Thread: hideCategories

Page 44 of 49 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 ... LastLast
Results 431 to 440 of 486
  1. #431
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,023
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: hideCategories

    Quote Originally Posted by southshorepizza View Post
    So the file that was breaking the search engine was located at
    includes/templates/your_template/templates/tpl_advanced_search_default.php

    The one I kept being told was the problem was
    includes/modules/pages/advanced_search_result/header_php.php
    It is in fact BOTH files that are the problem.. For different reasons as the edits to these files serve a different purpose..

    The issue with the includes/templates/your_template/templates/tpl_advanced_search_default.php is due to a conflict with the categories sidebox which makes the categories dropdown default to the last category in the list versus "All Categories" as it should. (which is why you get no search results)


    Make the following change to includes/templates/your_template/templates/tpl_advanced_search_default.php
    Code:
    //  Begin hideCategories code
        list($nada, $mycpath)= split('=', $box_categories_array[$i]['path']);
        $mycid = split('_', $mycpath);
       $cat_to_check  = array_pop($mycid);
        $hide_status = $db->Execute("select visibility_status 
                        FROM " . TABLE_HIDE_CATEGORIES . "
                        WHERE categories_id = " . $cat_to_check  . "
                        LIMIT 1");
        if ($hide_status->fields['visibility_status'] < 1) {
    //  End hideCategories code
    The code in the includes/modules/pages/advanced_search_result/header_php.php does not work at all.. Still don't know why, and unless someone else has the answer for how to get this to work, I will not be including it in the next hideCategories release..
    Last edited by DivaVocals; 8 May 2013 at 07:05 PM.
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  2. #432
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    254
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: hideCategories

    I have the site up and running fine. I used the original header_php.php and the tpl_advanced_search_default.php I did not upload. The search feature works fine. I am not using the hidden direct link only feature so this works great for me as is. I just wanted to post the problem I found in case anyone else might happen to run into this and search for an answer.

    Thank you very much for all your help on this though!!! It was much appreciated!

  3. #433
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,023
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: hideCategories

    Quote Originally Posted by southshorepizza View Post
    I have the site up and running fine. I used the original header_php.php and the tpl_advanced_search_default.php I did not upload. The search feature works fine. I am not using the hidden direct link only feature so this works great for me as is. I just wanted to post the problem I found in case anyone else might happen to run into this and search for an answer.

    Thank you very much for all your help on this though!!! It was much appreciated!
    As long as you understand that by NOT using the tpl_advanced_search_default.php your hidden categories are seen in the categories dropdown on the Advanced Search page..
    Last edited by DivaVocals; 8 May 2013 at 07:30 PM.
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  4. #434
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,023
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: hideCategories

    Made some minor changes below it is the sideboxes/tpl_categories.php file where the changes need to be made

    Quote Originally Posted by DivaVocals View Post
    It is in fact BOTH files that are the problem.. For different reasons as the edits to these files serve a different purpose..

    The issue with the includes/templates/your_template/templates/tpl_advanced_search_default.php is due to a conflict with the categories sidebox which makes the categories dropdown default to the last category in the list versus "All Categories" as it should. (which is why you get no search results)


    Make the following change to includes/templates/YOUR_TEMPLATE/sideboxes/tpl_categories.php
    Code:
    //  Begin hideCategories code
        list($nada, $mycpath)= split('=', $box_categories_array[$i]['path']);
        $mycid = split('_', $mycpath);
       $cat_to_check  = array_pop($mycid);
        $hide_status = $db->Execute("select visibility_status 
                        FROM " . TABLE_HIDE_CATEGORIES . "
                        WHERE categories_id = " . $cat_to_check  . "
                        LIMIT 1");
        if ($hide_status->fields['visibility_status'] < 1) {
    //  End hideCategories code
    The code in the includes/modules/pages/advanced_search_result/header_php.php does not work at all.. Still don't know why, and unless someone else has the answer for how to get this to work, I will not be including it in the next hideCategories release..
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  5. #435
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    254
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: hideCategories

    Thanks for making sure I understand. I'm selling pizza obviously and I have a category called in store only. So if they find it so be it. I just don't want to confuse people with buying items like slices and think they can get them delivered by having them front and center on the main categories.

  6. #436
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Los Angeles, California, United States
    Posts
    10,023
    Plugin Contributions
    32

    Default Re: hideCategories

    Quote Originally Posted by southshorepizza View Post
    Thanks for making sure I understand. I'm selling pizza obviously and I have a category called in store only. So if they find it so be it. I just don't want to confuse people with buying items like slices and think they can get them delivered by having them front and center on the main categories.
    Sure.. the issue is with the categories sidebox code though, making the change to the categories sidebox I posted solves the issue with the includes/templates/your_template/templates/tpl_advanced_search_default.php file though (no changes needed to this file).. just so you know.. It seems simple enough to do.. Your choice though.. glad you have it all working..
    My Site - Zen Cart & WordPress integration specialist
    I don't answer support questions via PM. Post add-on support questions in the support thread. The question & the answer will benefit others with similar issues.

  7. #437
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Greeneville, TN USA
    Posts
    52
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: hideCategories

    I'm seeing it's been a long time since this has been updated. Does anyone know if it will work for v1.5.1? Is there something newer that does the same or similar?

    I'm wanting to have wholesale discounted products in a hidden category so a user would have to know a private link to get there.

    I also thought it would be useful to have "pre-release" products in another hidden category so I could have them ready to go, and just move them over when the product is available. I know there are other ways to do that last bit.

    Thanks in advance.

  8. #438
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    254
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: hideCategories

    I am using it with 1.5.1 with no issues.

  9. #439
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    331
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: hideCategories

    How can i include hidden categories in XML Sitemap?

  10. #440
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Cincinnati Ohio
    Posts
    1,030
    Plugin Contributions
    13

    Default Re: hideCategories

    Quote Originally Posted by ShopVille View Post
    How can i include hidden categories in XML Sitemap?
    I do not think this is possible them being hidden. It kind beats the concept they are hidden? But I could be wrong and it be possible.
    PCI Certified Web Hosting - ControlScan, Security Metrics (Platinum Partner), McAfee, TrustKeeper
    Business Class Web Hosting - Linux and cPanel Powered

 

 
Page 44 of 49 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 ... LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. how to get hidecategories an dual pricing to work
    By davidweaver88 in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 4 Jun 2012, 03:35 PM
  2. anyone using HideCategories in 1.3.9d??
    By redheads in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 8 Jun 2010, 06:54 AM
  3. HideCategories problem...
    By ShadowAngel in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10 Nov 2009, 10:17 PM
  4. hideCategories Module
    By marcusimages in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 25 Aug 2009, 06:31 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR