Page 3 of 40 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 397
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    I need to set up shipping insurance based on several different flat rates.
    The products have free shipping but require the insurance. How do I do this.

    Thanks
    Brian

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by Briank58 View Post
    I need to set up shipping insurance based on several different flat rates.
    The products have free shipping but require the insurance. How do I do this.

    Thanks
    Brian
    My only advice to you is to open up inlcudes/modules/order_total/ot_insurance.php and look around at the different rates (they're hard coded into the module), and see if you can adjust them to your needs. For example this section says:

    if ($order->info['subtotal'] < 50.01) {
    $insurance = 1.35;

    If the order is less than $50.01, charge $1.35.

    You may be able to do something like this, if you're charging these rates by cart total.

    Good luck!

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Hmm ... I'm going to brush up on my PHP

    the only way I can think of that might work is to create a statement like:

    if ($productID=30) {
    insurance= 29.99 }

    (you get the idea)

    does this make sense?

    Brian

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by Briank58 View Post
    Hmm ... I'm going to brush up on my PHP

    the only way I can think of that might work is to create a statement like:

    if ($productID=30) {
    insurance= 29.99 }

    (you get the idea)

    does this make sense?

    Brian
    It makes sense, though I believe the if statement would be a little different, I don't know if you'd need something like this:

    if (int($_GET['product_id']) ??

    I did a search in the developers tool kit for "product_id", perhaps doing that yourself will give you some ideas.

    Then I think you'd need some sort of function in there that gets the product_id in the database if that's even able to do in that stage of the game? Then I don't know how it would take each product, then add up all the insurances?? Seems complicated to me. My point is, I'm not sure if the above code is enough
    I'm just a php hacker, to be honest. I guess maybe I've progressed from a php hacker to a php mauler, but I'm still no guru. So, sorry for not having a better answer!!

    ETA: Just thought of another idea, if you're having free shipping, perhaps you get close to your desired costs with the per unit shipping module, then enter different weights in the weight boxes, so that different items have higher charges. Then you could change the text from "shipping" to "insurance" with the language files....
    Last edited by jettrue; 20 Mar 2007 at 04:08 PM.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    109
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Thanks Jettrue!

    Is there an easy way to have the wording come directly after the checkbox as if it were in a table as opposed to below the checkbox.

    Thanks for your help!

    Michael

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    Hi there,

    OK, to do this, open up includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/templates/tpl_checkout_payment_default.

    Around line 91, you'll see this section:
    Code:
    <fieldset>
    <legend><?php echo $selection[$i]['module']; ?></legend>
    <?php echo $selection[$i]['redeem_instructions']; ?>
    <div class="gvBal larger"><?php echo $selection[$i]['checkbox']; ?></div>
    <label class="inputLabel"<?php echo ($selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['tag']) ? ' for="'.$selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['tag'].'"': ''; ?>><?php echo $selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['title']; ?></label>
    <?php echo $selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['field']; ?>
    </fieldset>
    Replace it with this:
    Code:
    <fieldset>
    <legend><?php echo $selection[$i]['module']; ?></legend>
    <?php echo $selection[$i]['redeem_instructions']; ?>
    <div class="gvBal larger"><?php echo $selection[$i]['checkbox']; ?></div>
    <?php echo $selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['field']; ?>
    <label class="inputLabel"<?php echo ($selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['tag']) ? ' for="'.$selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['tag'].'"': ''; ?>><?php echo $selection[$i]['fields'][$j]['title']; ?></label>
    <div class="clearBoth"></div>
    </fieldset>

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    254
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Old thread but I think this is where everyone would tell me to put it so..

    I appear to have the module installed correctly and it shows up in the Admin-modules-order total screen and can be edited but insurance does not seem to be getting added to either USPS (which I use to non-U.S.) or UPS (all U.S. shipments.

    Any common problem out there that would cause this not to work?

    Maybe I missed a thread somewhere but read most/all of them.

    Thanks.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffey View Post
    Old thread but I think this is where everyone would tell me to put it so..

    I appear to have the module installed correctly and it shows up in the Admin-modules-order total screen and can be edited but insurance does not seem to be getting added to either USPS (which I use to non-U.S.) or UPS (all U.S. shipments.

    Any common problem out there that would cause this not to work?

    Maybe I missed a thread somewhere but read most/all of them.

    Thanks.
    Does it show up during the checkout for customers to select it? Can I see a link?

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    254
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Sorry, no link-local work right now.

    Does not show as option on checkout (would prefer it to be mandatory/added in by the way).

    Only thing to tell me it's there right now is the Admin item that appears to be fine.

    Because of that I don't even know where to start!

    Thanks for quick reply and any suggestions you might have.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Quote Originally Posted by Jeffey View Post
    Sorry, no link-local work right now.

    Does not show as option on checkout (would prefer it to be mandatory/added in by the way).

    Only thing to tell me it's there right now is the Admin item that appears to be fine.

    Because of that I don't even know where to start!

    Thanks for quick reply and any suggestions you might have.
    First off, make sure all of the files are uploaded.

    Secondly, what is the sort order of the mod under "modules", "order total".

    To do the mandatory, follow these instructions here:
    http://www.zen-cart.com/forum/showpo...4&postcount=20

    (of course we'll have to get it showing up first)

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    254
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Optional Shipping Insurance Module Support Thread...

    Copied the mod for later...hopefully! Thanks.

    File uploading was a little bumpy at first for some reason but pretty sure they are in the right place now:
    ../zencart/includes/languages/english/modules/order_total/ot_insurance.php

    ../zencart/includes/modules/order_total/ot_insurance.php

    Didn't seem to work in override places so this is where they are at now.

    Fooled with sort order too but right now it is set back to default of 500.

    Thanks for help.

 

 
Page 3 of 40 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Optional Shipping Insurance Module Question
    By kminnich in forum Built-in Shipping and Payment Modules
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7 Oct 2008, 01:16 AM
  2. Optional Shipping Insurance Module
    By Darkwander in forum Addon Shipping Modules
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Oct 2006, 02:18 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR