Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    403
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag footer menu problem

    My zencart is 1.5.8. I installed a plug-in named "footer menu". But the page titles are messed up. my site is best4future.com

    Quick Links
    Home
    TABLE_HEADING_FEATURED_PRODUCTS
    BOX_HEADING_SPECIALS
    BOX_HEADING_WHATS_NEW
    CATEGORIES_BOX_HEADING_PRODUCTS_ALL
    Information
    BOX_INFORMATION_ABOUT_US
    BOX_INFORMATION_SHIPPING
    BOX_INFORMATION_PRIVACY
    BOX_INFORMATION_CONDITIONS
    BOX_INFORMATION_SITE_MAP

    I tried many time to fix it but failed. Could you please help me out? Thanks!!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    10,251
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: footer menu problem

    ZC 1.5.8 is a major re-write, and there are quite a few bugs and inconsistencies. You may be better off installing 1.5.7d .
    HOWEVER
    The errors you are referencing are most likely associated with LANGUAGE DEFINES. The code format for configuring the variables (the text displayed against the constants - eg: TABLE_HEADING_FEATURED_PRODUCTS), is not being accessed by the page code, so it is returning the constant, not the variable.
    The problem is that "footer menu" module, of which the LANGUAGE file is not formatted to 1.5.8 standard.
    It can be edited by a "reasonably confident novice" - by looking at other 1.5.8 LANGUAGE define files, and re-writing the code elements to match the format of the new language define php format.
    The NAME of the files should follow this convention, for example - " lang.english.php "
    NOTE: it might be necessary to ALSO edit other files, so that the new language PHP file is correctly referenced throughout the module.
    Last edited by schoolboy; 20 Nov 2022 at 05:08 PM.
    18 years a Zencart User

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cumbria, UK
    Posts
    10,251
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: footer menu problem

    I notice there are several "footer menu" plugins - and none of them will be compatible with 1.5.8
    18 years a Zencart User

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    403
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: footer menu problem

    Thank you so much for the tips! I think it is better not to use this plug-in, since there are many files need to be rewritten.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    los angeles
    Posts
    2,426
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: footer menu problem

    Quote Originally Posted by schoolboy View Post
    ZC 1.5.8 is a major re-write, and there are quite a few bugs and inconsistencies. You may be better off installing 1.5.7d .
    HOWEVER
    The errors you are referencing are most likely associated with LANGUAGE DEFINES. The code format for configuring the variables (the text displayed against the constants - eg: TABLE_HEADING_FEATURED_PRODUCTS), is not being accessed by the page code, so it is returning the constant, not the variable.
    The problem is that "footer menu" module, of which the LANGUAGE file is not formatted to 1.5.8 standard.
    It can be edited by a "reasonably confident novice" - by looking at other 1.5.8 LANGUAGE define files, and re-writing the code elements to match the format of the new language define php format.
    The NAME of the files should follow this convention, for example - " lang.english.php "
    NOTE: it might be necessary to ALSO edit other files, so that the new language PHP file is correctly referenced throughout the module.
    i do not think this is correct.

    my understanding is that language files written for v157 will still work fine in v158. provided they get loaded.

    perhaps @swguy can clarify.
    mxWorks now has premium plugins
    are you using square? have you shown any appreciation with cake on venmo or on paypal?
    called the savior by the chief bottle washer...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    8,957
    Plugin Contributions
    309

    Default Re: footer menu problem

    > ZC 1.5.8 is a major re-write, and there are quite a few bugs and inconsistencies. You may be better off installing 1.5.7d .

    LOL WUT?

    Always go with the latest. Your favorite plugin may not be ready, but you're much better off investing your time into the latest version.

    Go to the support thread for the footer plugin you want (or check all of the footer plugins and see which one is most active).
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Modifications
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v155 Footer Menu
    By pageblair in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20 Feb 2017, 11:04 PM
  2. adding links to top menu and footer menu
    By satrina in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7 Nov 2012, 10:17 PM
  3. footer menu
    By alexdog1805 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9 Mar 2011, 09:52 PM
  4. Easy way to edit header/top menu, footer menu, and sidebar menu?
    By templar2 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 30 Jun 2009, 11:14 AM
  5. Footer problem & Catagories - Tabs Menu
    By fontuna in forum Addon Templates
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 9 Aug 2006, 06:25 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR