been asked before, but as a very green newbie I have no idea where to even start to find the answer I'm looking for.
    My need is simple, and I already see Zen-Cart has way more than I need, at least for now. I have a website set up already that has been functioning for years, along with 3rd party shopping cart and credit card processing. Briefly stated, and as I'm sure all consumer sites do, my customer selects his options (size, quantity, etc.), the information is routed to my shopping cart provider via my <form action=...> coding, payment information is collected by the cart provider (without having a need to have a product database) and passed onto my CC processor.
    Maybe I'm trying to be too simple, but I am trying to replace the shopping cart provider with Zen-Cart.

Can someone direct me at least to somewhere here where I can find what I'm looking for?

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Basic shopping cart

Not a 100% sure I understand the question as it could apply to ZC. If you are wanting to have ZC step in to handle the record keeping, the hand off of product/customer information to your payment collection area, etc... but *not* have ZC hold the product information from which to choose, well, it wasn't written to be such a middle handler of information/product. Doesn't mean it can't be so rewritten, but...

My thoughts are this: find a place on a server (local computer or what have you.), setup a database. Install ZC with the demo products. Look at what features and/or options are immediately available and what is missing as desired/compared to your current arrangement. Determine what the differences are or might be. Come back and ask questions. Don't even start modifying things yet, ignore the change this text here type information.

Seeing it should help identify if what you are seeing is what you want or want to be able to have.