Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    106
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    Hi All,
    I have the Westminster_New template installed that has a hover feature on the front page. The 3rd image to the right doesn't seem to want to load on first look and takes a couple of refreshes before it appears.
    I have reviewed the file size and name and all looks good.
    Could anyone review this and let me know what the issue might be? Also help on how you figured this out would be useful.
    https://www.selfbuildplans.co.uk
    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    61
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    You must have been able to deal with this? I noticed in the browser console anyway; you're firing some jQuery for a non-existing element named "#foo1". That can cause grief.
    As can using "http" instead of "https" when referencing linked files for things like js and css. HTH!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    106
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    Hi ElSlozzo,
    I did resolve this as i found there were 2 instances of the same banner with the same image that created the load error. Unfortunately on the admin banner page the second one was on page 2 and i didn't spot it at first. I corrected this and it now works fine.
    However, I'm interested in your comment:
    I noticed in the browser console anyway; you're firing some jQuery for a non-existing element named "#foo1". That can cause grief.
    As can using "http" instead of "https" when referencing linked files for things like js and css.
    Firstly any help in resolving this jQuery issue and then your comment about linked files using 'http' instead of 'https' would be appreciated.
    Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    61
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    As for the http vs. https bit, and depending on your familiarity with Zen Cart and editing code, check your template's common/html_header.php file where it is linking to css and javascript files. They're linking using NONSSL but should be linked using SSL since I'm on the SSL site. It's supposed to link to which ever one you're using; http or https, but it appears only to be linking using non-SSL (http). On a secure site these insecure links don't get trusted by the browser (and hence don't get downloaded - and hence cause grief.).

    One workaround depending on your template (I haven't looked at Westminster) is to change the HTTP_SERVER constant in configure.php to be the same as the HTTPS_SERVER constant, so your site only ever uses SSL. This should be the ZC default IMO.
    Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'https://www.selfbuildplans.co.uk');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'https://www.selfbuildplans.co.uk');
    Looking closer at your code now, if files aren't loading because they're not linked to properly (using https) it could cause the jQuery error shown in the browser console.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    106
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    Hi ElSlozzo,
    I have updated the configure file as suggested.
    Thanks very much for the easy explanation and instructions.
    If you can confirm this has done the trick that would be great.
    Thanks again.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Edmonton, AB
    Posts
    61
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    Aha great improvement. Yes that does fix 90% of what I mentioned and even makes the site easier on the eyes.

    However according to my browser's console, I see you're still calling a minimized jQuery easing file (v1.3) from Cloudflare over http. Being insecure this is getting blocked. Maybe it's in the template somewhere that Cloudflare is being used. Wherever it is the reference should be to https. Anything trying to ease with jQuery on pages where that's happening are going to have trouble!

    You're familiar with the browser console? Open your home page and press F12, go to the console tab.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,151
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Westminster_New - Front Page hover image does not always load...

    Where you can run into a problem is in sending an href to a non-secure site using https protocol. in some cases, we have had to use a URL with a relative (unspecified) protocol
    Code:
    //theOtherSite.com

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v151 Page Content does not load Index & Category pages
    By shags38 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 17 Jun 2017, 05:19 PM
  2. My website does not load the enlarged image
    By haykgrigory in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12 Dec 2013, 09:26 PM
  3. Send Mail page does not load
    By joaocunha in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20 Mar 2010, 12:14 AM
  4. HELP ! Clicking Parent Catogory does not load it's page !
    By newfu in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1 May 2009, 02:48 PM
  5. Admin page does not load
    By Toina in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10 Mar 2007, 09:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR