Page 31 of 32 FirstFirst ... 2129303132 LastLast
Results 301 to 310 of 318
  1. #301
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    53
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Couldn't find the edit button, but I would like to remove the question about the tax calcuation formula, I found it, and it's very straightforward. :)

  2. #302
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Quote Originally Posted by RayDube View Post
    Couldn't find the edit button, but I would like to remove the question about the tax calcuation formula, I found it, and it's very straightforward. :)
    Please point us to it.

  3. #303
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    53
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    No worries,

    includes/functions/functions_taxes.php

    Ray

  4. #304
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    67
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Quote Originally Posted by RayDube View Post
    Hello Catherine,

    Perhaps the text attachment was a little more detailed, but the notes you've copied here cause me some concern.

    First you say to comment out the if statement with regards to the tax description (After = //if ($taxDescription == $products_tax_description)...) But then ask us to edit the contents of that if statement (which we just commented out)

    I haven't reviewed any further, thought maybe I was missing something.

    Of course, I'd like to know where the formula for the tax calculation is, to see if there is a difference in that function between 1.3.9 and 1.5 to see if there the reason for the changes between the two versions, as I'm starting to think that there is where the change should be made.

    Ray
    Hi Ray,
    I am just trying to find where I got that code from on the FORUM - I used it and it worked, so I just copied it into my explanation for what I did. There is a report in Bug Issues regarding Compound Tax for version 1.5. I was viewing the thread here:
    http://www.zen-cart.com/showthread.p...t=compound+tax
    Lead•Empower•Motivate
    Catherine S.
    Go2Guru

  5. #305
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Toronto Canada
    Posts
    67
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    I also looked at this thread and think I used the file suggested in it as well.

    http://www.zen-cart.com/showthread.p...-shipping-cost
    Lead•Empower•Motivate
    Catherine S.
    Go2Guru

  6. #306
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    53
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Well, this is interesting.

    1.3.9:
    Code:
    $taxAdd = zen_calculate_tax($this->products[$index]['final_price']*$this->products[$index]['qty'], $taxRate)
                    +  zen_calculate_tax($this->products[$index]['onetime_charges'], $this->products[$index]['tax']);
    1.5
    Code:
    $taxAdd = zen_calculate_tax($this->products[$index]['final_price'], $this->products[$index]['tax']) * $this->products[$index]['qty'];
                          +  zen_round(zen_calculate_tax($this->products[$index]['onetime_charges'], $this->products[$index]['tax']), $decimals);
    Not quite sure why, but the two tax variables are different, and in 1.5 it appears that it is incorrect:
    $this->products[$index]['tax'] <> $taxRate

    Changing this does allow the tax to be calcuated correctly

    So to add to the fix suggested earlier, delete the if for the comparison of the tax description
    Code:
    //if ($taxDescription == $products_tax_description)
    //        {
    (and the closing } only, leaving the contents)

    Then change the tax variable to $TaxRate.

    I will follow up and add my comments to the other thread as well.

    Next is the description, which it seems like the correction mentioned earlier should be ok.

    Ray

  7. #307
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Brantford, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Just a note, BC switched back to the PST effective April 1, 2013

    NS HST rate is 15%

    PEI switched to HST effective April 1, 2013 tax rate is 14%

    you might want to update the setting up post at the top of this thread to reflect these changes

    I am having an issue with zones that have multiple tax rates ie: PST and GST in the same zone

    not showing any tax at all, I am Using ver 1.5.0

    Thanks
    Jim

    www.thetoychest.ca
    Warning!! Site contains adult content!

  8. #308
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    1,075
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Quote Originally Posted by TheToyChest_ca View Post
    PEI switched to HST effective April 1, 2013 tax rate is 14%
    Yeesh... I didn't know that. Crazy how a Canadian business can be entirely unaware of something like that for almost a 3rd of a year, and only find out about it because of some Internet forum post.

  9. #309
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    53
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    Things have gone a little sideways I think, and I'm hoping this thread is as active as it once was.
    I have products with taxes, and shipping with taxes. Each product/shipping item has two taxes for Québec. (5% GST / 9.975% PST)

    Product price is 200.00
    Shipping Price is 25.00

    Line one of Taxes is GST = 10.00
    Line two of Taxes is PST = 19.95
    Line three of taxes is GST+PST = 3.74

    This may be confusing for the client, heck, it was confusing for me!

    It seems that Line one and two are the taxes on the product, and line three is the combined taxes on the shipping.

    Shouldn't lines one and two be combined?

    The good news is that all the taxes are properly calculated, so at least there's that.

    Ray

  10. #310
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Kelowna, BC Canada
    Posts
    1,075
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Configuring Taxes for Canadian Sites/Zones

    So essentially you're saying everything's correct but its just not displaying exactly how YOU figure it should in YOUR situation, right?

    I personally disagree that its confusing, except perhaps to customers that don't bother to read. If it says GST and PST for the goods and then combines them for the taxes... it is clear about that. Sure, someone might wonder "hmm.. why'd they do it that way?" but that's a quandary more of a confusion.

    If you want it displayed a specific way for your site then you have the opportunity to change it as you see fit. But what you think works best for you isn't going to be universal.

 

 
Page 31 of 32 FirstFirst ... 2129303132 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Canadian Taxes Contribution
    By Qdixon in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 31 Jul 2013, 02:03 AM
  2. PST/QST For Canadian Taxes
    By MVIP in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19 Nov 2011, 02:17 AM
  3. Help with Canadian Taxes
    By mommydesigns in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 14 Oct 2008, 02:22 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR