Plugin Contributions

Default Nightmare upgrading to 1.5.8

I did finally get my site to work, but I thought I'd post to get any tips/suggestions for next time because this was soooo aggravating. I spent the entire thanksgiving weekend on this and several days the following week.
    My site https://inventorybooks.com/ was on 1.5.7 and seemed to be working fine when I decided I wanted to change my PayPal account from Payments Pro to
    Standard. When I went to the Payment Modules in setup, it only showed a couple of modules (I think it was just showing the 2 authorize.net modules). My site has been on Zen Cart for 20 years, and even though I couldn't access the payment modules, they were working.
    I decided rather than spending time figuring out what was wrong, I would just upgrade to 1.5.8 and see if the payment modules showed up there.
    I'm not saying I'm an old pro, but I have been on zen cart for 20 yrs and have done many upgrades during that time without any problems. I also have sites using Joomla and Mediawiki, so I've done this stuff before. My site was pretty basic, just using modules that came with zen cart. the only mods I had was to text and logos for emails and the site.
    My normal upgrade flow was to download all files from my site, download the upgade file. Copy the upgrade files over the existing files on my PC, make necessary changes, then upload back to my site and run zc_install. I did that, and the site wouldn' load (it opened the page pointing to errors in configure.php files). The configure.php files were fine as far as I could tell, but it kept giving me those errors.