Thread: 1.5.5F language

Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Woodbine, Georgia, United States
    Posts
    4,017
    Plugin Contributions
    61

    Default 1.5.5F language

    So in 1.5.5F if you create a zone, details ... select say united states, then the second dropdown there is no "All Zones" value. It only says "Please Select". The behavior for please select seems to be correct and it should instead say all zones.
    PRO-Webs, Inc. :: Recent Zen Cart Projects :: Zen Cart SEO – 12 Steps to Success
    **I answer questions in the forum, private messages are NOT answered. You are welcome to contact us via our website for professional engagements.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: 1.5.5F language

    If I may add a little detail to reproduce the described issue. This is occurring not in the zones area, but the zones definition.

    I confirm that when selecting the country (at least United States) that the Zone selection changes from All Zones to Please Select... below this option is all of the active Zones set to the country of United States.

    Perhaps a balance between the two statements would be:
    All Zones or Select Below...

    Would like to say Select Specific Below but starts getting too long... trying to think of something for "beginners" unless some additional instruction is to be added to the page to clarify that 1) Don't actually have to select each and every option, 2) that there are other options available besides the default one.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: 1.5.5F language

    Agreed: the wording here is vague, but eventually the problem can be figured out.

    As for the cause of the problem, I suspect that an over-aggressive cleanup of duplicated language constants has removed the "All" definition, or a different set of language defines is taking precedence, causing the zones-specific one to not show any longer.

    Adding even more defines for "combined meaning" is just unnecessary clutter and even more complication for upgraders and language translators. So any "fix" to this should simply implement what's already present, fixing whatever precedence-clash is preventing previous functionality from firing as intended.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: 1.5.5F language

    Looks like in admin/includes/functions/functions_general.php

    Around line 155, the code within the function zen_js_zone_list of admin/includes/functions/htmloutput.php should be changed from:
    Code:
           if ($num_state == '1') $output_string .= '    ' . $form . '.' . $field . '.options[0] = new Option("' . PLEASE_SELECT . '", "");' . "\n";
    To:
    Code:
           if ($num_state == '1') $output_string .= '    ' . $form . '.' . $field . '.options[0] = new Option("' . TYPE_BELOW . '", "");' . "\n";
    Reason seems to follow with what DrByte is referring, though haven't looked to see where else that function is used to determine if that change would upset elsewhere.

    Right now, there is a define in the language file for geo_zones called PLEASE_SELECT and it is defined as All Zones. But there is also a define in the admin's language file with the same define but different text.

    Based on that, what looks like the issue is and perhaps been that way at least since ZC 1.5.1, is in admin/includes/init_includes/init_languages.php file...

    Code:
    // include the language translations
      require(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '.php');
      $current_page = basename($PHP_SELF);
      if (file_exists(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/' . $current_page)) {
        include(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/' . $current_page);
      }
      if ($za_dir = @dir(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/extra_definitions')) {
        while ($zv_file = $za_dir->read()) {
          if (preg_match('~^[^\._].*\.php$~i', $zv_file) > 0) {
            require(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/extra_definitions/' . $zv_file);
          }
        }
        $za_dir->close();
      }
    Which could be fixed by loading the language specific file last instead of first such as:
    Code:
    // include the language translations
      $current_page = basename($PHP_SELF);
      if (file_exists(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/' . $current_page)) {
        include(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/' . $current_page);
      }
      if ($za_dir = @dir(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/extra_definitions')) {
        while ($zv_file = $za_dir->read()) {
          if (preg_match('~^[^\._].*\.php$~i', $zv_file) > 0) {
            require(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '/extra_definitions/' . $zv_file);
          }
        }
        $za_dir->close();
      }
      require(DIR_WS_LANGUAGES . $_SESSION['language'] . '.php');
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Multiple language, can only see english language
    By stefanl in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2 Oct 2011, 04:54 PM
  2. Language reverts back to default language
    By shocker in forum Addon Language Packs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 27 Oct 2008, 06:36 AM
  3. How to set a default country per language for multi language sites
    By lacabessa in forum Addon Language Packs
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18 Nov 2006, 11:00 PM
  4. Issues with French language (or alternate language) packs
    By mommydesigns in forum Addon Language Packs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 23 Aug 2006, 05:13 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR