Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default Installed server on a Mac. Now how do I use it??

Hello,

Newbie Zenner here. Just plunked down almost $50 for the book, and am already completely lost. Unfortunately, the book only has instructions for installing a local server on Windows.

I'm running 10.3.9 and downloaded XAMPP 0.4. Is this the correct version. If not, where do I find the right one?

In any case, I installed it, and have no clue how to even get it going. Does this involve using the terminal? Have never used this, and have already spent well over an hour trying to figure it out. I am not a programmer or developer. I'm also not an idiot, but already feeling like one.

Can anyone help?

Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Installed server on a Mac. Now how do I use it??

Hello mring, if you're on Tiger, you can try the latest XAMPP for MacOS X (Tiger) or MAMP. However, both do not come with a local mail server.

Since you are running 10.3.9 (Panther) and most probably on a non-Intel Mac, you may run into problems setting things up properly. I'll see what I can do for you in this case.
    Goh Koon Hoek, author of "e-Start Your Web Store with Zen Cart".
    Printed book: www.lulu.com/content/10576284
    Electronic book and Errata: www.cucumbermedia.com/store

Plugin Contributions

Thanks so much. Yes, I am running Panther (non Intel). Got very frustrated with XAMPP last night and dumped the whole thing. Started fresh with MAMP instead (v. 1.4) because I read that that might be easier. Seemed to get it installed okay. But still no idea how to use it or where to go from there.

Is this a better way to go? It still seems way beyond my scope. Would I be better off forgoing the local host and going straight to remote?

Plugin Contributions

See my email to you and let's work out how best to move forward on the problems you've encountered so far.

Plugin Contributions