Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Gardiner, Maine
    Posts
    2,127
    Plugin Contributions
    22

    Default back up old website database

    php 5.1.6, mysql 5.0.95, zc 1.3.9h

    I tried using an old version of the backup mysql mod which did not export all the data. Then I used the most recent version and got nothing exported.

    I tried a php script to export the database which only gave me a error message with no details so mysql, not a php error.

    The host took over a month to get the ftp access set up correctly and there is no database access (and it is on another server as well). We have to move/upgrade this site as things are going screwy there and the site is essentially unusuable at this point due to some other ssl screwiness (probably old server stuff and not a new ssl cert)

    Anyone have suggestions about how to grab this old database?
    The full-time Zen Cart Guru. WizTech4ZC.com

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    1,188
    Plugin Contributions
    12

    Default Re: back up old website database

    Zen Cart Point of Sale? Sure: ZX POS - v2 released
    My site - Pro ZC Help | My portfolio | My plugins

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Gardiner, Maine
    Posts
    2,127
    Plugin Contributions
    22

    Default Re: back up old website database

    I’ll check it out, thanks.
    The full-time Zen Cart Guru. WizTech4ZC.com

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Gardiner, Maine
    Posts
    2,127
    Plugin Contributions
    22

    Default Re: back up old website database

    I love it - small and easy! And it worked! Thanks again.
    The full-time Zen Cart Guru. WizTech4ZC.com

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    1,691
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: back up old website database

    Quote Originally Posted by balihr View Post
    dude! i'm an adminer fan.

    in fact, i have it integrated on all my sites once one is logged in onto the admin so there is no need to enter your DB credentials....

    i was planning on a simple plugin for use (one still needs to download adminer from their site as the ZC plugins do not allow binary), but i was running into some headers already sent errors that i did have time to track down... perhaps i will now be inspired....

    best.
    practice #socialdistancing #staysafe
    email is hard....
    help out with the green....

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Gardiner, Maine
    Posts
    2,127
    Plugin Contributions
    22

    Default Re: back up old website database

    It’s not allowed in some hosting. Way too easy access for a bad actor.
    The full-time Zen Cart Guru. WizTech4ZC.com

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    1,691
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: back up old website database

    only if you are not up-to-date:

    "As discussed on our blog over two years ago, hackers are interested in Adminer versions below 4.6.3, which contain a security hole that allowing them to read files on servers using the LOAD DATA LOCAL INFILE statement...".
    practice #socialdistancing #staysafe
    email is hard....
    help out with the green....

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Gardiner, Maine
    Posts
    2,127
    Plugin Contributions
    22

    Default Re: back up old website database

    no, there are hosts that automatically quarantine and delete it. This is more likely to be the case when phpmyadmin is already provided. It's a great alternative when you don't have access to phpmyadmin in cpanel but I do agree the use of it should be restricted, no matter the version.
    The full-time Zen Cart Guru. WizTech4ZC.com

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    1,188
    Plugin Contributions
    12

    Default Re: back up old website database

    Yeah, I love Adminer because it's super simple and gets the job done. But, I also keep a standalone copy of pmpMyAdmin on standby for cases where host automatically deletes Adminer. So, I just upload the entire pma folder, modify the config.inc.php if necessary and then access pma directly from browser and login with credentials from configure.php - works every time, that never failed me. The only difference is that Adminer is easier and faster to upload, as well as remove after I'm done.
    Zen Cart Point of Sale? Sure: ZX POS - v2 released
    My site - Pro ZC Help | My portfolio | My plugins

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Database - Updating new database with old database info
    By J9MM0 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 28 Feb 2020, 11:45 AM
  2. v151 can i salvage very old shipping settings from old database?
    By enddes in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8 Oct 2012, 08:27 AM
  3. Error importing old database to the new database
    By wmorris in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3 Jan 2012, 08:27 AM
  4. Database - add new customers from old database
    By ljdream00 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 Apr 2011, 05:43 AM
  5. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15 Oct 2010, 07:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR