Page 30 of 235 FirstFirst ... 2028293031324080130 ... LastLast
Results 291 to 300 of 2345
  1. #291
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    A different question:

    I noticed in IE6 (and probably IE5 as well) that there is a problem with the menu with pages that have a <select> active .... meaning the select box shows through the menu.

    I was reading about a solution to this over at Brainjar:

    http://www.brainjar.com/dhtml/menubar/default11.asp

    But egaads, talk about a chore!

  2. #292
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seligman, MO U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,101
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Chad, the CSS Flyout Menu is just fine. It's easy to install, easy to manipulate, but as with ANYTHING to do with ZC, SOMEBODY's gonna have problems with it. If you can use the dropdown menu, then you can use the Flyout menu, with, or without images, as well.
    Teach them to shop and they will shop today;
    Teach them to Zen and they will OWN a shop tomorrow!

  3. #293
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    USA, St. Louis
    Posts
    3,710
    Plugin Contributions
    9

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by chadderuski View Post
    A different question:

    I noticed in IE6 (and probably IE5 as well) that there is a problem with the menu with pages that have a <select> active .... meaning the select box shows through the menu.

    I was reading about a solution to this over at Brainjar:

    http://www.brainjar.com/dhtml/menubar/default11.asp

    But egaads, talk about a chore!
    My solution for this is much easier.

    Someone else had this problem, and my suggestion was to make the select menu float to the right, so it was underneath "Contact Us", "My Account" and "Shopping Cart" which are much smaller menus. You can also use css to constrict the width of a menu.

    For example... if you're having problems with the sorter menu under "all products" or "new products", add something like this to your css:

    #sorter select {float:right;clear:both;width:120px;}
    #sorter label {float:right;}

  4. #294
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    GetEmFast!

    Thanks for speaking up and setting me straight! I certainly wasn't trying to ruffle any feathers! ;P Just looking for an opinion from a trusted designer.

    -cj

  5. #295
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by jettrue View Post
    My solution for this is much easier.

    Someone else had this problem, and my suggestion was to make the select menu float to the right, so it was underneath "Contact Us", "My Account" and "Shopping Cart" which are much smaller menus. You can also use css to constrict the width of a menu.

    For example... if you're having problems with the sorter menu under "all products" or "new products", add something like this to your css:

    #sorter select {float:right;clear:both;width:120px;}
    #sorter label {float:right;}
    Ah yes! Why use a sledgehammer when a screwdriver will work just fine!

    I'll float these right per your suggestion for a quick fix.

    I suspect a proper solution should be implemented in the csshover.htc hover class.

    -cj

    On a side note: Have you ever experimented with initiating a minute time delay in the hover? I have seen a flash solution for this. A micro delay is nice to prevent the menus from flying out when moving the mouse around the screen. It tames the menu slightly.

  6. #296
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seligman, MO U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,101
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by chadderuski View Post
    GetEmFast!

    Thanks for speaking up and setting me straight! I certainly wasn't trying to ruffle any feathers! ;P Just looking for an opinion from a trusted designer.

    -cj
    Oh, no, Chad.......I didn't mean it to come out that way (mean sounding), I was just simply saying that some people can have problems........well, even chewing their food right, let alone trying to install a mod on ZC, hence the rumors of the bugs. I manipulated this mod to use images, uploaded it as an update, and inherited all the support issues that goes with it,........ I think.
    Where people have the most problems with this, is when they change to a different image(s), they just don't understand that if their images aren't the EXACT same size as the ones that I included, then they have to change other things, like width, height, margins, and such.
    But, I never meant, in ANY way to make it sound like I was throwing flames, this morning.......sorry if it came out that way.
    Teach them to shop and they will shop today;
    Teach them to Zen and they will OWN a shop tomorrow!

  7. #297
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Dark Side of the Moon
    Posts
    987
    Plugin Contributions
    1

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by Get Em Fast View Post
    Oh, no, Chad.......I didn't mean it to come out that way (mean sounding), I was just simply saying that some people can have problems........well, even chewing their food right, let alone trying to install a mod on ZC, hence the rumors of the bugs. I manipulated this mod to use images, uploaded it as an update, and inherited all the support issues that goes with it,........ I think.
    Where people have the most problems with this, is when they change to a different image(s), they just don't understand that if their images aren't the EXACT same size as the ones that I included, then they have to change other things, like width, height, margins, and such.
    But, I never meant, in ANY way to make it sound like I was throwing flames, this morning.......sorry if it came out that way.
    LOL. I didn't take it mean or flaming at all! And it was perhaps unfair of me to ask the way I did instead of doing my own research or trying for myself. Never enough time in a day! I'm speaking with the designer of above said site in 2 hours and was "cutting corners" so to speak. I promise I'll give your mod a try!

    Believe me, I know what your saying. I've been a programmer since 1980-ish! But this isn't the place for telling war stories! :)

  8. #298
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seligman, MO U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,101
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Quote Originally Posted by chadderuski View Post
    LOL. I didn't take it mean or flaming at all! And it was perhaps unfair of me to ask the way I did instead of doing my own research or trying for myself. Never enough time in a day! I'm speaking with the designer of above said site in 2 hours and was "cutting corners" so to speak. I promise I'll give your mod a try!

    Believe me, I know what your saying. I've been a programmer since 1980-ish! But this isn't the place for telling war stories! :)
    ........Smiles, and replies, "Sure, it is....right around the corner, at the Pub, I'll even buy the first round...."

    Seriously though, if you've been programming since the 80's, you'll have NO problems with this mod. And if you do, we're all here for ya'.
    Teach them to shop and they will shop today;
    Teach them to Zen and they will OWN a shop tomorrow!

  9. #299
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    NNJ
    Posts
    212
    Plugin Contributions
    0

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    Hey chadderuski,

    You may want to know that while I was deciding on which way to go, I had both the dropdown and the flyout menus going under IE6 at the same time and they both worked just fine.

    And as for...
    I noticed in IE6 (and probably IE5 as well) that there is a problem with the menu with pages that have a <select> active .... meaning the select box shows through the menu.
    Atleast you're getting some answers, I posted a concern about that very same issue and might as well have spoken to my hand.

    Thanks to you I got somewhat of a solution to think about.

    I've been coding since 1982, COBOLII, CICS, DB2 SQL, all mainframe.
    But I wouldn't know an object if it came from the orient.
    During the last two years,I tried my hand in C#, Java, ASP, and now PHP. My brains are toast. I need help with the hard stuff, like adding a mod into my ZC without getting a headache.

    Let's keep up this community orientation with a smile for as long as we can stand it. It's good for everybody.
    Elliot

    The loves of my life are a good white zinfandel and my dog Homer.

  10. #300
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Seligman, MO U.S.A.
    Posts
    2,101
    Plugin Contributions
    5

    Default Re: CSS Dropdown menu for your header- With Categories!

    I'm sorry you're feeling unloved Z. Hey, we're all "The Zen Family", and we love you......I would have tried to help......you know I would, if I hadn't been sick.
    And as far as the Flyout Menu & the Dropdown menu working together......Oh, yea.....like ebony & ivory! At least in IE 7 (now IE 6 confirmed) & FF.
    Teach them to shop and they will shop today;
    Teach them to Zen and they will OWN a shop tomorrow!

 

 

Similar Threads

  1. Categories dropdown menu/css
    By KenshiroU in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5 Apr 2013, 01:04 PM
  2. HIde categories mod with css dropdown menu
    By adowty in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 9 Feb 2012, 01:05 AM
  3. How to use ezpages/categories as dropdown menu in the header?
    By mdivk in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 21 Dec 2011, 06:32 PM
  4. whats wrong with this css for my dropdown menu?
    By 1kell in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 28 May 2010, 02:47 AM
  5. Header Dropdown Menu (CSS) Without the Dropdown???
    By hcd888 in forum Templates, Stylesheets, Page Layout
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 27 May 2009, 01:20 AM

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
disjunctive-egg
Zen-Cart, Internet Selling Services, Klamath Falls, OR