Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default HTML coding appearing on page

    Am having HTML coding appear on the bottom right hand corner of my store page instead of social media buttons.

    giftideasonline.co.uk

    Name:  GIOError.jpg
Views: 200
Size:  33.2 KB

    Have tried to find a solution to this here previously but have never been able to find the name of the file that needs changed.

    Can someone please explain in simple steps how to correct this.

    Very many thanks in advance.
    Last edited by irishshoppercom; 9 Jan 2021 at 03:00 PM. Reason: error

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,495
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Those are 'flexible footer' configuration settings that have been run through the admin sanitizer, changing all < to &lt; and > to &gt;.

    You'll need to use your site's phpMyAdmin to change those back, i.e. changing all &lt; instances back to < and &gt; instances to >.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Thank you for the ultra fast reply.

    I have come across this problem many times before in other files and correctly easily but in this case I cannot find the actual file I need to open and correct. I have used Developer Tools to try and search for some of those HTML lines but it does not through up them listed in any files. If I knew the file or files I have to edit have no problem fixing them.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,495
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Quote Originally Posted by irishshoppercom View Post
    Thank you for the ultra fast reply.

    I have come across this problem many times before in other files and correctly easily but in this case I cannot find the actual file I need to open and correct. I have used Developer Tools to try and search for some of those HTML lines but it does not through up them listed in any files. If I knew the file or files I have to edit have no problem fixing them.
    Look in your site's /includes/modules/westminster_new/flexible_footer_menu.php. On/around line 31, you'll see
    Code:
          $page_query_list_footer[$rows]['text'] = $page_query->fields['col_html_text'];
    Change that line, adding the highlighted 'bits':
    Code:
          $page_query_list_footer[$rows]['text'] = str_replace(array('&lt;', '&gt;'), array('<', '>'), $page_query->fields['col_html_text']);
    Don't forget that trailing )!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Fantastic. THANK YOU. I made the change and it got rid of the HMTM code OK but rather than have blue boxes with social media icons there are now just plain blue boxes which are clickable as they should be.

    What I am after is shown with our other store www.irishshopper.com.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,152
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    You'll need to change
    Code:
    $page_query_list_footer[$rows]['text'] = str_replace(array('&lt;', '&gt;'), array('<', '>'), $page_query->fields['col_html_text']);
    to add &quot; changing to "
    Code:
    $page_query_list_footer[$rows]['text'] = str_replace(array('&lt;', '&gt;', '&quot;'), array('<', '>', '"'), $page_query->fields['col_html_text']);
    NOTE that the ,'"' is a comma, a single quote, a double quote, and a single quote.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,734
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Quote Originally Posted by irishshoppercom View Post
    Fantastic. THANK YOU. I made the change and it got rid of the HMTM code OK but rather than have blue boxes with social media icons there are now just plain blue boxes which are clickable as they should be.

    What I am after is shown with our other store www.irishshopper.com.
    There are possibly either some negative effects or uncorrected items by the change that was made in the files. As lat9 indicated and to again state, the "real" issue is the data that has been stored in the database which is then to be displayed by the above code.

    Correct the data and then the file change(s) are not needed... there may be a separate code change needed to prevent it from happening again though...
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,699
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    IIRC, this is still a bug in Flexible Footer.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,495
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Quote Originally Posted by swguy View Post
    IIRC, this is still a bug in Flexible Footer.
    A bug, I suppose, in the sense that the Flexible Footer Menu doesn't provide an admin-sanitizer override so that those 'htmlspecialchars' don't continually get converted to their HTML entities.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    19
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: HTML coding appearing on page

    Have now got the Social Media icons appearing on the blur squares OK so many thanks for that.

    One last problem is the links on all these are the default links but I just cannot find the file to change them.

    They are working properly from the small Social Media links at the top of each page OK.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 coding appearing in Advanced Search Box
    By irishshopper in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9 Sep 2014, 11:13 PM
  2. HTML Coding
    By annettes in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2011, 12:33 AM
  3. HTML coding not working
    By irishshopper in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2010, 01:14 AM
  4. HTML coding in the database
    By MachaNeko in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 27 May 2008, 07:50 PM
  5. my main page index.html appearing above the categories!!! please help
    By ztotheetothen in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22 Jan 2008, 09:51 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR