Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    143
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Database Corruption?

    Hi All,

    me again! Having just installed the Log Manger plugin as advised in my other post, I now find that my poblem may be deeper than I thought. If I try to do anything in Configuration which make changes, then I get the following error message:

    WARNING: An Error occurred, please refresh the page and try again.If you were entering information, press the BACK button in your browser and re-check the information you had entered to be sure you left no blank fields.

    I am assuming some corruption in the database?

    Version: 1.5.6c
    PHP 7.2.20

    Michael

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    9,214
    Plugin Contributions
    72

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    If you inspect (either via FTP or your webhost's File Manager) the site's /logs directory, you should see a file named myDEBUG-adm-{something}.log with a date on/around the time you see/saw the error.

    Open that file and post the contents back using the 'CODE' tags (the big # in the menu-bar while you write the message). Remember that the -adm- type logs include your Zen Cart admin directory name, so be sure to xxx that out before posting!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    143
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    Code:
    [20-Nov-2019 19:36:10 UTC] Request URI: /admin-name-changed/configuration.php?gID=20&cID=443&action=save, IP address: 188.30.133.206
    #1  trigger_error() called at [/home/ftp-usernamename/public_html/includes/classes/db/mysql/query_factory.php:171]
    #2  queryFactory->show_error() called at [/home/ftp-username/public_html/includes/classes/db/mysql/query_factory.php:143]
    #3  queryFactory->set_error() called at [/home/ftp-username/public_html/includes/classes/db/mysql/query_factory.php:270]
    #4  queryFactory->Execute() called at [/home/ftp-username/public_html/admin-name-changed/configuration.php:26]
    --> PHP Fatal error: 1054:Unknown column 'val_function' in 'field list' :: SELECT val_function FROM configuration WHERE configuration_id = '443' ==> (as called by) /home/ftp-username/public_html/admin-name-changed/configuration.php on line 26 <== in /home/ftp-username/public_html/includes/classes/db/mysql/query_factory.php on line 171.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    9,214
    Plugin Contributions
    72

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    That val_function field was added to the database's configuration table for Zen Cart 1.5.6. What's the history of the site? Was it updated (and if so, how)?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    143
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    Hi,

    I followed all the instructions, or so I thought, when I upgraded to 1.5.6. I would have upgraded more-or-less as soon as the version was announced. I generally, until the lates version, upgraded as soon as a new version is announced. The site was set up using ZenCart several years ago, can't remember the version I first used.

    Michael

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    9,214
    Plugin Contributions
    72

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    That val_function field should have been added by the zc_install/upgrade processing. I'd review the zc156 /zc_install/sql/updates/mysql_update_zencart_156.sql to see what other changes might have been missed.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    143
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    Thank You. In your estimation would it be sensible to go though the database upgrade again?

    Michael

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    9,214
    Plugin Contributions
    72

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    Michael, if it were me, I'd

    1. Put the site into maintenance mode.
    2. Create a database backup.
    3. Log into the admin, navigate to Tools->Install SQL Patches, copy&paste the contents of the file named above and run it.


    That essentially performs the database-update portion of the zc_install.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    143
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    Thank you. Although I can't acually put the site into Maintenance Mode as I get the same error, will just have to do it on the fly I guess.

    Michael

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    143
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Database Corruption?

    I decided to actually do it from the zc_install itself via a browser, hving read all the 'dire' warnings about doing it any other way. I am pleased to say that it wotked. Thanks again for you very valued advice and help ... Mihael

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Editor Corruption?
    By Wambat in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25 Oct 2010, 01:50 PM
  2. database corruption
    By crabdance in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19 Dec 2007, 08:41 PM
  3. How do I avoid corruption when updating database? Only allowed one database.
    By kevin_a in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 9 May 2007, 07:18 AM
  4. DB backup corruption
    By Justwade in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7 Jul 2006, 08:22 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR