Thread: Help Needed

Plugin Contributions

Default Help Needed

Hi,

I recently started using Zen Cart 1.3.7 and purchased Easy Populate 3.0.3 [the $65 version] soon afterwards.

I am a complete newbie and would like to set up a record/CD/Vinyl store. It is very important that I set it so that the data can be uploaded via a tab delimited text file saved from Excel [the reason for purchasing Easy Populate].

I don't think the fields I want in the database are too abnormal and there are only about 12 anyway.

Nicholas [the easy populate author] has been in touch with me a couple of times but is obviously very busy at the moment.

So, the question is - is there anyone in these forums who sees themselves as an expert and can give me a hand to set up this site - specifically, the Easy Populate side of things?

I am willing to pay if prices are realistic. I really would like to get this site up and moving as soon as possible.

Thanks if anyone can help.

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Help Needed

FreshP

You can't determine the fields in the database - these are preset by the installation of zencart.

What easypopulate does is provide a simple mechanism to UPLOAD data, using whats known as a TAB-DELIMITED TEXT FILE, into the EXISTING fields in the database.

Now...

If you installed Zen WITH the demo products (always advisable for NEW zenners) then you can do an EXPORT of this data FROM zencart TO your hard drive.

This will be a TAB-DELIMITED TEXT FILE of the existing product range in your database, and, as you can see, you can "ask" easypopulate to dump all of it, or parts of it.

You then have to IMPORT this TXT file into EXCEL, or other spreadsheet. It's NOT advisable to just try to OPEN the TXT file in excel - rather open a blank sheet in excel, then use DATA>GET EXTERNAL DATA>IMPORT TEXT FILE.

Then, you are asked by excel to "describe" the nature of the import. I'm afraid I can't give you a lesson on this aspect!