Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    88
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Change Login Options

    Here is basically a problem I having:

    For right now what I need is for customers to login using their:
    Customer(Company) Name
    Account Number
    Phone Number (and this would have to setup with three text boxes you know the
    [area code] [first three] [last four])

    Now I have the split login installed and I am pretty sure that all this information is already there: as seen with the login page and in "Add Customers from Admin" http://www.zen-cart.com/index.php?ma...roducts_id=454

    I assume that for the Account Number that can be made the password, so I would just need to change the text for that

    But how can I make the additional information be required for a login and with the login how can I have just need the company name?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    88
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Change Login Options

    Okay I figured out everything except for doing the phone number as I want it:

    So the code looks like this:
    Code:
    <br class="clearBoth" />
    <label class="inputLabel" for="login-company"><?php echo ENTRY_COMPANY; ?></label>
    <?php echo zen_draw_input_field('company', '',  'size="18" id="login-company"'); ?>
    
    <br class="clearBoth" />
    <label class="inputLabel" for="login-telephone"><?php echo ENTRY_TELEPHONE_NUMBER; ?></label>
    <?php echo zen_draw_input_field('telephone', '',  'size="18" id="login-telephone"'); ?>
    <?php echo 'Please enter your phone number without a leading 1, and without "-"  or "." For example 123-555-1234 or 123.555.1234 would be entered as 1235551234' ?>
    I am just concerned with the admin side, I figure all the information will be there, anything specific I should look out for?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Southport, UK
    Posts
    4,236
    Plugin Contributions
    20

    Default Re: Change Login Options

    Before you press on with this, be aware that if you're hoping for international trade, then this will cause entry problems for a large proportion of the world who don't use that structure.
    Development Manager @ JSWeb Ltd
    Over 15 years with Zencart

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Change Login Options

    Just curious ... why do you need your telephone number input set for the 3 blocks?

    Personally, I do not like to have to use that method and just like to type my phone number in ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    88
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Change Login Options

    As for now the business is aimed US customers only. But I assume with the little extra I added people could easily follow instructions.

    Oh I am assuming the code works, I have not tested it yet and I am concerned that it might not work, but I guess it might.

    Please enter your phone number without a leading 1, nor the "-"s or "."s
    For example 212-555-1234 or 212.555.1234 would be entered as 2125551234

    But the admin part and it actually working bothering me.

    Does it look right?
    Last edited by Outlawlb; 20 Mar 2007 at 06:06 AM.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Change Login Options

    I am quite interested in this. I am pretty new to ZenCart. I know enough about php to get me around and modify files.

    I am looking for something like this for a vendors site. It is a subdomain where vendors or resellers purchase our product. What I was going to do is use the company name for the login and the account ID for the pass

    What files do you have to edit to do this?

    Are you assigning the number? My idea on the account number was to take the state and get a number from it and then take the zip code and then add a 3 digit to the end of it. Sort of like this.
    Alabama = 1
    their zip = 12345
    So the account number would be 1-12345-001

    Now all I have to do is figure out how to code it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    88
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Change Login Options

    Well I edited login.php and tpl_login_default.php

    I think I am going to add more code to these pages.

    I will post more when I have some more time. Hope this helps gets you started.

    Just so you know I am unsure if this works yet.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Change attribute options
    By rcm365 in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 May 2011, 11:34 AM
  2. Change the 'Sort by' options
    By JohnBoyCR in forum General Questions
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 2 May 2009, 09:39 PM
  3. login options question - opinions humbly requested
    By crashley1784 in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18 May 2008, 09:41 PM
  4. Change Login to Login/Register?
    By slow in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24 Nov 2007, 12:13 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR