Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 35
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Let's get rid of the effects of that SEFU mod so it's not involved in busting that sidebox:

    Choose one:
    a) put back the original html_output.php file
    or
    b) edit the one you're currently using, as shown:
    change this:
    Code:
    / SEO URLs zen_href_link replacement
    function zen_href_link($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    
        // not all core scripts (such as the Paypal IPN handler) implement the core auto loader system (WTF!?)
        if (!isset($GLOBALS['SeoUrl'])) {
            require_once(DIR_FS_CATALOG . DIR_WS_CLASSES . 'seo/seo.url.php');
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl'] =& new SeoUrl($GLOBALS['db']);
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->setupLanguage($_SESSION['languages_id']);
        }
    
        return $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->buildHrefLink($page, $parameters, $connection, $add_session_id, $static, $use_dir_ws_catalog);
    }
      function zen_href_link_stock($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    global $request_type, $session_started, $http_domain, $https_domain;
    to this:
    Code:
    / SEO URLs zen_href_link replacement
    function zen_href_link_SEFU($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    
        // not all core scripts (such as the Paypal IPN handler) implement the core auto loader system (WTF!?)
        if (!isset($GLOBALS['SeoUrl'])) {
            require_once(DIR_FS_CATALOG . DIR_WS_CLASSES . 'seo/seo.url.php');
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl'] =& new SeoUrl($GLOBALS['db']);
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->setupLanguage($_SESSION['languages_id']);
        }
    
        return $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->buildHrefLink($page, $parameters, $connection, $add_session_id, $static, $use_dir_ws_catalog);
    }
      function zen_href_link($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    global $request_type, $session_started, $http_domain, $https_domain;
    Now what happens to the currency box?

    Of course, if you have the SEFU mod enabled, it's going to break everything by doing this.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by blag View Post
    yes, disabling SEFU mod (Ultimate_SEO_URLs_v2.105) does allow the currency to be set without problems

    Can you assist me in sorting out how to make the currency selector work when Ultimate_SEO_URLs_v2.105 is enabled?
    You will find some discussion by various folks in that module's support thread for things you might try.
    I'm convinced that the SEFU/SEO-URL mod is the problem. That mod (and the others like it) have various known problems.

    The problem could be with your Rewrite Rules (and I'm also convinced that you have problems there anyway), or it could be with the URL that is being generated for the sidebox form action. I don't know. I leave that to the folks to have a passion for those things.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    1. From your configure.php files, it appears that www.ho-hose.net is your primary domain:
    Quote Originally Posted by blag View Post
    define('HTTP_SERVER', 'http://www.ho-hose.net');
    define('DIR_WS_CATALOG', '/store/');
    define('DIR_FS_CATALOG', '/home/hohose/public_html/store/');
    2. However, going to http://www.ho-hose.net/store is presently taking you to http://ho-hose.co.uk/store/ in the browser address bar.
    This is most likely because of your RewriteRules ... which in my opinion probably should *not* be pointing to .co.uk, but rather to .net

    3. The fact that the page at http://ho-hose.co.uk/store/ displays any content is a result of your domain sharing/redirect set up by your host.

    4. Search engines seeing this behaviour will probably cross you off their list at this point.

    5. The currency sidebox is building the form action URL from the data in your configure.php file, and (almost) correctly producing a link to: http://www.ho-hose.net/store/?currency=USD (or EUR or GBP based on selection)

    6. However, since your RewriteRules are telling all of your .net traffic to convert to .co.uk addresses, it fails -- presumably because it cannot also pass the URL parameters during its redirect.

    7. If the SEFU mod weren't installed, it would generate the URL for the sidebox a little differently ... by including the index.php portion of the URL, which it leaves out (see link in #5 above). Without the SEFU mod active, it produces this:
    http://www.ho-hose.net/store/index.php?currency=USD ... which works fine.

    This is further confirmation that the RewriteRules you're currently using are stripping too much off the URL when doing their redirects.

    Most likely your rules are doing blind redirects without evaluating the entire URI before rewriting the URL.
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by blag View Post
    Code:
    # EZ Pages from Ultimate Seo Urls version 2.1 to 3.X
    RewriteRule ^page.html$ index\.php?main_page=page&%{QUERY_STRING} [L,R=301]
    # Seo Urls version 3.x
    # Don't rewrite real files or directories
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-f
    RewriteCond %{REQUEST_FILENAME} !-d
    RewriteRule ^(.+)$ index\.php?seo_url=$1&%{QUERY_STRING} [L]
    Why do your .htaccess files mention SEO URLs v3 when you said you're using v2.105?
    Quote Originally Posted by blag View Post
    SEFU mod (Ultimate_SEO_URLs_v2.105)
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Posts
    66,373
    Blog Entries
    7
    Plugin Contributions
    274

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    What happens to your currency sidebox if you remove this section from your .htaccess?
    Code:
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^ho-hose.net$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.ho-hose.net$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /store/index.php [R=301,L]
    .

    Zen Cart - putting the dream of business ownership within reach of anyone!
    Donate to: DrByte directly or to the Zen Cart team as a whole

    Remember: Any code suggestions you see here are merely suggestions. You assume full responsibility for your use of any such suggestions, including any impact ANY alterations you make to your site may have on your PCI compliance.
    Furthermore, any advice you see here about PCI matters is merely an opinion, and should not be relied upon as "official". Official PCI information should be obtained from the PCI Security Council directly or from one of their authorized Assessors.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leicester, England
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Let's get rid of the effects of that SEFU mod so it's not involved in busting that sidebox:

    Choose one:
    a) put back the original html_output.php file
    or
    b) edit the one you're currently using, as shown:
    change this:
    Code:
    / SEO URLs zen_href_link replacement
    function zen_href_link($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    
        // not all core scripts (such as the Paypal IPN handler) implement the core auto loader system (WTF!?)
        if (!isset($GLOBALS['SeoUrl'])) {
            require_once(DIR_FS_CATALOG . DIR_WS_CLASSES . 'seo/seo.url.php');
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl'] =& new SeoUrl($GLOBALS['db']);
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->setupLanguage($_SESSION['languages_id']);
        }
    
        return $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->buildHrefLink($page, $parameters, $connection, $add_session_id, $static, $use_dir_ws_catalog);
    }
      function zen_href_link_stock($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    global $request_type, $session_started, $http_domain, $https_domain;
    to this:
    Code:
    / SEO URLs zen_href_link replacement
    function zen_href_link_SEFU($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    
        // not all core scripts (such as the Paypal IPN handler) implement the core auto loader system (WTF!?)
        if (!isset($GLOBALS['SeoUrl'])) {
            require_once(DIR_FS_CATALOG . DIR_WS_CLASSES . 'seo/seo.url.php');
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl'] =& new SeoUrl($GLOBALS['db']);
            $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->setupLanguage($_SESSION['languages_id']);
        }
    
        return $GLOBALS['SeoUrl']->buildHrefLink($page, $parameters, $connection, $add_session_id, $static, $use_dir_ws_catalog);
    }
      function zen_href_link($page = '', $parameters = '', $connection = 'NONSSL', $add_session_id = true, $search_engine_safe = true, $static = false, $use_dir_ws_catalog = true) {
    global $request_type, $session_started, $http_domain, $https_domain;
    Now what happens to the currency box?

    Of course, if you have the SEFU mod enabled, it's going to break everything by doing this.
    I get the same result: the currency doesn't change

  7. #27
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leicester, England
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Why do your .htaccess files mention SEO URLs v3 when you said you're using v2.105?
    Now, that is a very good question: I'll take a look into that.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leicester, England
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    What happens to your currency sidebox if you remove this section from your .htaccess?
    Code:
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^ho-hose.net$ [OR]
    RewriteCond %{HTTP_HOST} ^www.ho-hose.net$
    RewriteRule ^(.*)$ /store/index.php [R=301,L]
    Thecurrency box tries to take me to
    but that gives a Page 404 error.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leicester, England
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    Why do your .htaccess files mention SEO URLs v3 when you said you're using v2.105?
    I removed the statement from the .htaccess file, but, damnation, I don't see any change in the behaviour!

  10. #30
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Leicester, England
    Posts
    165
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Page 404 Error on Currency Selection

    Quote Originally Posted by DrByte View Post
    1. From your configure.php files, it appears that www.ho-hose.net is your primary domain:

    2. However, going to http://www.ho-hose.net/store is presently taking you to http://ho-hose.co.uk/store/ in the browser address bar.
    This is most likely because of your RewriteRules ... which in my opinion probably should *not* be pointing to .co.uk, but rather to .net

    3. The fact that the page at http://ho-hose.co.uk/store/ displays any content is a result of your domain sharing/redirect set up by your host.

    4. Search engines seeing this behaviour will probably cross you off their list at this point.

    5. The currency sidebox is building the form action URL from the data in your configure.php file, and (almost) correctly producing a link to: http://www.ho-hose.net/store/?currency=USD (or EUR or GBP based on selection)

    6. However, since your RewriteRules are telling all of your .net traffic to convert to .co.uk addresses, it fails -- presumably because it cannot also pass the URL parameters during its redirect.

    7. If the SEFU mod weren't installed, it would generate the URL for the sidebox a little differently ... by including the index.php portion of the URL, which it leaves out (see link in #5 above). Without the SEFU mod active, it produces this:
    http://www.ho-hose.net/store/index.php?currency=USD ... which works fine.

    This is further confirmation that the RewriteRules you're currently using are stripping too much off the URL when doing their redirects.

    Most likely your rules are doing blind redirects without evaluating the entire URI before rewriting the URL.
    ho-hose.net is not my primary domian. ho-hose.co.uk is supposed to be my primary domain for my current non-ZC domain. This domain's files live in the root folder on the host.
    ho-hose.net is a domain that I use for my ZC stor testing purposes, and it lives in a subdirectory on the host server. The host has set up a redirect for me.

    I had assumed that the redirect would be 'transparent' to the user, and that all URL's would contain references to the .net domain. ON this assumption I set my configure files such that they see .net as the domain in which the store lives - because the domain should be .net as a result of the redirect.

    So, if we abandon the .net redirect, and set the configure files to point at ho-hose.co.uk/store, and we point the browser to the index.php file in the store subdirectory, would it be reasonable to expect the store to work, because we have eliminated any URL reference to the .net domain?

    Or do I have to set the configure file to ho-hose.co.uk/store/index.php, because if you type www.ho-hose.co.uk/store/ (i.e without the index.php) a page 404 error is generated?

 

 
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Display 404 error page instead of 500 Internal Server Error
    By ShopVille in forum General Questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 7 Dec 2012, 05:34 PM
  2. Login page gives error 404 page not found
    By g28469b in forum General Questions
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 20 Apr 2011, 11:23 PM
  3. 404 error page
    By Semenek in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 7 Mar 2010, 10:08 AM
  4. Automatic Currency Selection for a domain
    By [email protected] in forum Currencies & Sales Taxes, VAT, GST, etc.
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 5 Jun 2007, 09:38 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR