Thread: chmod

Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default chmod

    hy guys im using a shared hosting so i canot tweak the server.

    i have tryed it all and it does not work ,as soon as i put the chmod to 444 i refresh my ftp and it goes back to 644 automaticly?

    is there a way to fix this??

    the banner on the top is very anoying?

    Warning: I am able to write to the configuration file: /home/hugues/public_html/magasin/includes/configure.php. This is a potential security risk - please set the right user permissions on this file (read-only, CHMOD 644 or 444 are typical). You may need to use your webhost control panel/file-manager to change the permissions effectively. Contact your webhost for assistance.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    565
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: chmod

    make a blank file called chmod.php

    edit the file, and inside put the following code:

    Code:
    <?php
    chmod("includes/configure.php", 0444);
    chmod("admin/includes/configure.php", 0444)
    ?>
    place this file in the root of your store - where there is an index.php file, and an ipn_main_handler.php file

    then, go to the file by going to yourstore.com/howeveryougettoyourstore/chmod.php

    It should show a blank page

    Once thats done.. visit your store.. message is gone :)

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    10
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: chmod

    wow..lol fast reply and effective as well..

    i have a question i need this for a website im making .it is a distributor or car accessories..so there is alot..lol

    this will be good?cause i can't afford it crashing or to complicated for them...

    thx again

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    565
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: chmod

    yup.. its just as good as doing it via FTP - the problem with FTP sometimes it will change to 644 instead.. with this i've used it on several stores and never had a problem with it. Make sure its 444 and that the paths are leading to your configure files.. if you renamed admin then change "admin" to whatever you renamed it to and you're good to go

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    3
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: chmod

    Thank you!!!!

    Quote Originally Posted by samad64 View Post
    yup.. its just as good as doing it via FTP - the problem with FTP sometimes it will change to 644 instead.. with this i've used it on several stores and never had a problem with it. Make sure its 444 and that the paths are leading to your configure files.. if you renamed admin then change "admin" to whatever you renamed it to and you're good to go

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. CHMod
    By bargincircus in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 13 Nov 2010, 01:11 AM
  2. chmod problems
    By ricardino in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 7 Aug 2009, 10:53 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR