Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Plugin Contributions

Default Setting up a local domain

I am new to having a website and all and am going through the book "e-start your web store with zen cart" and have no idea what I am doing. I have done the first step, which is to edit the file C: \WINDOWS\system32\dr ivers\etc\hosts with a text editor. I did just that but now I cant access http://127.0.0.1 or my website http://www.clothmania.com.au.

Prior to this I could access both. What have I done wrong?

Rachael

Cape Town & London (depends on the season)
    Plugin Contributions

Default Re: Setting up a local domain

Is there a specific reason why you want to host a zenstore on your own computer?

If you already have a website (or domain) and this is being hosted remotely. (In your case, I believe this to be true), then there is no reason why you should not just set up zencart on that remote server.

The first section of the book deals with setting up a store on your local drive (home computer), but if you set it up on your current domain (host), then you'll make your life easier - especially if you are a "newbie".

Plugin Contributions

Quote Originally Posted by fairestcape View Post
    Is there a specific reason why you want to host a zenstore on your own computer?
    I have no idea what I am doing so thought that the book was telling me the right stuff

Quote Originally Posted by fairestcape View Post
    If you already have a website (or domain) and this is being hosted remotely. (In your case, I believe this to be true), then there is no reason why you should not just set up zencart on that remote server.
    I have no diea how to do it and when I try to transfer the files from zen-cart folder to my webhost the ftp program wont connect.

Rachael

Plugin Contributions

Hi Rachael,

Forgive me if I'm mistaken but I think there's some confusion here.