Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    St. Leu, Reunion Island (Indian Ocean)
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after preview

    site url http://baronet4tibet.com/zencart/ using version V1.5.6a just upgraded from V1.3.9. upgraded php language to 5.5 and database to be compatible.

    when I change the products Description in the text box it shows in the preview, however when I update the product the description is not there. The editing page fully populates from the database, but upon updating the preview the description disappears.

    when I go back to enter it again the text box is now empty. When I first edit a product the text box is full with the description from the data base. It is also in the preview screen, but disappears when I view the live listing and again when I go back to fix it the text box is empty.

    http://baronet4tibet.com/zencart/ind...products_id=92 [product that has not been edited]
    http://baronet4tibet.com/zencart/ind...products_id=56 [product that has been edited and the description is now missing]

    I updated using the update software on InMotion hosting. Everything else appears to be working fine, sales are completing, order confirmations are still sequential, etc.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion -product descriptions will not show after preview

    Unfortunately those "auto update" tools provided by hosting companies aren't always reliable.

    If your preview page is blank because of PHP error, then you'll see those errors recorded in new files in your /logs/ directory as myDebug-adm-xxxxxxx.log where xxxxxx is increasing numbers. A new file is created on every page click where an error occurs, so you'll want to sort out all of those.
    You might have old code in your site that's not compatible with the new PHP version you switched to, and that'll be creating error logs.

    If the problem is because your old data was using latin1 or iso-8859-1 to store data and the new version (since 1.5.0) uses utf-8, then anytime certain special encoded characters exist in the page it may not render the output properly or at all. Related FAQ article to help: https://www.zen-cart.com/content.php...8859-1-to-utf8

    A best-practice for upgrading is to set up a temporary copy of your site as a "staging area" to work out any of these kinds of glitches before you "go live" by applying the update to your live site. http://www.zen-cart.com/entry.php?3
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,520
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after previe

    Additional questions, building on DrByte's comments:

    Since Zen Cart 1.3.x didn't support use of a DB_CHARSET constant, that setting (as well as your database's collations) are, in my mind, the suspects.


    1. Within your /admin/includes/configure.php, is there a definition for DB_CHARSET and, if so, what is the value set?
    2. When you view your admin's /includes/languages/english.php, what value is set for the CHARSET definition?
    3. When you review your database using phpMyAdmin, when the right-side panel contains a listing of all tables in the database, what value(s) show in the Collation column?
    4. Are there any debug-logs generated when you try to save that product definition? Look for files like /logs/myDEBUG-adm-*.log on or around the time that you tried. If any are generated, please post the contents as DrByte indicated in the previous post, remembering that the contents of those logs will include the name of your admin directory (so you need to xxx-out that/those values).

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    St. Leu, Reunion Island (Indian Ocean)
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after previe

    Quote Originally Posted by lat9 View Post
    Additional questions, building on DrByte's comments:

    Since Zen Cart 1.3.x didn't support use of a DB_CHARSET constant, that setting (as well as your database's collations) are, in my mind, the suspects.


    1. Within your /admin/includes/configure.php, is there a definition for DB_CHARSET and, if so, what is the value set?
    2. When you view your admin's /includes/languages/english.php, what value is set for the CHARSET definition?
    3. When you review your database using phpMyAdmin, when the right-side panel contains a listing of all tables in the database, what value(s) show in the Collation column?
    4. Are there any debug-logs generated when you try to save that product definition? Look for files like /logs/myDEBUG-adm-*.log on or around the time that you tried. If any are generated, please post the contents as DrByte indicated in the previous post, remembering that the contents of those logs will include the name of your admin directory (so you need to xxx-out that/those values).
    tDB_CHARSET and CHARSET ARE utf8
    IN THE phpMyAdmin database the collation is either utf8mb4_general_ci or latin1_swedish_ci [mostly the latter]

    zen_products_description is set to latin1_swedish_ci

    The only logs generated close to the time are in cache have a " PHP Warning: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,520
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after previe

    Quote Originally Posted by david53 View Post
    tDB_CHARSET and CHARSET ARE utf8
    IN THE phpMyAdmin database the collation is either utf8mb4_general_ci or latin1_swedish_ci [mostly the latter]

    zen_products_description is set to latin1_swedish_ci

    The only logs generated close to the time are in cache have a " PHP Warning: date(): It is not safe to rely on the system's timezone settings. You are *required* to use the date.timezone setting or the date_default_timezone_set"
    That's the source of your issue; you need to convert your database to use all utf8mb4_general_ci collations. You can do this using the Convert db2utf8 plugin, modifying the convert_db2utf8.php module's $desiredCollation value to utf8mb4_general_ci:

    Code:
    /**
     * convert_db2utf8
     *
     * @package eCommerce-Service
     * @copyright Copyright 2004-2007, Andrew Berezin eCommerce-Service.com
     * @license http://www.zen-cart.com/license/2_0.txt GNU Public License V2.0
     * @version $Id: convert_db2utf8.php, v 2.0.1 16.10.2007 14:47 Andrew Berezin $
     *
     * Updated 2014-06-28 to change mysql_ functions to mysqli_ functions, for compatibility with PHP >= 5.4
     * Updated 2015-01-11 (lat9).  Check for, and convert, overall database collation, too!
     * Updated 2018-01-01 (mc12345678).  Support both quoted and unquoted databases when converting the overall database collation.
     *
     */
    error_reporting(E_ALL & ~E_NOTICE);
    $desiredCollation = 'utf8mb4_general_ci'; // could optionally use utf8_unicode_ci
    Put your site into maintenance mode prior to the conversion and make sure that you have a backup of the database, made just prior to the conversion.

    For that logged error, you need to edit your store's /includes/extra_configures/set_time_zone.php to reflect your store's time-zone:
    Code:
    <?php
    /**
     * @package initSystem
     * @copyright Copyright 2003-2018 Zen Cart Development Team
     * @license http://www.zen-cart.com/license/2_0.txt GNU Public License V2.0
     * @version $Id: Drbyte Tue Sep 11 15:54:43 2018 -0400 Modified in v1.5.6 $
     */
    /*
     * Set time zone
    */
      // put your timezone here. Refer to http://www.php.net/manual/en/timezones.php
      $TZ = '';  // eg: 'Europe/Oslo'
    
    
    
      /**
       * MAKE NO CHANGES BELOW THIS LINE
       *
       * The following will take the timezone you specified above and apply it in your store.
       * If you didn't specify one, it will try to use the setting from your server's PHP configuration
       */
      if ($TZ == '') {
        $TZ = date_default_timezone_get();
      }
      if ($TZ != '') {
        putenv('TZ=' . $TZ);
        @date_default_timezone_set($TZ);
      }

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    St. Leu, Reunion Island (Indian Ocean)
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after previe

    I can go into the MySQL database and go to the zen_products_description and enter html code into the database and add the description, but would rather do it in zen cart.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,520
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after previe

    Quote Originally Posted by david53 View Post
    I can go into the MySQL database and go to the zen_products_description and enter html code into the database and add the description, but would rather do it in zen cart.
    Smart move! I believe that running that plugin to change the collations of all tables to reflect the character-type your configure.php files are indicating will correct the issues you're having.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    St. Leu, Reunion Island (Indian Ocean)
    Posts
    12
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: upgraded with InMotion from v139 -product descriptions will not show after previe

    fixed it, I decided to go with "latin1" in the includes/configure.php and it is working fine, thanks very much

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v150 My header banners don't work after going from v139 to v150
    By TSN99 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 6 May 2016, 09:17 PM
  2. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 8 Apr 2015, 01:29 AM
  3. admin preview shows code not what site will show
    By marvin in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 22 Feb 2013, 09:36 PM
  4. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 27 Jan 2013, 10:11 AM
  5. Items will not disappear from Shopping Cart after checkout
    By Bob88Vette in forum General Questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2009, 03:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR