Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    1,229
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Test Store duplicated from site - Password / DB issue?

    v155f php7.1

    I duplicated my site to create a test store (which is in a folder in the store root) so that I could develop a new template using the responsive classic template and see the immediate results of changes. The unforeseen problem is that the changes I make in the test store are reflected in the actual store, no doubt because the test store is using the same data base and password - when I change template selection in the test store to work on it, it also changes it on the live site

    So how can I fix this blunder?

    Any assistance will be greatly appreciated.

    cheers,
    Mike

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Amersfoort, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,768
    Plugin Contributions
    23

    Default Re: Test Store duplicated from site - Password / DB issue?

    You need to make a copy of your database as well, and make the configure files of your test store point to the new database.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    1,229
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Test Store duplicated from site - Password / DB issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Design75 View Post
    You need to make a copy of your database as well, and make the configure files of your test store point to the new database.
    OK ... many thanks. So I assume I can download the data base then rename it and then upload it as the new name? ... then change configure files.

    cheers,
    Mike

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Amersfoort, The Netherlands
    Posts
    2,768
    Plugin Contributions
    23

    Default Re: Test Store duplicated from site - Password / DB issue?

    Almost.
    - You do an export in phpmyadmin, or your cpanel.
    - Create a new database using phpmyadmin, or your cpanel.
    - import the exported database (zip file) using phpmyadmin, or your cpanel.

    Now you edit the Zen Cart config files to reflect the new database settings. Remember to make the config writable before saving, so it actually saves the new settings.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Adelaide, Australia
    Posts
    1,229
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Test Store duplicated from site - Password / DB issue?

    Quote Originally Posted by Design75 View Post
    Almost.
    - You do an export in phpmyadmin, or your cpanel.
    - Create a new database using phpmyadmin, or your cpanel.
    - import the exported database (zip file) using phpmyadmin, or your cpanel.

    Now you edit the Zen Cart config files to reflect the new database settings. Remember to make the config writable before saving, so it actually saves the new settings.
    Got it ..... many thanks again Design75

    cheers,
    Mike

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v151 Losing customer info when moving database from test site to live site
    By FunkyPapa in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 7 Oct 2013, 01:11 PM
  2. v150 How do I create a test site of my existing store?
    By jlhgabel in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17 Jan 2013, 02:48 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10 May 2011, 07:03 PM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29 Apr 2010, 05:25 PM
  5. Publishing Changes from Test site to live site
    By MyGreyGoose in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 22 Jun 2007, 12:09 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR