Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    London
    Posts
    258
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    I am installing on my apache 2 server with mysql
    Using localhost as my domain name is not yet visible.

    Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    I have the latest version set the two configure.php with chmod 777

    When I go to zc_install/index.php it says cannot find the configure.php or chmod is not set. I know it has and the files are in the right place
    it also says mysqli php is not installed.

    I think it has because php.info works at localhost/phpinfo

    Same thing happens when I put my ip address in instead of localhost. I am port forwarding so see my site on my ip address.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    Although there are instructions suggesting to use 777, I would recommend that files be no higher than 644 and folders 755. There are some server setups that will prevent access of files/folders where permissions are set to 777.

    For the mysqli_ portion, may need to review the phpinfo() results to see what is included/excluded. Other than that, may need to wait just a little bit for the server to be fully Internet accessible, though keep checking what you can as there likely is something else not yet considered.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    London
    Posts
    258
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    Thanks the domain name is now fully access-able. I installed again and the same thing has happened I looked at the configure files but they say
    They have been chmod to 777 and checked.

    I will do what you said with chmod 644

    I have not done any folders yet does this matter?

    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'localhost');

    I tried changing them by putting in the domain name but they still do not work.

    Where do I install the mysqli extension for PHP as I am sure that is missing.

    What is the terminal command as Fedora 31 cinnamon desktop's packet manager is hopeless
    Last edited by bscho; 18 Mar 2020 at 06:04 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    Quote Originally Posted by bscho View Post
    Thanks the domain name is now fully access-able. I installed again and the same thing has happened I looked at the configure files but they say
    They have been chmod to 777 and checked.

    I will do what you said with chmod 644

    I have not done any folders yet does this matter?

    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'localhost');

    I tried changing them by putting in the domain name but they still do not work.

    Where do I install the mysqli extension for PHP as I am sure that is missing.

    What is the terminal command as Fedora 31 cinnamon desktop's packet manager is hopeless
    Those defines:
    Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'localhost');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'localhost');
    Although for your localhost, still need to identify a protocol to use: http or https. So after the permissions of the file have been verified to be writeable (at least 644), then save it with the following:
    Code:
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://localhost');
    define('HTTPS_SERVER', 'http://localhost');
    As to mysqli_, will have to come back.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    London
    Posts
    258
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    I will try adding http:// maybe that is the reason. I do not have a secure certificate yet but the product is free anyway.

    I have installed it on my other website that I have on a hosting site. I have had no problem. I use filezilla to put the files and had to use Putty to chmod.

    it appears that if I am using it on my localhost which has apache 2 and mysql is the problem. I do not use filezilla as I can edit the files directly from the files as root.

    Any ideas how I can fix this?
    Last edited by bscho; 18 Mar 2020 at 07:49 PM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Payson, AZ
    Posts
    1,076
    Plugin Contributions
    15

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    Quote Originally Posted by bscho View Post
    I will try adding http:// maybe that is the reason. I do not have a secure certificate yet but the product is free anyway.

    I have installed it on my other website that I have on a hosting site. I have had no problem. I use filezilla to put the files and had to use Putty to chmod.

    it appears that if I am using it on my localhost which has apache 2 and mysql is the problem. I do not use filezilla as I can edit the files directly from the files as root.

    Any ideas how I can fix this?
    If you are installing each on your own and not as a package such as xampp then you need to install MySQLi extension so php can communicate with mySQL.. Filezilla can chmod, right click on the file and use file permissions..
    Dave
    Always forward thinking... Lost my mind!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,684
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    Quote Originally Posted by davewest View Post
    If you are installing each on your own and not as a package such as xampp then you need to install MySQLi extension so php can communicate with mySQL.. Filezilla can chmod, right click on the file and use file permissions..
    dave this sounds like a linux install... and with root access on the machine. so filezilla not necessary.

    are you familiar with the terminal window? what version of php are you using?

    it sounds like you are running a linux virtual machine? or am i wrong here? or are you running it on your linux desktop? either way the install is the same.

    looks like fedora uses dnf. see

    https://developer.fedoraproject.org/...tallation.html

    Code:
    sudo dnf install php-mysqli
    //sudo not necessary if running as root...
    for linux permissions do
    Code:
    man chmod
    i'm not that familiar with dnf or fedora but it should not be that hard to figure out. and i would encourage using it from the command line.

    good luck.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Location
    London
    Posts
    258
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Will not install for me I have followed everything.

    Quote Originally Posted by carlwhat View Post
    dave this sounds like a linux install... and with root access on the machine. so filezilla not necessary.

    are you familiar with the terminal window? what version of php are you using?

    it sounds like you are running a linux virtual machine? or am i wrong here? or are you running it on your linux desktop? either way the install is the same.

    looks like fedora uses dnf. see

    https://developer.fedoraproject.org/...tallation.html

    Code:
    sudo dnf install php-mysqli
    //sudo not necessary if running as root...
    for linux permissions do
    Code:
    man chmod
    i'm not that familiar with dnf or fedora but it should not be that hard to figure out. and i would encourage using it from the command line.

    good luck.
    I have fixed the mysqli

    now 2 more lines have appeared asking for chmod of logs folder and cache folder.

    I have chmod them and all are writeable.

    It is as if the store is not being seen.

    I have installed on my normal site a second store2 which is hosted by another company
    and there was no problem.

    It seems the problem is hosting on my own machine.

    I wish there was a installation tutorial for that.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v139h Tried everything - Configure.php will not let me change/edit.
    By lissa in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 24 Sep 2014, 01:56 PM
  2. v151 Admin install messages will not go away for Super Orders, Edit Orders plugins
    By rcrosier in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15 Oct 2013, 06:10 PM
  3. I need help, Express checkout will not work, I've tried everything
    By insanespeed in forum PayPal Express Checkout support
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 14 Sep 2011, 06:42 AM
  4. Do I have to use the zc_install or can I manually install everything
    By tbarrett40 in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 Jan 2011, 03:49 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR