Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Eustis, Florida, USA, EARTH
    Posts
    787
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default dbase 1.5.6 v. 1.5.7

    Can I use the same dbase from my v 1.5.6 when I upgrade?
    ZC v1.5.7 "I was so much older then...I'm younger than that now" Cut the umbilical cord with webhosts after 20 years. FREEDOM!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    7,994
    Plugin Contributions
    109

    Default Re: dbase 1.5.6 v. 1.5.7

    You have to upgrade your database too using the zc_install process. At a minimum you'll need to do this (assuming you are not carrying forward any customizations):

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/upgra..._only_upgrade/
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Eustis, Florida, USA, EARTH
    Posts
    787
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: dbase 1.5.6 v. 1.5.7

    Quote Originally Posted by swguy View Post
    You have to upgrade your database too using the zc_install process. At a minimum you'll need to do this (assuming you are not carrying forward any customizations):

    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/upgra..._only_upgrade/
    Not all upgrades require dbase upgrades. I dont remember the rules with the numbers first.second.third.alpha One of the columns indicates mandatory database change.
    ZC v1.5.7 "I was so much older then...I'm younger than that now" Cut the umbilical cord with webhosts after 20 years. FREEDOM!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,047
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: dbase 1.5.6 v. 1.5.7

    Quote Originally Posted by pixelpadre View Post
    Not all upgrades require dbase upgrades. I dont remember the rules with the numbers first.second.third.alpha One of the columns indicates mandatory database change.
    A change to any of the first three sequence of numbers (not letters) for the core Zen Cart software has appeared to mean a change to the database has been made and needs to be upgraded. That is represented by the letters x through z in the following example where 'w' may be a sub-version and incrementing through the sub-version(s) does not require a database upgrade: xxxx.yyyy.zzw

    Note, that one should not expect that the older versioned software be able to correctly work with an upgraded database. (e.g. The ZC 1.5.6 software may not play well with the 1.5.7 database). There will be those that will say that they didn't have a problem or didn't notice any issues, but... there's a lot of ifs and maybes associated with that...
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Eustis, Florida, USA, EARTH
    Posts
    787
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: dbase 1.5.6 v. 1.5.7

    Ok thats what I was looking for.
    ZC v1.5.7 "I was so much older then...I'm younger than that now" Cut the umbilical cord with webhosts after 20 years. FREEDOM!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    7,994
    Plugin Contributions
    109

    Default Re: dbase 1.5.6 v. 1.5.7

    Quote Originally Posted by pixelpadre View Post
    Not all upgrades require dbase upgrades.
    You asked about 1.5.6 -> 1.5.7. If the *numbers* (not letters but numbers) are different, you should run zc_install.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Dbase upgrade from 1.3.7 to 1.3.9b
    By sgflowers in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13 Feb 2011, 10:06 AM
  2. Many shops and one dbase
    By colos in forum General Questions
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17 Dec 2006, 02:02 AM
  3. Oddness. Asking for dbase patch on fresh install???
    By chillster01 in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 11 Dec 2006, 06:58 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR