Plugin Contributions

Idea or Suggestion pub = unwritable (chmod 777 read/write/execute) How can i fix this?

Hi, i am new with FTP. i am trying to install Zen Cart, but i came across this issue:

File and Folder Permissions
    In order for many Zen Cart™ administrative and day-to-day functions to work properly, You need to mark several files/folders "Writeable". The following is a list of folders which need to be "read-write", along with recommended CHMOD settings. Please correct these settings before continuing installation. Refresh this page in your browser to re-check settings.

Some hosts may not allow you to set CHMOD 777, but only 666. Start with the higher setting first, and switch to lower values if required.
    • <LI class=OK>includes/configure.php = Writeable <LI class=OK>admin/includes/configure.php = Writeable
    • <LI class=OK>cache = OK <LI class=OK>images = OK <LI class=OK>includes/languages/english/html_includes = OK <LI class=OK>media = OK <LI class=WARN>pub = Unwriteable (chmod 777 read/write/execute) <LI class=OK>admin/backups = OK
    • admin/images/graphs = OK

How can i fix this problem?

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: pub = unwritable (chmod 777 read/write/execute) How can i fix this?

Just a thought but I think
    777= fully writable, readble and so on..
    But I think
    644= read only (do not hold me to it though)

I just seen the post and thought I would say something about it.

Have you changed the permission for the PUB folder to 777 yet?

Plugin Contributions

hi , thanks for answering, i really dont know how to change the file. I am new with FTP, i didnt switch anything.

Plugin Contributions

After looking over this again I see you are using linux/unis server for your hosting... I am not familiar with that system AT ALL!!! LOL

Here is a website to help you understand the permission scale.http://www.comptechdoc.org/os/linux/..._ugfilesp.html
    It seems a little confusing but for the most part it is what you need..