Plugin Contributions

Default Confused new zenner needs help upgrading from 1.3.5 to 1.3.6

What follows is a total noob question that I spent hours trying to find an answer for but finally the simple answer occured to me. I thought my findings may help ease the brain stress of other new zenners. Plus, I'm still a little nervous I'm not quite updating correctly and may need further help.

Hello,

First a big thanks to all of those that have provided me with tons of valuable info specifically, Dr. Byte, Ajeh, and Misty. I'm sure there are many others involved in making Zen Cart the cool thing that it is but, I've only been zenning for ten days and still very new to this community and web design in general. I love it and can't wait to go live!! As soon as I sell my first product, coffee is on me.

Back on topic,
    I've installed 1.3.5 and it's been working well. Since I'm still not live with any store, I thought it would be a good time to try upgrading and so I've been trying to upgrade to 1.3.6
    I've been following the 3 EASY STEPS TO UPGRADE ZEN CART™ tutorial but I'm still confused as to how I go live.

The tutorial states, "To go live, put your shop into "Down for Maintenance" mode in the admin area. Be sure to add your IP address to the list of allowed addresses to get into the site for previewing.
    This can be done easiest by renaming "store_new" to "store". (You'll have to rename "store" to something else first.)
    Test it to be sure that things are operating as desired. If you have small problems to repair, turn "Down for maintenance" on and off again as necessary."

I put my shop in Down for Maintenance mode and then tried renaming my /store_new/ to /store/ and my webpage turns into a very simple text file with a few links and no photo's.