Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    West Jefferson, NC
    Posts
    383
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default [Not a bug] Bug and error when adding music type product

    Using a fresh install of a cloned bootstrap on 1.5.8, php 8.0, with newest xampp and current version of windows 10...Firefox browser.

    I am in the process of integrating my 1.5.7d into 1.5.8 and ran into two problems when adding the initial music type product in 1.5.8. My category structure is Music>Artist>Product.

    1. There is not enough spaces allocated for the artists website input box on the admin product page...it stops taking input after 8 keystrokes.

    2. Error log. Recording artists do not have a manufacturers but they do have a recording company.

    --> PHP Warning: Undefined array key "manufacturers_id" in C:\xampp\htdocs\MY_WEBSITE\MY_ADMIN\includes\modules\update_product.php on line 44.

    Not sure if the two are related...

    The problem persists when I change to Classic Green Template.

    I have integrated admin changes but not many catalog changes because the bootstrap appears to be as good or better than the mods I have made over the years. Great job on that!

    The admin changes I have implemented only deal with using cloud based images in admin and shouldn't cause the two problems I am reporting here. The changes simply strip the local image directory out of the link and the init_includes has a couple of things commented out to allow http images.

    If I find the cause or fix for these two issue, I will post them here.

    I hope this is not a duplicate. I did a search for "music type product" and came up empty.
    Last edited by mikeel100; 14 Nov 2022 at 05:19 PM. Reason: Clarification

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    West Jefferson, NC
    Posts
    383
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    It is not just happening on the admin music type product page...product free shipping is also affected.

    Recommend all product types be looked at.

    And to clarify...this is the input box with the problem:

    HTML Code:
    Products URL:(without http://)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    West Jefferson, NC
    Posts
    383
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    All product types except Product General are affected.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    9,684
    Plugin Contributions
    123

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    > 1. There is not enough spaces allocated for the artists website input box on the admin product page...it stops taking input after 8 keystrokes.

    Could not reproduce.

    > 2. Error log. Recording artists do not have a manufacturers but they do have a recording company.

    You are somehow setting products_type to 1 and music products should be products_type 2.

    Perhaps you did a restrict product type (or similar) by accident?
    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/produ...type_restrict/
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    West Jefferson, NC
    Posts
    383
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    Quote Originally Posted by swguy View Post
    > 1. There is not enough spaces allocated for the artists website input box on the admin product page...it stops taking input after 8 keystrokes.

    Could not reproduce.

    > 2. Error log. Recording artists do not have a manufacturers but they do have a recording company.

    You are somehow setting products_type to 1 and music products should be products_type 2.

    Perhaps you did a restrict product type (or similar) by accident?
    https://docs.zen-cart.com/user/produ...type_restrict/
    The restriction was not accidental. I created Music with subcategories and restricted it to Music Type intentionally because that is all I want in the subfolders.

    I just tested creating a category without the restrictions and I still have the same problem...except now Product General is not letting me type in the Products URL.

    So all product types are not letting me manually input the Products URL.

    All of my other products are loaded to the database with the plugin I have been working on for years. They show up fine on the product page.

    I just can't manually type the URL...I smell a stinking sanitization problem. LOL

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,477
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    FWIW, I just applied a products URL to a copy of the demo music product. Was the site in question an upgrade or a fresh install? The handling of the product_music type products changed in zc158 to make use of the base product update/delete type methods where possible and you might have left-overs if you didn't remove now unused files during an upgrade.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    West Jefferson, NC
    Posts
    383
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    The system timed me out and cut off my reply so here it all is again.

    Page Source is showing the maxlenth as 8...

    HTML Code:
      <div class="form-group">
        <p class="col-sm-3 control-label">Products URL:<span class="help-block"><small>(without http://)</small></span></p>
        <div class="col-sm-9 col-md-6">
                    <div class="input-group">
              <span class="input-group-addon">
                  <img src="https://localhost/zc_158_bs/includes/languages/english/images/icon.gif" alt="English" title="English">          </span>
              <input type="text" name="products_url[1]" size="9" [B]maxlength="8" [/B]class="form-control" inputmode="url">
            </div>
            <br>
                </div>
      </div>
    The developers tool kit turns up nothing when searching for maxlength="8" so I assume "8" is set by some other method, variable, function or constant.

    It looks like collect_info.php calls on function zen_set_field_length (admin/includes/general.php) which in turn calls on function zen_field_length (includes/functions_general_shared.php) which in turn calls on $rs = $db->MetaColumns($tbl); (includes/classes/db/mysql/query_factory.php) and it polls the information schema for the number. 65535 is the maximum size since it is text.

    That is as far as I can get in tracing down the problem...where and what is changing 65535 to 8?

    I would like to know how the field maxlength is being set and if this is a bug or not. It is a bug to me because I can not manually type the products url in the admin product page.

    Thanks.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    West Jefferson, NC
    Posts
    383
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    Quote Originally Posted by lat9 View Post
    FWIW, I just applied a products URL to a copy of the demo music product. Was the site in question an upgrade or a fresh install? The handling of the product_music type products changed in zc158 to make use of the base product update/delete type methods where possible and you might have left-overs if you didn't remove now unused files during an upgrade.
    It is a fresh install on Windows 10 and using XAMPP using a cloned copy of the bootstrap plugin...but the problem remains no matter which template I use.

    There are so many changes to 1.5.8 that I decided to just go with a fresh install and redo all of my mods.
    Last edited by mikeel100; 16 Nov 2022 at 10:18 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Stuart, FL
    Posts
    12,477
    Plugin Contributions
    88

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    Hmm, that's bizarre. Let me poke around a bit and see if I can come up with anything in the morning.

    Update: Just saw your previous post. When you view the products_description table, via phpMyAdmin, what's the configuration for the products_url field?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,732
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Bug and error when adding music type product

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeel100 View Post
    It is a fresh install on Windows 10 and using XAMPP using a cloned copy of the bootstrap plugin...but the problem remains no matter which template I use.

    There are so many changes to 1.5.8 that I decided to just go with a fresh install and redo all of my mods.
    What about the database? Is it a blank or demo database?

    As described, the issue is that you are getting to line 995 from the following:
    https://github.com/zencart/zencart/b....php#L967-L997
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

 

 
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v156 not sure - maybe bug? comes when adding specials to the products
    By Doomm in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28 Dec 2019, 07:23 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 15 Sep 2011, 07:31 PM
  3. [Not a Bug] EZ-Page Links IE bug when first clicking
    By NamSingh in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 25 Dec 2006, 03:40 PM
  4. [Not a bug] Missing product type constants
    By langer in forum Bug Reports
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7 Dec 2006, 10:34 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR