Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    30
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    in the categories view (display all products in selected category), i either see "more info" if the product has attributes (to force customers to the product page where they select the attributes) or "buy now" otherwise.

    i want to remove the "buy now" option from the category page, and show "more info" for all products. that way, customers are pushed to the product info page for all products, even if there are no attributes.

    not sure if i can do this from admin or whether i should edit the file directly. also not sure which file it would be.

    BONUS question: is there any way to turn off the "max:1" feature in products that are limited to one? this doesn't have to be a global fix -- i just don't want it to show up on the category-->products view.

    here are 2 categories to compare:
    1. "prints". these all have attributes (different sizes) so they display "more info" (the orange "go" button). since they're not one-of-a-kind, "max:1" doesn't show up
    2. "original drawings" these are all one-of-a-kind and have no attributes. so they all show "buy now" and "max:1".

    basically, i want "original drawings" to look and act like "prints".

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    136
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    can you tell me how you are able to put "go" button instead of "more info"?

    thanks

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    30
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    for vr4indian,

    to show a button instead of "more info":
    in english.php ...

    Code:
    define('MORE_INFO_TEXT','<img src="/link/to/your/button.gif">');
    ...

    for my problem -- found the answer by combining ideas from a couple of older threads...

    1. to switch the "buy now" button and activity to a "more info" button and activity:

    in /includes/modules/product_listing.php, find:

    Code:
    // qty box with add to cart button
                if (PRODUCT_LIST_PRICE_BUY_NOW == '2' && $listing->fields['products_qty_box_status'] != 0) {
                  $lc_button= zen_draw_form('cart_quantity', zen_href_link(zen_get_info_page($_GET['products_id']), zen_get_all_get_params(array('action')) . 'action=add_product&products_id=' . $listing->fields['products_id']), 'post', 'enctype="multipart/form-data"') . '<input type="text" name="cart_quantity" value="' . (zen_get_buy_now_qty($listing->fields['products_id'])) . '" maxlength="6" size="4" /><br />' . zen_draw_hidden_field('products_id', $listing->fields['products_id']) . zen_image_submit(BUTTON_IMAGE_IN_CART, BUTTON_IN_CART_ALT) . '</form>';
                } else {
    replace the line just below that with:

    Code:
    $lc_button = '<a href="' . zen_href_link($_GET['main_page'], zen_get_all_get_params(array('action')) . 'action=buy_now&products_id=' . $listing->fields['products_id']) . '">' . zen_image_button(BUTTON_IMAGE_BUY_NOW, BUTTON_BUY_NOW_ALT, 'class="listingBuyNowButton"') . '</a>';
    2. to hide "max:1"...

    you can always remove max:1 by setting the maximum field in the admin->categories-->product listing to '0' ("Qty Max":0 , meaning "unlimited"). that hides the max:1 but then the product behaves as if there are potentially many of them.

    i wanted the product to behave like a one-of-a-kind, since the shop sells original drawings. if you set Qty Max:0 (unlimited), you can still set the "products quantity" field to 1. in that case, customers can add more than one of the product to their cart by going back to the product page and clicking "add to cart" again and again. if they do that, they'll get a RED error message saying that there are insufficient quantities in stock so please reduce the number in the cart. but if you've turned off the "number of products" field in the shopping cart, there's no way to do that except by deleting the product from the cart and starting again, just adding it once.

    on the other hand, if "Qty Max:1", customers who try to add additional copies of the same (one-of-a-kind) item to the cart get a YELLOW error message saying that the quantity has been (automatically) altered, since they can't add more than the MAX to their cart. in other words, Qty Max:1 prevents customers from adding more than one of that item to the cart. and the customer doesn't have to do anything to correct the situation.

    so that's good, but then you have "Max:1" showing up on your categories page, shopping cart, etc -- right?

    not necessarily.

    in /includes/functions/functions_price.php , find:

    Code:
    if ($check_max != 0 {
    and replace that line with

    Code:
    if ($check_max != 0 && $check_max != 1) {
    NOTE that you can't save a functions/ file to functions/your_template/whatever.php and expect it to override -- it won't.

    so i've saved the original file as functions_price.bak (as backup), and the new file (with the change above) is the new functions_price.php

    and just like that, Max:1 is gone.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    Or ... you could edit the Configuration ... Product Listing ... and turn off all of the buy now buttons the easy way ...
    Display Product Add to Cart Button (0=off; 1=on; 2=on with Qty Box per Product)
    Do you want to display the Add to Cart Button?

    NOTE: Turn OFF Display Multiple Products Qty Box Status to use Option 2 on with Qty Box per Product
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    Ah ... scratch that ... lack of coffee ... thought you wanted all more info and just now finshed looking at the links ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    8
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    I have a similar question that I don't believe was answered in this post. I don't care about buttons, I just care that "more info" is always shown instead of the "buy now" without having any attributes set for an item. Thanks.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    60
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    how do i make it show Neither the "buy now" button nor the "... more info"?

    in the admin seems like it forces to show something..

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    portlandish, oregon
    Posts
    799
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    I am also trying to figure out how to hide "more info" and "buy now" on the product listing pages. The option "Display product price/ add to cart" does not work because if you set the status to 0, it (obviously) hides the price as well as "more info."

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    portlandish, oregon
    Posts
    799
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)

    Had to get a friend to figure out for me, but to hide the "...more info" here we go....

    I had it set it up in Admin to NOT display the Add To Cart button. This makes everything show the "...more info"

    Then in includes/modules/product_listing.php

    find this code
    $lc_button = '<a href="' . zen_href_link(zen_get_info_page($listing->fields['products_id']), ($_GET['cPath'] > 0 ? 'cPath=' . $_GET['cPath'] . '&' : '') . 'products_id=' . $listing->fields['products_id']) . '">' . MORE_INFO_TEXT . '</a>';
    change it to this (just delete everything in between the first ' and the last')
    $lc_button = '';
    then find this code
    $products_link = '<a href="' . zen_href_link(zen_get_info_page($listing->fields['products_id']), ($_GET['cPath'] > 0 ? 'cPath=' . $_GET['cPath'] . '&' : '') . 'products_id=' . $listing->fields['products_id']) . '">' . MORE_INFO_TEXT . '</a>';
    change it to this (just delete everything in between the first ' and the last')
    $product_link = '';
    for me it was line 154 and 185, but i think i have a modified product_listing file, in my default file it's on line 115 and 147.

    The first code was to hide the "...more info" BUT it doesn't remove it from showing on products that are SOLD OUT. The code we replaced removed it from these products.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v151 why do some items say "more info" and others have a "buy now" graphic?
    By Nick Robinson in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29 Jul 2016, 05:09 PM
  2. v1.2.x Some products "buy now" others "more info" can you help?
    By luke_pickering in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3 Sep 2014, 05:47 PM
  3. Attributes - "More Info" / "Buy Now" Help please.
    By justme2000 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29 Dec 2007, 04:31 PM
  4. "... more info" link is displayed where I want a "buy now" button
    By ballyc27 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24 Sep 2007, 05:05 PM
  5. Force "more info" instead of "buy now" (even with no attributes)
    By thechoyboy in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 31 Oct 2006, 12:37 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR