Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Suffolk VA
    Posts
    590
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Product Quantity field

    Is there a difference in how 1.57c handles the product quantity field in the product listing? I have this set to zero in our 1.55a store, so the product quantity will not show in the listing. We don't keep huge quantities on hand and I don't necessarily want our customers to know how many we have. Setting that field to zero prevents the product quantity from being displayed, but it's not working that way with the test installation of 1.57c. It doesn't matter what I put in that field, the product quantity still shows up.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,472
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    Are you referring to the setting Show Quantity in Stock that's changeable when editing the layout settings for a product type (Categories/Products :: Product Types)?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,671
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    There are also listing page flags for product quantity display:

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/templ...configuration/

    you'll want to be sure all of these are zero too.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Suffolk VA
    Posts
    590
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    Quote Originally Posted by lat9 View Post
    Are you referring to the setting Show Quantity in Stock that's changeable when editing the layout settings for a product type (Categories/Products :: Product Types)?
    Layout settings under Configuration is where I was looking for that. But my brain must not be in gear today because I don't see anything in Product Types that would allow me to turn that feature off. All my product types are Product - General, and that category's edit options don't include any way to turn off showing the quantity in stock.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    1,238
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    Quote Originally Posted by HeleneWallis View Post
    Layout settings under Configuration is where I was looking for that. But my brain must not be in gear today because I don't see anything in Product Types that would allow me to turn that feature off. All my product types are Product - General, and that category's edit options don't include any way to turn off showing the quantity in stock.
    I think you'll find it in:

    Admin > Catalog > Product Types, click the 'Layout Settings' button for the product type i.e.

    Name:  Screenshot 2021-06-15 182606.jpg
Views: 199
Size:  15.2 KB
    Simon

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,671
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    These pages might help too:

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/admin...product_types/

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/admin...s_edit_layout/

    Many people never click in this area so it's unfamiliar.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,671
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    One other common problem: some lazy template developers don't use the flags Zen Cart provides; they just display whatever they think most people want. So be sure that in

    includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/templates/tpl_product_info_display.php

    there is some code that checks the variable $flag_show_product_info_quantity, like say

    <?php echo (($flag_show_product_info_quantity == 1) ? '<li class="list-group-item">' . $products_quantity . TEXT_PRODUCT_QUANTITY . '</li>' : '') . "\n"; ?>

    if the template just does <?php echo $products_quantity . TEXT_PRODUCT_QUANTITY; ?> or something like that, you'll need to delete this line.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Suffolk VA
    Posts
    590
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    Quote Originally Posted by simon1066 View Post
    I think you'll find it in:

    Admin > Catalog > Product Types, click the 'Layout Settings' button for the product type i.e.

    Name:  Screenshot 2021-06-15 182606.jpg
Views: 199
Size:  15.2 KB
    Thank you so very much. My eye apparently focused on the big Edit button and never saw the less prominent Layout Settings. I do remember having a hard time finding this when I set up the current store five years ago. But I had all the time in the world to work on it then, and this time I'm working under a deadline. I appreciate the help!

    EDIT-- looking back at the current store, I see the buttons are both the same format, and instead of 'Layout Settings,' the older version says 'Edit Layout.' That makes it a lot more obvious that there are two buttons and that one of them is meant for editing the layout. Of course, my level of fatigue isn't helping either, but I do think the older version was more intuitive.
    Last edited by HeleneWallis; 15 Jun 2021 at 08:59 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Suffolk VA
    Posts
    590
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Product Quantity field

    Quote Originally Posted by swguy View Post
    One other common problem: some lazy template developers don't use the flags Zen Cart provides; they just display whatever they think most people want. So be sure that in

    includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/templates/tpl_product_info_display.php

    there is some code that checks the variable $flag_show_product_info_quantity, like say

    <?php echo (($flag_show_product_info_quantity == 1) ? '<li class="list-group-item">' . $products_quantity . TEXT_PRODUCT_QUANTITY . '</li>' : '') . "\n"; ?>

    if the template just does <?php echo $products_quantity . TEXT_PRODUCT_QUANTITY; ?> or something like that, you'll need to delete this line.
    Thanks, I will check for that as well.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v139h Altering Quantity field from text input to dropdown on a per-product basis?
    By jgold723 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 31 Aug 2012, 08:06 AM
  2. Can I turn off Quantity Box and Qty field in subcategory page (all product listing)?
    By bigstore in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 5 Mar 2012, 10:28 PM
  3. check box instead of quantity field for product listing
    By wheelock in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8 Apr 2011, 08:01 PM
  4. Adding another product field below products quantity and products Model
    By guitardave in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22 Jan 2009, 08:30 PM
  5. Remove quantity add field from product info page
    By coolglobal in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 19 Feb 2008, 01:48 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR