Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    121
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Having the same problem, tried the fix, got these errors:
    Failed: 3
    ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT" because it already exists
    ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "UPLOAD_PREFIX" because it already exists
    ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "TEXT_PREFIX" because it already exists

    ZC v1.3.9.
    IH3

    Still doesn't work, help!

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    I am running 1.5.0 and am having the same issues. I tried the fix located earlier in this thread and received:

    Error Failed: 3
    Error ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT" because it already exists
    Error ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "UPLOAD_PREFIX" because it already exists
    Error ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "TEXT_PREFIX" because it already exists
    Warning Note: 3 statements ignored. See "upgrade_exceptions" table for additional details.

    I am still allowed to add products of a particular attribute name with "not required" selected. Are my attributes setup wrong? For example I have a product that comes in two colors; black and white. I have an attribute value black and white (both are marked as required) and a third, default, attribute value of "-----------" not marked as required. I am looking to have Zen Cart prohibit the "----------" value from being added into the cart to make sure that the user selects a specific color.

    I would appreciate any help on this, thanks.

    Todd

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    69,402
    Plugin Contributions
    6

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Set the Black and White to Not Required ...

    Set the --------- to Required and Display Only

    Now the customer has to pick Black or White or they cannot add it to the cart ...
    Linda McGrath
    If you have to think ... you haven't been zenned ...

    Did YOU buy the Zen Cart Team a cup of coffee and a donut today? Just click here to support the Zen Cart Team!!

    Are you using the latest? Perhaps you've a problem that's fixed in the latest version: [Upgrade today: v1.5.5]
    Officially PayPal-Certified! Just click here

    Try our Zen Cart Recommended Services - Hosting, Payment and more ...
    Signup for our Announcements Forums to stay up to date on important changes and updates!

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Posts
    2
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Ajeh View Post
    Set the Black and White to Not Required ...

    Set the --------- to Required and Display Only

    Now the customer has to pick Black or White or they cannot add it to the cart ...
    Typical, I was doing it wrong the whole time. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Works perfectly.

    Todd

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    10,294
    Plugin Contributions
    125

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Following up on the original post with fix suggestions:

    a) Have a separate "uninstall" utility.

    b) If you want to use the code shown above to cleanup before your install SQL, just qualify it by doing the deletes "where configuration_id != 0", e.g.

    Code:
    SET @t4=0;
    SELECT (@t4:=configuration_group_id) as t4
    FROM configuration_group
    WHERE configuration_group_title= 'Fual Slimbox';
    DELETE FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4 AND configuration_group_id != 0;
    DELETE FROM configuration_group WHERE configuration_group_id = @t4 AND configuration_group_id != 0;
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Support
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Lakewood, California, United States
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Scott,

    I am at a loss. I tested with

    SELECT * FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id =0

    and received Failed!: notification. I then inserted the recommended fix


    INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, use_function, set_function) VALUES ('Product option type Select', 'PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT', '0', 'The number representing the Select type of product option.', 0, NULL, now(), now(), NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, use_function, set_function) VALUES ('Upload prefix', 'UPLOAD_PREFIX', 'upload_', 'Prefix used to differentiate between upload options and other options', 0, NULL, now(), now(), NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, use_function, set_function) VALUES ('Text prefix', 'TEXT_PREFIX', 'txt_', 'Prefix used to differentiate between text option values and other option values', 0, NULL, now(), now(), NULL, NULL);

    and got three statements processed.

    I retested with the first test code and still got failed notification.

    I have 1.5.1 and have google analytics, TyTracker and Super Orders, Autoresponder+, Return Authorization, and Ty Package Tracker installed. The database seems to function flawlessly, to an amateur eye. I was recommended to this thread and told I probably had this problem. I have had trouble editing attributes in an order as the last attribute won't select, it is a fixed field in the edit orders window.

    Marc

    Any recommendations to test if I am ok? Sorry for my imperfect understanding.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,798
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Trademagic View Post
    Scott,

    I am at a loss. I tested with

    SELECT * FROM configuration WHERE configuration_group_id =0

    and received Failed!: notification. I then inserted the recommended fix


    INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, use_function, set_function) VALUES ('Product option type Select', 'PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT', '0', 'The number representing the Select type of product option.', 0, NULL, now(), now(), NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, use_function, set_function) VALUES ('Upload prefix', 'UPLOAD_PREFIX', 'upload_', 'Prefix used to differentiate between upload options and other options', 0, NULL, now(), now(), NULL, NULL);
    INSERT INTO configuration (configuration_title, configuration_key, configuration_value, configuration_description, configuration_group_id, sort_order, last_modified, date_added, use_function, set_function) VALUES ('Text prefix', 'TEXT_PREFIX', 'txt_', 'Prefix used to differentiate between text option values and other option values', 0, NULL, now(), now(), NULL, NULL);

    and got three statements processed.

    I retested with the first test code and still got failed notification.

    I have 1.5.1 and have google analytics, TyTracker and Super Orders, Autoresponder+, Return Authorization, and Ty Package Tracker installed. The database seems to function flawlessly, to an amateur eye. I was recommended to this thread and told I probably had this problem. I have had trouble editing attributes in an order as the last attribute won't select, it is a fixed field in the edit orders window.

    Marc

    Any recommendations to test if I am ok? Sorry for my imperfect understanding.
    After doing all this, have you gone back to see if the original problem has been resolved?
    It would seem, that whether this issue was the source of your problem or not, the fact that the three statements processed successfully indicates that they were in fact missing from your cart database. The failed message appears to be a result of trying to run the select sql query from the admin panel's install SQL patch utility. Select statements for the specific purpose of displaying information generally do not work in that area, but will handle variable assignments such as discussed at the beginning of this thread.

    Btw, my suggestion, if this issue you are having continues it should probably taken to a thread other than this one. Again, it looks like your cart had the problem related to this thread and it is now fixed. (Could verify by running the three sql statements again to see if an error message is now generated or use mySQLadmin to run the select query being sure to substitute any table prefix as applicable.)
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Location
    Lakewood, California, United States
    Posts
    66
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Hey MC,

    You get around sailor! Thanks for your response. I tried to reenter the three statements,

    Error Failed: 3
    Error ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "PRODUCTS_OPTIONS_TYPE_SELECT" because it already exists
    Error ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "UPLOAD_PREFIX" because it already exists
    Error ERROR: Cannot insert configuration_key "TEXT_PREFIX" because it already exists
    Warning Note: 3 statements ignored. See "upgrade_exceptions" table for additional details.

    then checked the edit orders failure of before and it is fixed. It is due to all of you being so brilliant that I am surviving this endeavor. My deep thanks, and hopes that this beast of a site will take some orders soon.

    I owe a couple of donations.

    Marc

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    16,798
    Plugin Contributions
    17

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Quote Originally Posted by Trademagic View Post
    Hey MC,

    You get around sailor! Thanks for your response.
    I'm sure you mean that in an appropriate way. :)

    Very welcome and happy holidays.
    ZC Installation/Maintenance Support <- Site
    Contribution for contributions welcome...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Tampa Bay, Florida
    Posts
    10,294
    Plugin Contributions
    125

    Default Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working

    Quick update: I saw a system (1.5.1) just today that still had this problem. So don't assume you don't have it unless you have checked

    http://YOUR-SITE/your-admin-page/con...tion.php?gID=0

    and verified that you have the expected three entries.
    That Software Guy. My Store: Zen Cart Support
    Available for hire - See my ad in Services
    Plugin Moderator, Documentation Curator, Chief Cook and Bottle-Washer.
    Do you benefit from Zen Cart? Then please support the project.

 

 
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. v150 Text Required Attribute Not Working
    By NMac in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15 Oct 2012, 07:05 PM
  2. "Attribute Required for Text" - what would make it stop working?
    By aaelghat in forum Setting Up Categories, Products, Attributes
    Replies: 52
    Last Post: 1 Nov 2011, 04:33 AM
  3. Re: Attribute Required for Text flag not working
    By dbltoe in forum Upgrading to 1.5.x
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15 Aug 2011, 01:45 PM
  4. "Attribute Required for Text" not working...
    By aaelghat in forum General Questions
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21 Jun 2007, 09:59 PM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR