Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pittsburgh, PA
    Posts
    237
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Is it possible to have PHP errors display at the top of the page I'm working on?

    I'm working on a php script in my admin and I'm getting tired of checking the errors logs and sucking at coding simultaneously (: funny how that works. Hopefully this bach comp sci degree I'm working on will start kicking in.

    I tried adding
    Code:
    PHP Code:
     define('STRICT_ERROR_REPORTING'true); 
    to the configure.php in the admin but it didn't seem to do anything.

    I'm also not sure if there's an add-on that does this.

    Currently I'm using WinSCP w/ notepad++, if anyone has any work environment tips I'd be interested in trying them out.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Payson, AZ
    Posts
    1,076
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Is it possible to have PHP errors display at the top of the page I'm working on?

    Quote Originally Posted by wolfderby View Post
    I'm working on a php script in my admin and I'm getting tired of checking the errors logs and sucking at coding simultaneously (: funny how that works. Hopefully this bach comp sci degree I'm working on will start kicking in.

    I tried adding
    Code:
    PHP Code:
     define('STRICT_ERROR_REPORTING'true); 
    to the configure.php in the admin but it didn't seem to do anything.

    I'm also not sure if there's an add-on that does this.

    Currently I'm using WinSCP w/ notepad++, if anyone has any work environment tips I'd be interested in trying them out.
    Here's an interesting link... https://stackify.com/display-php-errors/
    If you are looking for PHP errors, that link well tell you more then I can on this little page...
    ZC errors are within the logs folder.. I keep it open on my other screen while working to see error files if any popup..
    Dave
    Always forward thinking... Lost my mind!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,734
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Is it possible to have PHP errors display at the top of the page I'm working on?

    For the admin in ZC 1.5.5, would have to add the strict processing define to either the index.php file for admin or towards the top of admin/includes/application_top.php as the sequencing wasn't quite right to respect that define if I remember correctly.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Gijón, Asturias, Spain
    Posts
    2,589
    Plugin Contributions
    30

    Default Re: Is it possible to have PHP errors display at the top of the page I'm working on?

    This shows the logs that come from php errors, should be core (in my opinion):
    https://www.zen-cart.com/downloads.php?do=file&id=1583


    There is/was a bug in application_top that stopped the STRICT from working.
    https://github.com/zencart/zencart/issues/2284
    Last edited by torvista; 2 Aug 2019 at 09:26 AM.
    Steve
    github.com/torvista: Spanish Language Pack, Google reCaptcha, Structured Data, Multiple Copy-Move-Delete, Image Checker, BackupMySQL Admin/Auto...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,699
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: Is it possible to have PHP errors display at the top of the page I'm working on?

    The technique you're attempting to use is hokey. If you're getting a BSCS and want to be a professional computer programmer, you need to learn how to use tools.

    Learn how to use MAMP/WAMP
    Learn how to use a PHP debugger
    Learn how to use a javascript debugger

    This will take time and effort, but if you start today, in a year you could be a whiz - the sort of person people come to when they have a problem they can't figure out.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. I have a php closing tag symbol "?>" on the top left side Create Account Page - HELP!
    By techschema in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 17 Aug 2010, 02:22 PM
  2. The Top Of My Page Is Grey And I Want To Place My Banner At The Top
    By diamonds in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 5 Mar 2008, 05:48 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9 Jul 2007, 02:27 PM
  4. Is it possible to have the Cart alongside my logo in the header?
    By jaz1974 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1 Feb 2007, 12:41 AM
  5. is it possible to have photos in the cart page?
    By altar in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 13 Jul 2006, 03:39 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR