Page 13 of 235 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363113 ... LastLast
Results 121 to 130 of 2345
  1. #121
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    75
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Woodymon View Post
    Folks wanting assistance with IE7 mod related issues, please post your URL's ;-)

    Woody
    here's mine as on my origonal post

    http://www.musicservices.co.nz/killer

    Like i say it happens only on IE7 but seems to be happening on every site i find with the mod.

    :-) thanks for any help.

  2. #122
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    39
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hes right.. quite hard to find (and only in iE7), but I see it on my localhost as well...

  3. #123
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    392
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    I noticed an extra, empty menu item on the right side of the menubar next to "Shopping Cart". It can also be seen at Jade's example site here. Can anyone show me how to remove that? The empty menu item is skewing the entire menubar to the left. TIA.

  4. #124
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    West Mids, England
    Posts
    203
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    I did notice this too. What I did was to make the bar background the same as the level 1 background in the css:

    #dropMenuWrapper

    &

    div#dropMenu ul.level1

    I did it with an image but I guess you can do it with normal colours.

    I'm no programmer but it seemed to do the trick. You can see it on my test site:

    http://www.nichelocks.com/demo

    Craig

  5. #125
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Stenrique View Post
    I noticed an extra, empty menu item on the right side of the menubar next to "Shopping Cart". It can also be seen at Jade's example site here. Can anyone show me how to remove that? The empty menu item is skewing the entire menubar to the left. TIA.
    Technically its not an empty menu item... its just leftover space. For some reason I can't remember, I liked having the menu left justified and not centered. Also, every item has a 1px white bar to the right of it in the css, so that's what that last white strip is.

    But you can increase the padding a bit on this section in the stylesheet_header_menu.css

    div#dropMenu li a {display: block; padding: .6em 2em .6em 2em;text-decoration: none; text-transform:uppercase; color:#ffffff; text-align:center; border-right:1px solid #ffffff;}

    (adjust the 2em's, maybe to about 2.6em?)

    But now I remember, you don't want to go to close to the edge, because different browsers will have slightly different spacing, and it may cause the menu to take up two lines without you realizing it.

    If you want to keep the white lines between every other item, but want to take it off of the last item, you can do is open up includes/templates/common/tpl_drop_menu.php

    and change:

    <li><a href="<?php echo zen_href_link(FILENAME_SHOPPING_CART, '', 'NONSSL'); ?>"><?php echo HEADER_TITLE_CART_CONTENTS; ?></a></li>

    to:

    <li><a class="noLine" href="<?php echo zen_href_link(FILENAME_SHOPPING_CART, '', 'NONSSL'); ?>"><?php echo HEADER_TITLE_CART_CONTENTS; ?></a></li>


    then add this to your stylesheet_header_menu.css:

    div#dropMenu li a.noLine {border:none;}

  6. #126
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    West Mids, England
    Posts
    203
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Very elegant jettrue.

    I've made the adjustments you suggest but altered it so that I get the lines on the left and put an extra line on the right:

    www.nichelocks.com/demo

    Craig

  7. #127
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    392
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Thanks for the advices Jade and Craig, I have changed spacing from 2em to 2.6em as well as adding a vertical line on the left of the "Home" menu.

    Since I have very few categories and sub-categories, I am not too worried about centering the menu. Anyway I can do that? TIA.

  8. #128
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    39
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Gday.
    I experience another problem regarding the dropdown Menu in IE7 (btw: any updates on the hoverover, subcategory problem in IE7?), when you hover over the main categories they colorize. The active button then seems to be about 1 px bigger (to the bottom) than the rest of the menu. Anyone else experiencing these problems?

    Comments? Workarounds?

    Thx for support.

    T.

    ps: not in Firefox, but in IE7

  9. #129
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by TMontana View Post
    Gday.
    I experience another problem regarding the dropdown Menu in IE7 (btw: any updates on the hoverover, subcategory problem in IE7?), when you hover over the main categories they colorize. The active button then seems to be about 1 px bigger (to the bottom) than the rest of the menu. Anyone else experiencing these problems?

    Comments? Workarounds?

    Thx for support.

    T.

    ps: not in Firefox, but in IE7
    Its just an issue with very slight differences in padding in IE vs Firefox. Does it cause any significant issues for you? From what I see its so slight to be barely noticeable.

  10. #130
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    39
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hey Jettrue,

    thx for answering.

    Lets say it that way: if its an easy fix or some slight adjustment of the code I will be happy to make the changes ( being a stupid perfectionist ;) )
    If it needs a complete rewrite of code or some major changes I will definitly not swap this magnificent mod for just that 1 px.

    So if you can easily help, please do :)


    Greetings.

    T.

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Categories dropdown menu/css
    By KenshiroU in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Apr 2013, 01:04 PM
  2. HIde categories mod with css dropdown menu
    By adowty in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2012, 01:05 AM
  3. How to use ezpages/categories as dropdown menu in the header?
    By mdivk in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2011, 06:32 PM
  4. whats wrong with this css for my dropdown menu?
    By 1kell in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28 May 2010, 02:47 AM
  5. Header Dropdown Menu (CSS) Without the Dropdown???
    By hcd888 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 May 2009, 01:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR