Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Posts
    121
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question Database tables are split formats

    Hi All,

    Looking for some advice with Databases. I am running ZC v1.5.4 & v1.5.5f. When I first started using ZC v1.5.1 (I think) I originally setup my database as latin1_general_ci (don't remember why). Recently after having problems with my database I noticed ZC has changed my DB format to utf8_general_ci (most likely during an upgrade). This has resulted in my database tables being split between latin1 & utf8 with a notable difference in the tables being modifications (plugins) in latin1 and core ZC tables in utf8.


    Questions:

    1. Does this matter?
    2. Should I manually change all of the tables to utf8?
    3. Does having a split database in this fashion have a negative effect?

    Any suggestion greatfully received.

    Thanks in advance for your input.

    Regards

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14,850
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Database tables are split formats

    There's a plugin (convert db2utf8) that would address changing all to the same format (utf8). The issue primarily comes when/if data is stored in one format and used in another (which is what happens if the database/datatable is latin1 but all of the software is operating at utf8) AND there is some specific character/encoding to be used. Would suggest converting to prevent having additional issues; however, always backup the database before doing so.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Posts
    121
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database tables are split formats

    Thanks mc12345678.

    I notice this is your contribution, I will give it a try shortly.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    14,850
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Database tables are split formats

    Quote Originally Posted by SpaceMonkey View Post
    Thanks mc12345678.

    I notice this is your contribution, I will give it a try shortly.
    I can't take credit for the whole thing. I had identified a minor improvement and then after speaking with those previously involved and still around I provided the update.

    So is the way of open source and such a community.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Dorset, UK
    Posts
    121
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database tables are split formats

    Quote Originally Posted by mc12345678 View Post
    I can't take credit for the whole thing. I had identified a minor improvement and then after speaking with those previously involved and still around I provided the update.

    So is the way of open source and such a community.

    Worked perfect. Saved changing them manually.

    Cheers

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Split a Database by categories
    By riky in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4 Oct 2010, 06:57 PM
  2. split database for 2 stores?
    By OLIVIER72 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30 Apr 2010, 11:36 PM
  3. Create Database, Tables and Drop Database or Tables
    By elwood cordery in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17 Aug 2009, 04:03 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR