Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 21
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Now apache service is unavailable, localhost does not display.
    Code:
    Code:
    root@crosshair:~# systemctl status apache2.service 
     apache2.service - The Apache HTTP Server 
         Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/apache2.service; enabled; vendor preset: enabled) 
         Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Mon 2022-08-15 08:53:48 EDT; 51s ago 
           Docs: https://httpd.apache.org/docs/2.4/ 
        Process: 3001 ExecStart=/usr/sbin/apachectl start (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
            CPU: 20ms 
    
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]: Starting The Apache HTTP Server... 
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair apachectl[3004]: AH00526: Syntax error on line 13 of /etc/apache2/sites-enabled/Zentest.com.conf: 
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair apachectl[3004]: Invalid command 'SeverAlias', perhaps misspelled or defined by a module not included in the[##############################]>[/COLOR]
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair apachectl[3001]: Action 'start' failed. 
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair apachectl[3001]: The Apache error log may have more information. 
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]: apache2.service: Control process exited, 
    code=exited, status=1/FAILURE Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]: apache2.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'. Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]: Failed to start The Apache HTTP Server.


    Typo in ServerAlias, fat fingers.
    Still apacheservice does not restart.

    Code:
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]:
    Code:
    apache2.service: Control process exited, code=exited, status=1/FAILURE
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]: apache2.service: Failed with result 'exit-code'.
    Aug 15 08:53:48 crosshair systemd[1]: Failed to start The Apache HTTP Server.
    Last edited by ckosloff; 15 Aug 2022 at 02:05 PM. Reason: mess up

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by carlwhat View Post
    when you say it is not working, i'm really not sure what you mean.

    you said that you were getting a droplet from digital ocean. did you get that? is that the server where these configuration files are?

    if i were to ping zentest.com, the response back is from something called hover:

    P

    i do not think hover is part of your setup.... unless i am missing something.

    apache may be running and it may serve up the correct web pages, but is anything getting routed to your droplet?

    is there anything in:

    /var/log/apache2/access.log
    or
    /var/log/apache2/error.log

    sysadmin takes a little bit of work.

    best.
    I mean that I am unable to start service, localhost does not display.
    Digital Ocean is a project, nothing there yet.
    Hover is a canned response from google, you will see it if you type in browser Zentest.com.
    I already corrected typo in sites-enabled, still apache does not restart.
    I tried re-installing, no luck.
    Next step is brute force: purge apache2 and reinstall fresh, something tells me that solution is simpler than that, can it be that a stupid typo messes up things so badly?
    Cannot access /var/log/apache2 with GUI.
    How see it on command line?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,688
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    there is no point in looking at the logs if the apache service has not started.

    i would keep the server name and server alias all in lower case.

    looking at logs? one could use less or tail.

    one might need to sudo if one's user is not in right groups.

    sudo less /var/log/apache2/access.log

    or

    sudo tail -f /var/log/apache2/access.log

    a more detailed discussion of configuring user and groups is available by searching on-line.

    i would also look at hardening your server. i like these guys here:

    https://www.cyberciti.biz/tips/linux-security.html

    best.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,688
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    i would not re-install.

    solve problems. move forward.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    SUCCESS!! Localhost is back in all its shining glory.
    Problem was in /etc/apache2/apache2.conf
    Another typo when trying to correct the alert about "fully qualified domain name".
    I typed Server Name instead of ServerName, duhhhh

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Now I need help editing /etc/hosts.
    This is what I have:
    Code:
    127.0.0.1localhost 
    127.0.1.1crosshair 
    
    # The following lines are desirable for IPv6 capable hosts
    ::1     localhost ip6-localhost ip6-loopback 
    ff02::1 ip6-allnodes 
    ff02::2 ip6-allrouters
    Where does Zentest.com go?
    crosshair is the name of my computer.
    Last edited by ckosloff; 15 Aug 2022 at 10:53 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Code:
    root@crosshair:/etc/apache2/sites-available# ls -al 
    total 24 
    drwxr-xr-x 2 root     root     4096 Aug 15 23:10 . 
    drwxr-xr-x 8 root     root     4096 Aug 15 17:26 .. 
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root     root     1332 Aug  8  2020 000-default.conf 
    -rw-r--r-- 1 root     root     6338 Aug  8  2020 default-ssl.conf 
    -rw-r--r-- 1 ckosloff www-data 1411 Aug 15 23:14 zentest.com.conf 
    root@crosshair:/etc/apache2/sites-available# a2ensite zentest.com 
    Enabling site zentest.com. 
    To activate the new configuration, you need to run: 
      systemctl reload apache2 
    root@crosshair:/etc/apache2/sites-available# systemctl reload apache2 
    root@crosshair:/etc/apache2/sites-available# apache2ctl configtest 
    Syntax OK
    SUCCESS!! Everything is in lower case now.
    Only thing missing is to edit /etc/hosts/
    I think that I should add a newline under the hosts like this:
    127.0.0.1 zentest.com.
    Will test that tomorrow.
    It's late and I am already drunk.
    Last edited by ckosloff; 16 Aug 2022 at 04:28 AM. Reason: success

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by ckosloff View Post
    Code:
    ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost 
            ServerName Zentest.com 
            SeverAlias www.Zentest.com 
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html/Zentest.com


    configtest reports that line with ServerAlias is incorrect, maybe because of the uppercase?
    WIll check logs.
    Probably, that has already been fixed and I got "Syntax OK", there was also a typo in there: Sever instead of Server.
    Anyway I am going to add line to /etc/hosts and see if it works.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,688
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by ckosloff View Post
    Probably, that has already been fixed and I got "Syntax OK", there was also a typo in there: Sever instead of Server.
    Anyway I am going to add line to /etc/hosts and see if it works.
    lowercase is for zentest.com and www.zentest.com

    apache config are case sensitive, ie:

    ServerAlias

    having a spelling error, ie:

    SeverAlias

    is a problem and would need to be fixed.

    this is also case sensitive:

    DocumentRoot /var/www/html/Zentest.com

    that directory must exist and with that same capitalization.
    author of square Webpay.
    mxWorks has premium plugins. donations: venmo or paypal accepted.
    premium consistent excellent support. available for hire.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    South Florida, USA
    Posts
    1,372
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Help setting up virtual hosts

    Quote Originally Posted by ckosloff View Post
    Code:
    ServerAdmin webmaster@localhost 
            ServerName Zentest.com 
            SeverAlias www.Zentest.com 
    DocumentRoot /var/www/html/Zentest.com


    configtest reports that line with ServerAlias is incorrect, maybe because of the uppercase?
    WIll check logs.

    Uppercase is not the problem, problem is typo SeverAlias instead of ServerAlias

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Canada Post - problem with mixed virtual and non-virtual products?
    By Franck69 in forum Addon Shipping Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27 Jul 2008, 10:31 PM
  2. No Shipping Option When Combo of Virtual and Non-Virtual Products
    By lakewebworks in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12 Nov 2007, 06:03 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR