Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    63
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default when have a sub category, can't have any product in main category?

    Hi, I created few sub categories under a main category. What I notice is as bellow;
    1: can add subcategory unless there is no product under the main category? is it true? what to do to create subcategory if there are few products already added.
    2. If I move a product from sub category to main category, then I can only add "Products" under this category. The link to create sub category is disappeared . Why So?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    13,098
    Plugin Contributions
    16

    Default Re: when have a sub category, can't have any product in main category?

    Quote Originally Posted by RiazShahid View Post
    Hi, I created few sub categories under a main category. What I notice is as bellow;
    1: can add subcategory unless there is no product under the main category? is it true? what to do to create subcategory if there are few products already added.
    2. If I move a product from sub category to main category, then I can only add "Products" under this category. The link to create sub category is disappeared . Why So?
    The general overall design is that a (sub-)category can either have sub-categories or product but not both primarily because of the way SALES (not specials) are handled. The system can be tricked into allowing it on the admin side, but the store front side will not operate as one might expect.

    So, how do you possibly add a sub-category if there are already product in a category? Deactivate all of the product in the (sub-)category, now you can add a sub-category and can then also move the inactive product into the new sub-category.

    What is a quick way to deactivate/reactivate all product in a category? Deactivate/reactivate a category that contains the product and you should be asked about what you want to do with all of the product inside.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...
    Upgraded to Zen Cart V1.5.3 from V1.5.1 from V1.5.0 from V1.3.9h

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    63
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: when have a sub category, can't have any product in main category?

    I think its a common practice in today's e-commerce, that categories contain both the products and sub categories as well. So I think this option must be available in coming updates.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Can I have a handling fee for ONE product or category?
    By dawnmartinello in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 13 Jul 2016, 04:16 AM
  2. I have category-sub category-subcategory later subcatergory not showing plus manufact
    By RonGin in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10 Feb 2016, 03:27 AM
  3. Category description not showing up when i have any products in the category
    By tyankee in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7 Sep 2009, 05:59 PM
  4. Main page Opens with Category - Can I have 2 categories?
    By Cal in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 11 Aug 2008, 10:43 AM
  5. sub category question...have searched.
    By skunkworx in forum General Questions
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21 Feb 2007, 08:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR