Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 70
  1. #41
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    23
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    All right, back to normal again.. would you like to share the phpmyadmin id's cause I couldn't find them.. thanks

  2. #42
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Croatia
    Posts
    1,418
    Plugin Contributions
    16

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    what do you mean by "share phpmyadmin ids" ??? these ids are unique to your install... And I don't understand why you couldn't find the ids??? Can you access your database from phpmyadmin?

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    26
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    Maybe somebody knows, how to show different product images depending from language? Thanks.

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    Quote Originally Posted by clydejones View Post
    goto

    admin -> tools -> banner manager

    click the "new banner" button

    enter your Banner Title:
    enter your Banner URL:

    create your new Banner Group: (do this by entering the information in the text box which is below the dropdown menu.

    for your english language version name it mybanner1
    for your other language version name it mybanner2

    click the insert button to save your new banner.

    goto

    admin -> configuration -> layout settings -> Banner Display Groups - Side Box banner_box

    click the edit button

    enter your new banner group designations in the text box

    SideBox-Banners:mybanner1:mybanner2

    click the update button

    follow the instructions provided at the beginning of this thread in order to change the appropriate sidebox.
    In my case for making my main banner changeable the only thing I need to do is to set Multiple Banner Group:

    Banner Display Groups - Header Position 2 to Wide-Banners2:Wide-Banners3

    ...that is it !!! nothing else.. no need of replacing:

    if (SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 != '' && $banner = zen_banner_exists('dynamic', SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2))

    with:

    if (SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 != '' && $banner = zen_banner_exists('dynamic', SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 . $_SESSION['languages_id']))

    ...but I still have a problem with making it compatible with the language selected. If I klick few time the english flag it displayed almost every time a different language...

    somebody needs to explain clearly step by step how to fix it, PLEASE !!!

    Thank you in advance!!!

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Chicago, IL
    Posts
    4
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    In my case for making my main banner changeable the only thing I need to do is to set Multiple Banner Group:

    Banner Display Groups - Header Position 2 to Wide-Banners2:Wide-Banners3

    ...that is it !!! nothing else.. no need of replacing:

    if (SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 != '' && $banner = zen_banner_exists('dynamic', SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2))

    with:

    if (SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 != '' && $banner = zen_banner_exists('dynamic', SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 . $_SESSION['languages_id']))

    ...but I still have a problem with making it compatible with the language selected. If I klick few time the english flag it displayed almost every time a different language...

    somebody needs to explain clearly step by step how to fix it, PLEASE !!!

    Thank you in advance!!!

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    18
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    I followed all instructions in this thread, no success. Still getting different language banners randomly and not ordered on language id.

    Can someone post the right solution for this, because i think many people have this problem and dont know how to fix this.

    Thanks in advance!

  7. #47
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    17
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    For me it did not work either. Would it be possible to show the steps with screenprints?
    This would be very helpful.
    Thanks in advance!

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    After strugling for over 2 hours with the convoluted suggestions for multilingual banners I think I got a better solution:
    In my English/Spanish site:
    Assign includes/modules/your_template/banner_box.php to language 1 (English by Default) by changing the following code:
    // test if box should display

    $show_banner_box = true;



    to

    // test if box should display
    if ($_SESSION['languages_id'] == 1) {
    $show_banner_box = true;
    }


    then do the same for banner_box2.php but now

    // test if box should display
    if ($_SESSION['languages_id'] == 2) {
    $show_banner_box = true;
    }


    Now in Banner Manager Assign your english banners to SideBox-Banners
    Leave Layout Banner Display Group Side box banner_box as SideBox-Banners (the default)
    Change:
    Layout Banner Display Group Side box banner_box2 to WHATEVER
    In Banner Manager assign your new banners with language id 2 to the same WHATEVER name you assign to banner_box2 in Layout.
    Good luck

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    New Jersey
    Posts
    9
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Idea or Suggestion Re: multi lingual banners

    Quote Originally Posted by 27gerd27 View Post
    Hi,
    i made your changes in the php-file, but what i have to do with fred1, fred2?
    Could you be so kind and give me any hint?

    Thank you very match

    Gerd
    See post #48 in this thread, I think I found an easier method to display multilingual banners.

    Good luck!

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: multi lingual banners

    That will work fine for two languages, but not for more.
    Balihr's directions in post 22 are the correct answer, if followed exactly. I reproduce them here, with red highlighting on the points that people seem to be missing:

    I wanted my header's Wide-Banners to be multi-lingual.

    So, for all those still looking for the answer, here we go:

    1. Locate your tpl_header.php file and find this line:
    Code:
    if (SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 != '' && $banner = zen_banner_exists('dynamic', SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2))
    and replace it with
    Code:
    if (SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 != '' && $banner = zen_banner_exists('dynamic', SHOW_BANNERS_GROUP_SET2 . $_SESSION['languages_id']))
    2. Go to Configuration->Layout Settings and change Banner Display Groups - Header Position 2 to show Wide-Banners (write that in the field)

    3. Go to Tools->Banner Manager. Edit your banner for your first language and manually assign it to banner group Wide-Banners1. Edit your banner for your second language and manually assign it to banner group Wide-Banners2. Notice the number 1 - this number represents your language id. Therefore, if you have english (1), german (2) etc, Wide-Banners1 will show when english language is selected and Wide-Banners2 when german is selected. Note: language ids are related to your installed languages, not a general code - if you don't know what id you want to use, simply try different numbers 1,2,3,4,5...

    And that's it! If you want to use it on a different position, change the GROUP_SET number accordingly.

    Could it be any easier?

    This also works with Flash banners (if you previously set up Flash to run). If you want a Flash banner, use the HTML banner version...

    All thanks go to Ajeh!
    (end of balihr's instructions)
    Last edited by gjh42; 13 Nov 2010 at 07:52 PM.

 

 
Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. multi lingual banners
    By jfl_saudi in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29 Nov 2010, 11:41 AM
  2. I'd like to make my site multi-lingual...
    By joyjoy in forum Addon Language Packs
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 4 Nov 2010, 07:36 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27 Apr 2010, 06:25 PM
  4. Multi lingual ez-pages link to more information sidebox.
    By juza123 in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12 Mar 2007, 03:57 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR