Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    hi, i am using this "mod" called specialsbycategorys. it's an old oscommerce plugin i have used over the years and updated over the years. so what it does is allows you to drop down a category within a mfg or you can type the entire part numbers for a mfg and update all the pricing in one screen and also update pricing with discount pricing. this saves time from having to go through each part number through the products page esp when you have over 500 part numbers with pricing.

    here is the problem, when you get to maybe the 160th part number to update pricing, after that, if you enter a new price, it does not update, the old price stays the same. yes you can go to that particular part number through products and update the pricing.

    so is this a memory limit issue? i would think it's not. fyi, i just upgraded to 1.57c and it worked in 1.55d. the coding for this file was updated so it would work for my current php and mysql. php is 7.0.33. memory limit is 128M, max exec time is 30, max imput time is 60, post max size is 128M, upload max size is 128M. mysql is 5.1.73.

    tia
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sbc1.jpg 
Views:	53 
Size:	13.3 KB 
ID:	19665   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	sbc2.jpg 
Views:	54 
Size:	49.0 KB 
ID:	19666  

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    1,541
    Plugin Contributions
    19

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    Judging by the screenshot, I believe it's the same issue as here, and you'll probably just need to change your max_input_vars in your php.ini file.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    Quote Originally Posted by balihr View Post
    Judging by the screenshot, I believe it's the same issue as here, and you'll probably just need to change your max_input_vars in your php.ini file.
    thank you, i looked and i am dumb. i use plesk, the setting is not there, so i am assuming i have to sftp which i do have the software for. do you know which directory it would be under? also the max input var is set at 1000 according to zen cart admin server info

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    Ok i have several sites on my server, so i found the specific php,ini for this particular website under /var/www/vhosts/system/website name/etc/php.ini

    BUT it does not have max_input_vars in there. would i have to add it, if so how? or do i need to go deeper to the root directorys and find a "master" php.ini? thanks for your help

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    1,541
    Plugin Contributions
    19

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    Quote Originally Posted by travbacon View Post
    do you know which directory it would be under? also the max input var is set at 1000 according to zen cart admin server info
    Yes, it's probably 1000, but I can see you have 3 input fields per row, one is definitely hidden (products_id) and who knows what else you're submitting, so yeah, it's super easy to reach 1000.

    You can try adding a php.ini file to your admin directory - it's basically a txt file. So, create a new txt file, rename it to php.ini (just change the extension), and put a line like
    Code:
    max_input_vars = 10000
    Then check your admin->Tools->Server/Version Info for the admin value of max_input_vars (to make sure it's being picked up) and then try again.

    IIRC, you can add custom php settings through Plesk, but that will apply to the domain, not just admin. I think it's better to have this php.ini file in your admin directory, instead of setting a new global value.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    Thanks just to clarify, each website domain has their own php.ini. So can I edit the current php.ini file and add max_input_vars and it will overwrite the global value set overall for the host server?

    again thank you so much for you help

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    also if so would max_input_vars=xxxxx be the correct syntax?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    i set it at 2000, it worked but further down, prices would not update, 10000, helped a little and could update further down, so instead of testing back and forth, i set it a 1,000,000 and works for what i need.

    so would this affect anything on the zc site, like make things work weird?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,364
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    Quote Originally Posted by travbacon View Post
    so would this affect anything on the zc site, like make things work weird?
    No, it won't affect things visually.

    It just increases the amount of RAM that PHP must allocate (an CPU cycles to do so) in order to handle the number of possible input values that could be sent by ANY page on your site. In practice the impact is probably minimal, causing just minor delay on most pages, and slightly longer delay on pages where you're actually submitting that many values.

    You might want to experiment a little further to reduce it down a bit.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: prices wont update after a certain line number with script i am running

    i am willing to send this file to the zc crew to review and make necessary adjustments and upload it as a free plugin. this script is soooooo friggin helpful and saves so much time.

 

 
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v155 All prices showing zero after update
    By Deno in forum General Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 30 Oct 2016, 09:24 AM
  2. v1371 prices are not showing after php update
    By kory007 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10 Sep 2012, 09:31 PM
  3. Can I apply a discount after a certain number of products are purchased?
    By bparker in forum Discounts/Coupons, Gift Certificates, Newsletters, Ads
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8 Aug 2011, 10:59 AM
  4. eCheck - can I update order with a php script?
    By HappyMom in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3 Oct 2010, 04:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR