Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 44
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    64
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    sorry, the payment module I'm implementing is called "Account Holders"

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    488
    Plugin Contributions
    3

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    The developers should add a field in the product admin that let's you hide the product...

    Like "in stock", "out of stock" and "hidden" ... let's say make the product_status in database a tinyint and set out of stock to 0, in stock to 1 and hidden 2 etc...

    I need this feature, because I'd like to have customer group specific products which I individually advertise to them...
    I sell to many car clubs around finland and don't want BMW-related stickers show to Alfa Romeo drivers ;)
    Working with Zen Cart since 2003 :: www.prr.fi
    Author of the original Finnish language pack for Zen Cart since 2004

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    24
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    I found a simple way to hide a product. This method works if you just want it hidden from your categories list. It will still appear in New Products, All Products and Search results.

    1) Make a New Category called 'Hidden' or something relevant

    2) Create your New hidden product in it

    3) Take a note of the product's ID number (at the start of the product's list entry)

    4) Turn off the Hidden category by making its status Red

    5) That turns off your product, so go back and make it's status Green

    6) Go to your live shop and click on one of your products. In its URL you'll see ID=(something). Change that ID number to your hidden product. That is the new URL to go directly to your hidden item.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    512
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    Quote Originally Posted by jammin320 View Post
    This thread is a little old, but I found it very useful. However, it seems that nobody figured out the SQL changes requiered to remove a hidden category from the All Products link and the search engine. I have done it (it seems) and here are the changes that I made. For me, the category ID that I want to hide is number 20. That number will be different for you.


    [FONT=Times New Roman]includes/modules/pages/advanced_search_result/header_php.php[/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman]Changed line 249 from:[/FONT]


    [FONT=Times New Roman]AND p2c.categories_id = c.categories_id ";[/FONT]


    [FONT=Times New Roman]To:[/FONT]

    [FONT=Times New Roman]AND p2c.categories_id = c.categories_id[/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman]AND p.master_categories_id != '20' ";[/FONT]

    [FONT=Times New Roman]includes/modules/pages/products_all/header_php.php[/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman]changed line 30 from:[/FONT]


    [FONT=Times New Roman]AND pd.language_id = :languageID " . $order_by;[/FONT]


    [FONT=Times New Roman]To:[/FONT]

    [FONT=Times New Roman]AND pd.language_id = :languageID [/FONT]
    [FONT=Times New Roman]AND p.master_categories_id != '20'" . $order_by;[/FONT]
    This works beautifully.

    However is there a way using this same method or other coding that will skip/hide products that are in a category (ex. 89) on the manufacturers_id page?

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    328
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    Quote Originally Posted by richcolour View Post
    I found a simple way to hide a product. This method works if you just want it hidden from your categories list. It will still appear in New Products, All Products and Search results.

    1) Make a New Category called 'Hidden' or something relevant

    2) Create your New hidden product in it

    3) Take a note of the product's ID number (at the start of the product's list entry)

    4) Turn off the Hidden category by making its status Red

    5) That turns off your product, so go back and make it's status Green

    6) Go to your live shop and click on one of your products. In its URL you'll see ID=(something). Change that ID number to your hidden product. That is the new URL to go directly to your hidden item.
    This method works for me, too. I actually downloaded the hideCategories add-on with the intention to install it, but applying it seems to require some careful attention and time (i.e. overwriting or merging with some core files). So, your solution is a simple workaround if it is not critical that the "hidden" product will be found by mistake.

    Thanks!

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    321
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    Quote Originally Posted by zcnb View Post
    This method works for me, too. I actually downloaded the hideCategories add-on with the intention to install it, but applying it seems to require some careful attention and time (i.e. overwriting or merging with some core files). So, your solution is a simple workaround if it is not critical that the "hidden" product will be found by mistake.

    Thanks!
    I followed these instructions, but it still shows up in the New Products listing...does it not for you?

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    215
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    Has anyone come up with anything new since April? Would find it very useful and judging by the comments so would others.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    159
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    Good evening,

    I haven't worked on this since my original solution, however that patch has been in place on one of my stores for some time yet and has not failed once. If there is a more condensed version way to address this issue, I have not heard of it.

    Best of luck!

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    15
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    jammin320:

    Thanks so much for your post in message 16 - you saved me the time of tracing it back to do the edits.

    Worked like a champ,

    deb

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Seattle, WA
    Posts
    159
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Can I "Hide" a product?

    I'm glad it helped. Thanks for the feedback!

 

 
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 How do I edit Product Listing "Price", "Qty." and Product Info Move "details"?
    By schobook in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 18 Jan 2013, 01:02 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 Nov 2011, 06:04 PM
  3. Can I make all "add: 0" input boxes on product pages to "more info..."?
    By sfklaas in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15 Aug 2009, 06:05 PM
  4. How can I hide the "back to shopping" button?
    By heheno1 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 1 May 2009, 10:56 PM
  5. Can you "cloak"/hide an attribute (downloads)
    By Oberst in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 21 Oct 2006, 01:36 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR