Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    134
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    help question New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    I have installed five new ZenCarts in the past with no issues. Four of them are still running on PHP 7.3.6 with a Linux server. I went to do a fresh install of Version 1.5.7 on a brand new domain, and I received this error, "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5," but my PHP version is 7.3.6. I'm stuck. Any suggestions?

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,695
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    This is just a 3 line check in /index.php. You can remove it, but please first do an

    die("PHP VERSION IS " . PHP_VERSION_ID);

    and report back.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    134
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    Quote Originally Posted by swguy View Post
    please first do an

    die("PHP VERSION IS " . PHP_VERSION_ID);

    and report back.
    Okay, thank you. I will find the code in index.php and remove it. Unfortunately, I'm not sure what you mean by the rest of it. I'd be glad to do it and report back, but I'm not sure how to do so. I tried to look it up but I'm just not sure what exactly to put where. If you could tell me, I'd be happy to test it out. Thanks!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,151
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    You have an index.php file in the root of your site. Add the line
    Code:
    die("PHP VERSION IS " . PHP_VERSION_ID);
    around line 24 before the require.

    When you enter the URL for your site, it will tell you the current PHP version you are running. Delete the line when through.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    Wisconsin
    Posts
    134
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    It says "PHP VERSION IS 50445." However, my hosting company (GoDaddy) states I have Version 7.3.6. I can see it in my account.

    The last ZenCart I installed on that hosting account without issue was Version 1.5.5.

    So, can I delete the 3-line PHP check in index.php (which I will have to try to find) or do I need to contact my host?

    Thanks for all your help.
    Last edited by CookieMonster; 1 Aug 2020 at 06:40 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,690
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    Quote Originally Posted by CookieMonster View Post
    It says "PHP VERSION IS 50445." However, my hosting company (GoDaddy) states I have Version 7.3.6. I can see it in my account.

    The last ZenCart I installed on that hosting account without issue was Version 1.5.5.

    So, can I delete the 3-line PHP check in index.php (which I will have to try to find) or do I need to contact my host?

    Thanks for all your help.
    i would contact your host.

    i would believe that you are running php5 not 7.3.6. the server reporting it is more accurate that what your host might tell you or anything listed in your cpanel.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Vic, Oz
    Posts
    1,905
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    Could you have a directive in your .htaccess file to load the lower php version?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,695
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    If you go to the Version link in your admin, you will see the PHP version Zen Cart (at least the admin) is using - see

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/admin...s/server_info/

    (It's item (a) in on the diagram.)
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Location
    Vic, Oz
    Posts
    1,905
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    Quote Originally Posted by swguy View Post
    If you go to the Version link in your admin, you will see the PHP version Zen Cart (at least the admin) is using - see

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/admin...s/server_info/

    (It's item (a) in on the diagram.)
    I don't believe he can do that (yet) as he hasn't got it installed

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,695
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: New Install Says "Sorry, requires minimum PHP 5.5" but version is 7.3.6

    I was thinking he could go to one of the other installations he has on the same server (if I understood his situation from post #1).
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v151 New usps module says "ERROR missing saveusps.php"
    By linniedarling in forum Addon Shipping Modules
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 23 Mar 2014, 02:33 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16 Oct 2011, 11:27 PM
  3. New Install Zen Cart 1.3.8a " Done but with errors on page" ?
    By Straight Razor in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 24 Feb 2010, 10:44 PM
  4. Check out says "Sorry We are not accepting payments from your region at this time" !?
    By rcmonster in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27 Nov 2008, 06:15 PM
  5. Inside the "Categories" box it says "New Products" and "All Products"...
    By john9 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25 Feb 2007, 07:55 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR