Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    After using Fantastico to upgrade from 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 I am encountering admin login loops. I have ensured that both the /includes/configure.php and /admin/includes/configure.php were set with the proper URLs for both HTTP and HTTPS. The enable SSL variables have been set as well.

    define('ENABLE_SSL_CATALOG', 'true');
    define('ENABLE_SSL_ADMIN', 'true');

    Now, whenever I enter the proper username and password, it simply reloads the login page. Even disabling SSL does not work. Thoughts?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    If you set those SSL settings to 'false' temporarily, is there any change ?
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Herts. UK
    Posts
    890
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    Hi,

    If it was working on v1.3.7 but stopped working after moving to v1.3.7.1 then it sounds like a problem with session regeneration. There was a fix to the admin/login.php file in v1.3.7.1 to stop a potential security exploit known as 'session fixation'. To be honest I doubt anyone could actually use the exploit in this case except under strict lab conditions. If you get really stuck then just upload the admin/login.php file from the v1.3.7 distribution (or your backup). That should let you get back in.

    DrByte, any ideas on the session regeneration problems? Everytime I think I've tracked down what's causing it, it seems to be something else.

    Regards,
    Christian.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    If you set those SSL settings to 'false' temporarily, is there any change ?

    DrByte, my apologies, I was not very clear. I did disable SSL by setting both those to false. No change in the behavior. My last resort is to restore the 1.3.7 store so I can regain functionality.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Herts. UK
    Posts
    890
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by PanzerBoxb View Post
    My last resort is to restore the 1.3.7 store so I can regain functionality.
    Before putting everything back try just uploading the 1.3.7 version of the admin/login.php file.

    Regards,
    Christian.

    P.S.
    Just an after thought but you haven't by any chance changed any of your .htaccess files have you?
    Last edited by CJPinder; 23 Aug 2007 at 04:31 PM. Reason: Added P.S.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    If this fails it makes me worry that something else is broken, hence my preference to return to 1.3.7. None of the .htaccess files were modified.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Herts. UK
    Posts
    890
    Plugin Contributions
    4

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    Quote Originally Posted by PanzerBoxb View Post
    If this fails it makes me worry that something else is broken, hence my preference to return to 1.3.7.
    I appreciate your concern. It is entirely possible that a file did not upload correctly during the upgrade or some other error occurred. The only way to know for sure is to either upload all the v1.3.7.1 files again or restore back to v1.3.7 and do another upgrade.

    It would be very useful to know though whether or not putting back the v1.3.7 version of admin/login.php cures your problem.

    Regards,
    Christian.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Spudville
    Posts
    62
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    I experienced the login loop problem when I tried to install my store on a local host. Replacing the login file from the 1.3.7 set seemed to fix the problem. If there is a better solution, I would like to know what it is.
    www.PrairieRoses.com
    A Country Sensibility

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Newcastle UK
    Posts
    2,896
    Blog Entries
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    2

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    when you are getting the login loop are there any error messages.
    e.g. 'There was a security error when trying to login.'

    Also you could also try disabling the session_recreate at line 46 of admin/login.php just comment out the line

    zen_session_recreate();


    and see if that helps.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Admin Login Looping after 1.3.7 to 1.3.7.1 upgrade

    OK, this is weird. I commented out the line (was line 42, not 46) and was able to log in once again. However, as a test, I went in an enabled it again and I can still log in to the admin interface.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. After Upgrade to 1.3.9h blank page on admin login !
    By topy in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 3 Jun 2013, 04:46 PM
  2. V150 Just did an upgrade from 1.3.8 to 1.5 admin is looping around
    By cassiedesigns in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 3 May 2012, 08:51 AM
  3. unable to login as admin after upgrade
    By fakeDecoy in forum Upgrading from 1.3.x to 1.3.9
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5 Aug 2010, 05:48 AM
  4. Login looping after upgrading site -- using multisite module
    By tanik in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 Jan 2008, 02:43 AM
  5. Cant login in to admin panel, Looping
    By Mobilemick in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20 May 2007, 08:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR