Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    eglisau switzerland
    Posts
    531
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default 157b, problem adding new attribute to existing list for a product

    157b, responsive classic,

    I have existing products with lists of option values under option names.
    When I try to add a new value to an existing option name it does not show up in the list in the attribute controller. If I try to add it a second time I get the message "duplicate attribute".

    If I go and look at the actual product then I can see and select the new option value for my cart.

    If I go back to my attribute controller the new value does not show up.

    I have display logs switched on but no error logs.

    When I set up a new product then the new option names and values show up as expected in my attribute controller.

    It is a nuisance because in the course of testing I added a couple of nonexistent values to a product that I cannot delete because they do not show up in the controller.

    Any clues where to look would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    15,913
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: 157b, problem adding new attribute to existing list for a product

    What's the history of this cart? (Really would help to flush out some more of the posting tips.)
    Do you have access to phpMyAdmin?

    It sounds like there is an issue with the database where the catalog side "search" of information is working as necessary, but the admin side is skipping/missing something that exists in the database. The "why" or "how" it is missing and what specifically is missing is what needs to be discovered.

    So were there plugins involved to make this happen?

    When was it last ok?

    What changed and how?
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    eglisau switzerland
    Posts
    531
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: 157b, problem adding new attribute to existing list for a product

    Thanks for your quick reply.

    The attribute controller.php is @version $Id: DrByte 2020 Sep 19 Modified in v1.5.7a $. It is native, I mean no changes or additions.

    This is a new 157b installation on 1.1.2021, before I was using 155f
    I do have access to PHPMyAdmin.

    As mentioned I can create a new product with attributes OK.
    My problem is adding to the option values for an existing product, delete works as expected.

    When I look at the product in my storefront then the new attributes are there in all cases.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    8,012
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: 157b, problem adding new attribute to existing list for a product

    What you are probably not seeing is that you have filled your allotment for the amount of items on a page and the system has moved your new item to page 2. Thus, the "I can't see" and the "duplicate" warning when you enter another one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Location
    eglisau switzerland
    Posts
    531
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: 157b, problem adding new attribute to existing list for a product

    Quote Originally Posted by dbltoe View Post
    What you are probably not seeing is that you have filled your allotment for the amount of items on a page and the system has moved your new item to page 2. Thus, the "I can't see" and the "duplicate" warning when you enter another one.
    Thanks, you are correct.
    Now I look more closely there is a message on the page "Displaying 1 to 20 (of 25 attributes)".
    And there is a command to move to the second page, silly me!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    8,012
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: 157b, problem adding new attribute to existing list for a product

    Hey, how do you think I knew?

    If you learn from experience, I should have several PhD's!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v139d Existing images/download files not found when adding a new product
    By Opendoorway in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29 Jun 2012, 09:41 PM
  2. Problem adding text field attribute for product.
    By bluesky1992 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4 Nov 2011, 10:36 PM
  3. Adding Attribute to product Problem after upgrade
    By Darkmuncan in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19 Nov 2007, 05:30 PM
  4. Adding New Attributes to an existing list
    By jspeer in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4 Oct 2007, 03:22 AM
  5. Adding new product information (to: Product Details List)
    By swortis in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4 Apr 2007, 08:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR