Page 22 of 30 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast
Results 211 to 220 of 298
  1. #211
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    10,569
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Quote Originally Posted by vanson View Post
    should i press 'update' button every day?
    The purpose of this add-on mod is to automate the process by running a CRON job.

    In the absence of that automation, it's probably easier to press update each day (or with whatever frequency you feel is appropriate to keep your currencies up-to-date - though more than daily won't have any effect) as it is to install this mod and run it from a browser.
    Kuroi Web Design and Development | Twitter

    (Questions answered in the forum only - so that any forum member can benefit - not by personal message)

  2. #212
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    8
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    @kuroi

    That has worked fine, thanks for taking the time to reply.

  3. #213
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    772
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Hi,

    I uploaded the file without any changes to store root. and setup the cron job by typing in the command field
    "curl http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php"

    But I keep getting this message
    /bin/sh: curl http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php: No such file or directory

    I also tried changing to the following but it doesn't work
    DEFINE('PATH_TO_STORE_ROOT','/');

    What did I do wrong? Please help. Thanks.
    Using zencart v.1.3.9e
    Website: http://www.dealbyethan.com
    Email: admin AT dealbyethan DOT com

  4. #214
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Posts
    3,379
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    No need to change anything on the store file system.

    Try to set the cron job as:

    with the appropriate frequency / time settings.

    This has worked for me just fine.

    Of course, you need to make sure that the currency_update.php file actually resides at top level

  5. #215
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    772
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Hi,

    I think what I did actually works... just have to remove the quote marks
    curl http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php

    The message I received is this. Does that mean it works?

    % Total % Received % Xferd Average Speed Time Time Time Current
    Dload Upload Total Spent Left Speed

    0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 0
    0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 --:--:-- --:--:-- --:--:-- 0
    Using zencart v.1.3.9e
    Website: http://www.dealbyethan.com
    Email: admin AT dealbyethan DOT com

  6. #216
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    772
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Hi,

    I changed to what you suggested
    wget http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php

    but received the following error. Please advise.

    --00:35:01-- http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php
    => `currency_update.php'
    Resolving www.mysite.com... XXX.XXX.X.XX Connecting to www.mysite.com|XXX.XXX.X.XX|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden
    00:35:01 ERROR 403: Forbidden.
    Using zencart v.1.3.9e
    Website: http://www.dealbyethan.com
    Email: admin AT dealbyethan DOT com

  7. #217
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Posts
    3,379
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Quote Originally Posted by dealbyethan.com View Post
    Hi,

    I changed to what you suggested
    wget http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php

    but received the following error. Please advise.

    --00:35:01-- http://www.mysite.com/currency_update.php
    => `currency_update.php'
    Resolving www.mysite.com... XXX.XXX.X.XX Connecting to www.mysite.com|XXX.XXX.X.XX|:80... connected.
    HTTP request sent, awaiting response... 403 Forbidden
    00:35:01 ERROR 403: Forbidden.
    That depends on your server configurations - seems the wget is disabled by your host. Could also be prevented by your .htaccess file.

    You may want to go back to your previous configuration using curl. Then manually update your currencies in admin. Take note of the ex-rates after the manual update.

    Set the cron job to run at the next full hour, wait until the script has run then check the new ex-rates against your notes. If there is a difference then rest assured that the automatic currencies updater works.

  8. #218
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    772
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    red flag Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Quote Originally Posted by frank18 View Post
    That depends on your server configurations - seems the wget is disabled by your host. Could also be prevented by your .htaccess file.

    You may want to go back to your previous configuration using curl. Then manually update your currencies in admin. Take note of the ex-rates after the manual update.

    Set the cron job to run at the next full hour, wait until the script has run then check the new ex-rates against your notes. If there is a difference then rest assured that the automatic currencies updater works.
    Hi, my host said they didn't disable it. They think our .htaccess file causing the issue but not sure about which rule. Do you have any idea?

    I wouldn't want to use curl and also have to manually update the currencies in admin. The purpose of doing this is to automate it.
    Using zencart v.1.3.9e
    Website: http://www.dealbyethan.com
    Email: admin AT dealbyethan DOT com

  9. #219
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sunny Coast, Australia
    Posts
    3,379
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    One of my sites is updated with this cron:

    /usr/local/bin/php /home/MY_ACCOUNT/public_html/currency_update.php

    Note the space between php and /home

    The first part /usr/local/bin/php would depend on the location of your php folder within your server's file structure. Your host should be able to tell you the path applicable to your server.

  10. #220
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Kent UK
    Posts
    50
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Currency Update (Automatic)

    Quote Originally Posted by kuroi View Post
    The file outputs nothing.
    The way I test it personally, is to tweak the currency rates in the database and then run it in a browser as you have and look in the database to see if they're changed.
    This is what I have been doing and have noticed that - only Euro is being changed. I have INR (indian Rupee) and USD which stay the same - These are not being updated - I havent changed the default USD configuration in admin/currency. My default currency is GBP.

    version. 1.3.9f

 

 
Page 22 of 30 FirstFirst ... 122021222324 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Automatic Currency Updates - curl version problem
    By mtimber in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10 Dec 2008, 07:53 PM
  2. Automatic Currency Selection for a domain
    By [email protected] in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5 Jun 2007, 09:38 AM
  3. Automatic Currency Updates
    By dustyservers in forum Customization from the Admin
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 28 Jun 2006, 12:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR