Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    42
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Using Access instead of MySQL

    I used to use Microsoft Access and not MySQL, all my products are listed on Access, now is it possible for Zen Cart to work with access or is there a way to import the file?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Cheney WA
    Posts
    1,138
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Using Access instead of MySQL

    You'll need to import them.

    Reason being that MySQL is so much more powerful than access, and of course the fact that Zen Cart is written to work with MySQL.

    Now there is a way to import the products, and I feel the easiest way is with easypopuloate, www.easypopulate.com

    That way you can export your access db to excel and then using easypopulate you will be able to figure out how to arrange the data to go into the Zen Carts db.
    John Patrick
    A Zen Cart Advocate!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    42
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Using Access instead of MySQL

    Quote Originally Posted by birdoasis View Post
    You'll need to import them.

    Reason being that MySQL is so much more powerful than access, and of course the fact that Zen Cart is written to work with MySQL.

    Now there is a way to import the products, and I feel the easiest way is with easypopuloate, www.easypopulate.com

    That way you can export your access db to excel and then using easypopulate you will be able to figure out how to arrange the data to go into the Zen Carts db.
    That kink gets redirected, to some other shop maker.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,057
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Using Access instead of MySQL

    Look for posts by member Langer - he maintains easypopulate on his own site, and has a link in his sig.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Koh Samui
    Posts
    122
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Using Access instead of MySQL

    Hi,

    The correct link is

    http://www.modhole.com/modhole/index.php

    Easy Populate is by far (imho) the most useful mod out there.

    Ronald.
    [FONT="Verdana"]http://www.xlventures.eu[/FONT]

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    42
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Using Access instead of MySQL

    Thanx Will check it out

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. v154 MariaDB instead of Mysql?
    By torvista in forum Installing on a Windows Server
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 20 Dec 2017, 10:41 AM
  2. MAMP - MySQL access denied
    By noruga in forum Installing on a Mac Server
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 16 Nov 2009, 07:34 AM
  3. Access Hosts in MySQL ?
    By zcnb in forum Installing on a Linux/Unix Server
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10 Jun 2008, 01:02 PM
  4. Direct access to MySQL Data
    By zigzak in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 1 Jun 2006, 01:18 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR