Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast
Results 71 to 80 of 86
  1. #71
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    What URL rewriting mod are you using? What happens if you turn it off?

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    207
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by gjh42 View Post
    What URL rewriting mod are you using? What happens if you turn it off?
    I use CEON URI Mapping. I turned it off, and the problem persists.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    207
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    I was able to fix the issue. I duplicated each product into its existing category, and then disabled or deleted the "old" copies of those products. The "new" copies show up in the drop-downs just fine.

    Not sure what caused this. The products that were showing up in the beginning were not newer than the ones that were not showing up. Oh well, at least it is working correctly now.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    207
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    I have two new issues, both in IE7:

    1. The drop-downs are behind the EZPage bar (I moved the NavCatTab menu above the EZPage bar in tpl_header.php)

    2. The NavCatTab span has unexplained white space below it, above the EZPage bar. This white space does not show up in IE8 or in Firefox.


    Here is the website in question: http://tinyurl.com/39h2ran . Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!!

    Thanks!

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    This is a result of an IE7 bug which gives a z-index:0; to all positioned elements, thus establishing a new z-index context and making it appear on top of any previous z-indexed element with the same precedence.

    I have found a solution to this for the case where the positioning is only for purposes of giving context to normally hidden sub-elements: take the position: relative; out of the normal style rule and put it in the :hover rule. It is only needed in that case, and doesn't interfere with other elements' positions or indexes.

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    207
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    Quote Originally Posted by gjh42 View Post
    This is a result of an IE7 bug which gives a z-index:0; to all positioned elements, thus establishing a new z-index context and making it appear on top of any previous z-indexed element with the same precedence.

    I have found a solution to this for the case where the positioning is only for purposes of giving context to normally hidden sub-elements: take the position: relative; out of the normal style rule and put it in the :hover rule. It is only needed in that case, and doesn't interfere with other elements' positions or indexes.


    I changed this...

    Code:
    #navCatTabsDropdown li 
    {
    	float:left;
    	position:relative;
    }
    
    #navCatTabsDropdown * li:hover ul 
    {
    	visibility:visible;
    	background-color: #ffffff;
    	border: 2px outset;
    	white-space:nowrap;
    }
    To this...

    Code:
    #navCatTabsDropdown li 
    {
    	float:left;
    }
    
    #navCatTabsDropdown * li:hover ul 
    {
    	visibility:visible;
    	background-color: #ffffff;
    	border: 2px outset;
    	white-space:nowrap;
    	position:relative;
    }
    But it did not fix the issue. It actually caused more damage in IE7, and also broke the nav bar's layout in Firefox when you hover over a link in the NavCatTabs. Any other ideas?

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Upstate NY
    Posts
    22,010
    Plugin Contributions
    25

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    Afraid not. All of the fixes I found for the bug online involved javascript, or manually adjusting things that are dynamically created in ZC (so not an option).

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    131
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    Hi Andrew
    Can i use the latest version of your drop down mod on my Zen site v1.3.8a/v1.3.8.
    or should i go for the older version of the mod?
    Thank you
    Cookie

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    126
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    Thank you Andrew, for this great module. It works for me in Safari 3& 4, in firefox on mac and pc. in google chrome, on IE on pc and Mac..
    i'm in heaven.
    i changed the style into the style of the shop and it works great!! i'm thrilled!

  10. #80
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    N of San Antonio TX
    Posts
    9,475
    Plugin Contributions
    11

    Default Re: Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu

    Glen touched on this in post 26 but I see that the latest files still have a <br /> coded outside the <li> echo calls on lines 70 and 84. The more categories and sub-categories one has, the longer the browser takes to figure out what it's supposed to do.

    I'd suggest removing the two <br /> calls and add a line-height call like
    #navCatTabsDropdown li
    {
    float:left;
    line-height: 1.5em;
    position:relative;
    }
    The 1.5em can be adjusted to meet the user's taste.

    Just my 3.29 cents worth - ain't inflation a
    Last edited by dbltoe; 6 Jun 2011 at 06:59 AM.

 

 
Page 8 of 9 FirstFirst ... 6789 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu 1.3.9 Support Thread
    By dbltoe in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 46
    Last Post: 30 Mar 2024, 06:12 PM
  2. v139f Category Tab Simple Dropdwn issue
    By kjharrison in forum Basic Configuration
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 2 Dec 2012, 10:58 PM
  3. Problem with Sort Order and Category Tab Simple Dropdown Menu Mod
    By dbltoe in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 15 Jun 2011, 07:08 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12 Mar 2011, 07:18 AM
  5. Category Tab Simple Dropdown menu
    By marshanite in forum All Other Contributions/Addons
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 16 Mar 2010, 04:56 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR