Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 62
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Follow-Up Question - Upgrade Failed (Was "Smart Characters And Timeouts")

    The lack of formatting of content is typically caused by either of two issues. A discrepancy in SSL (mixed content) or missing css files. I guess a third reason could be that the browser has cached information that needs to be cleared. That though tends to happen only after successfully being able to reach the admin screen which appears to only recently been successful.

    The fix for the first issue is to ensure that the admin/includes/configure.php has the settings for https: or http: as offered for your domain.

    Regarding your recent post about making changes, would need more information. Attempting to change what, what mydebug log(s) are generated when trying, what is seen on screen when trying, etc...
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    339
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Follow-Up Question - Upgrade Failed (Was "Smart Characters And Timeouts")

    I'll look at the configure.php files and see what they say. I don't think we have https:// so I'll make sure everything says http://

    There are no Edit buttons whatsoever. They simply don't exist. There's no way to open an existing listing at all. The only options beside each listing are M, C, and A. I don't think a log file is going to show anything amiss because the category and subcategory pages do open, but the ability to open and modify the individual listings has totally disappeared.

    BTW, one of the reasons I did this upgrade was to reset the timeouts so it wouldn't constantly log me out in the middle of something. That I was able to change...but it doesn't appear that the changes actually took effect. I stepped away from my desk for a bit and when I came back, it had logged me out again.

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    339
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    This is what the admin-xx\includes\configure.php file has to say:

    PHP Code:
    /**
     * Enter the domain for your storefront URL.
     * Enter a separate SSL URL in HTTPS_CATALOG_SERVER if your store supports SSL.
     */
    define('HTTP_CATALOG_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTPS_CATALOG_SERVER''https://earcandyaudiobooks.com');

    /**
     * Do you use SSL for your customers login/checkout on the storefront? If so, enter 'true'. Else 'false'.
     */
    define('ENABLE_SSL_CATALOG''false');

    /**
     * These DIR_WS_xxxx values refer to the name of any subdirectory in which your store is located.
     * These values get added to the HTTP_CATALOG_SERVER and HTTPS_CATALOG_SERVER values to form the complete URLs to your storefront.
     * They should always start and end with a slash ... ie: '/' or '/foldername/'
     */
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG''/studio/');
    define('DIR_WS_HTTPS_CATALOG''/studio/');

    /**
     * This is the complete physical path to your store's files.  eg: /var/www/vhost/accountname/public_html/store/
     * Should have a closing / on it.
     */
    define('DIR_FS_CATALOG''/home2/boruma/public_html/earcandyaudiobooks.com/studio/'); 
    Should I change all the instances of HTTPS to HTTP for this and the other configure.php file? In some cases, that will make two identical commands right next to each other.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    Missing the important one: HTTP_SERVER

    The others, no they don't need to be changed (for a properly configured server).

    As to the "buttons", try zooming out while on the screen of concern. Depending on your browser you may be able to choose the level of zoom. But, if your screen is basically white with the menu text all unformatted, then it is not a surprise that there are issues with other selections/options.

    Now, also one other thing that got changed was that clicking on a row of a listing that has products doesn't dig into the product like it used to (correction applied because browsers did not properly support accessing a product), there is the products_id that can be clicked or the circle e if present.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Salem, IL
    Posts
    2,748
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    I would take a look at the current issues but you removed me already. I don't recall there being issues with the main menu in the admin when I was in there.
    Mike
    GeekHost - Zen Cart Certified & PCI Compliant Hosting
    The Zen Cart Forum...Better than a monitor covered with post-it notes!

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    339
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    I thought I copied that section, too. Yes, it's there.

    PHP Code:
    /**
     * Enter the domain for your store
     * HTTP_SERVER is your Main webserver: eg-http://www.yourdomain.com
     * HTTPS_SERVER is your Secure/SSL webserver: eg-https://www.yourdomain.com
     */
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER''https://earcandyaudiobooks.com');

    /** 
    If I change

    PHP Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER''https://earcandyaudiobooks.com'); 
    to

    PHP Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com'); 
    won't that cause problems because the two lines are now identical?

    I dropped the page zoom all the way down to 25%. No change.

    This is how my listings display:

    HTML Code:
    210	Preview           Audiobook Title		$3.95	0	Product is Linked    Status - Enabled	0	
    M
    C
    A
    There is no E, either inside a circle or without one as the M, C, and A are...they're strictly text letters, not in circles of any color. There's no X, no image handler icon, no $ icon, and no metatag icon. Just those three letters to the right of the listings. (And by the way, everything on the page is far-left-aligned, not just the unformatted text links.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    339
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    I knew I shouldn't have removed you yet. :-/ I'm happy to give you access again if you want.

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    West Salem, IL
    Posts
    2,748
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    Email me the credentials, you have the email address
    Mike
    GeekHost - Zen Cart Certified & PCI Compliant Hosting
    The Zen Cart Forum...Better than a monitor covered with post-it notes!

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    Quote Originally Posted by DK_Scully View Post
    I thought I copied that section, too. Yes, it's there.

    PHP Code:
    /**
     * Enter the domain for your store
     * HTTP_SERVER is your Main webserver: eg-http://www.yourdomain.com
     * HTTPS_SERVER is your Secure/SSL webserver: eg-https://www.yourdomain.com
     */
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER''https://earcandyaudiobooks.com');

    /** 
    If I change

    PHP Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER''https://earcandyaudiobooks.com'); 
    to

    PHP Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com');
    define('HTTP_SERVER''http://earcandyaudiobooks.com'); 
    won't that cause problems because the two lines are now identical?

    I dropped the page zoom all the way down to 25%. No change.

    This is how my listings display:

    HTML Code:
    210	Preview           Audiobook Title		$3.95	0	Product is Linked    Status - Enabled	0	
    M
    C
    A
    There is no E, either inside a circle or without one as the M, C, and A are...they're strictly text letters, not in circles of any color. There's no X, no image handler icon, no $ icon, and no metatag icon. Just those three letters to the right of the listings. (And by the way, everything on the page is far-left-aligned, not just the unformatted text links.
    Don't seem to be able to tell to what version the upgrade was, but if it was to 1.5.5 or newer, then the admin/includes/configure.php would only be expected to contain a HTTP_SERVER define and not HTTPS_SERVER unless some other software just had to have it...

    Yeah, all the left justified text has to do with the css. Barco57 ought to be able to identify the issue. If it is good for him when logging into your admin, then it is likely a browser issue. (BTW, could try a different browser to see if the problem exists there...)

    As to the two server entries being made the same, not it doesn't cause a problem other than if it were desired to actually have https: in the Web address. Speaking of, once logged into the admin, does every page on the browser identify as https:// or not? Ehh, again, barco57 should be able to identify.

    This chef's out for now. :)
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    339
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Smart Characters And Timeouts

    MC, you were right! It works fine (I can't say I really like the new look of it, but I expect I'll get used to it in time) in Firefox. Now why on earth would Firefox display it correctly when Chrome won't?? Is there a way to fix this? I used to use Firefox constantly, but then about half the websites I use on a regular basis stopped displaying properly...tons of unexpected permission errors...so I switched to Chrome. I haven't used Firefox in ages, and would rather not have to use multiple browsers.

 

 
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v139g Any Templates for Smart Phones and Tablets?
    By irishshopper in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20 Mar 2013, 12:36 AM
  2. blank page/connection timeouts
    By JaysShop in forum General Questions
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 3 Mar 2011, 09:41 PM
  3. Ajax requests and session timeouts
    By lumpylumpy in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 24 Dec 2010, 02:23 PM
  4. CyberSource TimeOuts on checkout
    By icecold in forum Addon Payment Modules
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17 Mar 2009, 07:16 AM
  5. Session Timeouts !!
    By Scrat in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7 Apr 2007, 08:41 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR