Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lumberton, TX
    Posts
    596
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Upgrade Question

    I have a bit of an odd situation.

    I have a public sandbox ZC 2.0.1 site that is almost 100% done as a clean upgrade. To RECREATE this same site on my live site would take a very long time as I have been working on it for well over a month. We have had very little traffic since I last updated the db so I am not losing any orders IF I do what I am thinking about below.

    Backup the sandbox database...
    Backup the sandbox store contents..
    Backup the actual database...
    Backup the actual store contents...

    Drop tables out the current store db and upload the sandbox db.
    Copy the sandbox store contents into the actual store contents.
    Restore the two configure files from the actual store.

    Does this sound correct? Or am I asking for more trouble?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,264
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Upgrade Question

    If you are unable to create a site "above the root," then you need to create a folder for the new site.

    The idea is to keep the old fully functional until you prove everything is working on your host vs at home.

    MANY differences can make online a mess where it worked fine at home.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lumberton, TX
    Posts
    596
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrade Question

    Quote Originally Posted by dbltoe View Post
    If you are unable to create a site "above the root," then you need to create a folder for the new site.

    The idea is to keep the old fully functional until you prove everything is working on your host vs at home.

    MANY differences can make online a mess where it worked fine at home.
    Yes, both of these are on my host already...not local. And I am proving it there it just that it is taking way more work than I expected and I do not want to have to repeat it all.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,264
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Upgrade Question

    Your root should be the operational site that you don't touch until you are ready to go live with the upgrade.

    Tweaks are done on the test site. When you are ready to swap, there are various ways.

    One that I use is to put both sites Down for Maintenance, do a zip of both sites, delete all but the zip on the old site, copy the new zip to the old site's folder, modify both configure.php files in your upgrade to point to the current location, set Down for Maintenance as false, download the oldfiles.zip as a just in case, and then delete the oldfiles.zip from the old site.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Location
    Lumberton, TX
    Posts
    596
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Upgrade Question

    Quote Originally Posted by dbltoe View Post
    Your root should be the operational site that you don't touch until you are ready to go live with the upgrade.

    Tweaks are done on the test site. When you are ready to swap, there are various ways.

    One that I use is to put both sites Down for Maintenance, do a zip of both sites, delete all but the zip on the old site, copy the new zip to the old site's folder, modify both configure.php files in your upgrade to point to the current location, set Down for Maintenance as false, download the oldfiles.zip as a just in case, and then delete the oldfiles.zip from the old site.
    I actually did that almost to a tee. I copied over both the old and new sites to my local drive and used WinMerge to compare the applicable configure files. I did a large number of warning log files when I first logged in which scared me. But I removed them and they have not returned. Actually, I wish I would have considered zipping the site into one file for transfer but I took the long way around lol.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,264
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Upgrade Question

    Necessity is not the Mother of Invention: it's Laziness!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v158 upgrade question
    By chadlly2003 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 9 Nov 2022, 07:38 PM
  2. Upgrade question
    By mediathing in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 1 Sep 2008, 04:08 AM
  3. Upgrade question
    By Linux in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 8 May 2007, 12:45 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR